Home | Help | Search | Login | Register

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register 11/30/23 at 2:06am

Saturday Night RacerTracksANTIOCH SPEEDWAY › Shaw, Ryland, Freethy Win At Antioch Speedway

Pages: 1
Shaw, Ryland, Freethy Win At Antioch Speedway (Read 1962 times)

DCRR Racing Media

Posts: 1021

Shaw, Ryland, Freethy Win At Antioch Speedway
05/22/16 at 4:00am
Shaw, Ryland, Freethy Win At Antioch Speedway

Antioch, CA...It rained all around Antioch Saturday morning, but Antioch Speedway avoided the weather.  The result was a show with more than 70 race cars in competition and some exciting racing on the three-eighth mile clay oval.  Feature winners for the evening were Koen Shaw (Winged 360 Sprint Cars), Oreste Gonella (A Modifieds), Fred Ryland (B Modifieds), Jim Freethy (Limited Late Models), Thomas Leiby (Dwarf Cars) and Dave Mackey (California Hardtops).

The Winged 360 Sprint Cars had a nice 12 car turnout with Koen Shaw and teammate Logan Seavey making the trip to the speedway.. Koen was coming off a strong Top 3 finish last time out, which was good enough to get Seavey to come out and give the track a try this week.  Though there were a few bumps in the other classes, the Sprint Car Main Event was destined to go 25 laps without a yellow flag.  It was Koen Shaw impressing with the Main Event victory.  Koen made all the right moves in traffic, and he would prevail ahead of his Seavey.  Marysville ace Colby Wiesz grabbed a third place finish ahead of, 2015 champion Shawn Arriaga, Billy Aton and point leader Art McCarthy.  Seavey and Wiesz were the heat race winners.

With a night off from battling for the point lead at Petaluma Speedway, Oreste Gonella returned to Antioch Speedway to make a run for the money.  The past Petaluma champion ran strong and would hold off 2015 "Rookie Of The Year" Nick Viscusi III for the victory.  Heat race winner John MacDougall spun late for a yellow and checkered flag finish as Trent Wentworth finished third ahead of Anthony Slaney and title hopeful Carl Berendsen II.  Raymond Lindeman was the other heat race winner.

Fred Ryland has been racing at different tracks this season as the 2015 champion tests his skill level against the best in the state.  He returned to his home track and promptly won his third B Modified Main Event of the season.  Ryland was chased across the line by point leader Al Johnson, who was collecting his third second place finish of the season.  Rookie Shane DeVolder was running third before he spun and collected two time Marysville Mini Stock champion Jimmy Ford.  This handed Danny Jones his best B Modified finish of the season in third.  Lloyd Cline and K.C. Keller rounded out the Top 5.  Heat winners on the evening were Trevor Clymens and Paul Mulder, who both finished out of the running in the Main Event.

Jim Freethy has had everything happen to him this season, including having his car catch on fire.  On Saturday night, he saw the reward for his perseverance as he won the Limited Late Model Main Event.  There was heavy attrition in the race, which was started off by Paul Hanley and John Keith spinning.  The field dwindled down to four cars after Mark Garner spun, collecting "Rookie Of The Year" hopeful Kimo Oreta.  The slowdowns would not keep Freethy from the winner's circle as he won ahead of point leader Larry Damitz, who was celebrating his 87th birthday.  Garner settled for third ahead of the steady John Evans and Oreta.  Division veterans Damitz and Mike Gustafson were the heat race winners.

The Dwarf Car Main Event was marred by a hard rollover crash that involved Toby Brown and Wade Humphrey.  Humphrey suffered a leg injury in the red flag incident.  When racing finally got going, Thomas Leiby led the way ahead of point leader Kevin Miraglio.  The time limit ended the race at ten laps with Leiby recording the win and Miraglio settling for another second place finish.  Chuck Weir was third ahead of two time champion Danny Wagner and Mike Corsaro.  Corsaro, Miraglio and Jeff Fitch were the heat race winners.

Rob Waldrop was going for a sweep in the Bill McLaughlin owned #36 Hardtop, but he ran into a challenge from the surprising Dave Mackey.  As Waldrop led the way, Mackey was trying hard to find a way by in his Dudley Racing Tribute #1 Hardtop.  Finally, Mackey made his move in Turn 4 and went on to a satisfying victory.  Waldrop settled for second ahead of Ron Ruiz and last week's feature winner at Chico, Ken Clifford.

For further information on scheduling and rules, check out the official website at www.antiochspeedway.com.

Unofficial Race Results, Saturday Night May 21

A Modified
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-John MacDougall, Raymond Lindeman.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Oreste Gonella, Nick Viscusi III, Trent Wentworth, Anthony Slaney, Carl Berendsen II.

Winged 360 Sprints
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Colby Wiesz, Logan Seavey. Main Event (25 Laps)-Koen Shaw, Logan Seavey, Wiesz, Shawn Arriaga, Billy Aton, Art McCarthy

Limited Late Models
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Larry Damitz, Mike Gustafson.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Jim Freethy, Larry Damitz, Mark Garner, John Evans, Kimo Oreta.

B Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Paul Mulder, Trevor Clymens.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Fred Ryland, Al Johnson, Danny Jones, Lloyd Cline, K.C. Keller.

Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Kevin Miraglio, Mike Corsaro, Jeff Fitch.  Main Event (10 Laps)-Thomas Leiby, Miraglio, Chuck Weir, Danny Wagner, Corsaro.

California Hardtops
Heat Winner (6 Laps)-Rob Waldrop.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Dave Mackey, Rob Waldrop, Ron Ruiz, Ken Clifford, Jason Clifford.
Back to top

DCRR Racing Media

Covering auto racing for over 30 years. Writing, announcing, consulting, supporting the sport.
WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Saturday Night Racer » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.