Home | Help | Search | Login | Register

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register 11/30/23 at 2:25am

Saturday Night RacerTracksANTIOCH SPEEDWAY › Busby Beats Schrader In Exciting Night Of Racing At Antioch Speedway

Pages: 1
Busby Beats Schrader In Exciting Night Of Racing At Antioch Speedway (Read 1773 times)

DCRR Racing Media

Posts: 1021

Busby Beats Schrader In Exciting Night Of Racing At Antioch Speedway
06/19/16 at 3:20am
Unofficial  results article.  I will update as needed...

Busby Beats Schrader In Exciting Night Of Racing At Antioch Speedway

Antioch, CA...June  18..NASCAR Star Kenny Schrader made a special visit to Antioch Speedway to compete with the local Late Model and A Modified racers Saturday night.  Schrader's impressive career highlights include four NASCAR Sprint Cup wins and a 4th place ranking in 1994.  He's also won 17 ARCA Series races.  These days, Kenny is doing a "barn storming" tour across the country in his Federated Auto Parts Modified.

Within the last week, Schrader won a race at the track in Idaho Falls and then towed west to Sunset Speedway in Banks, Oregon, where he finished second Friday night to past Antioch Speedway champion Kellen Chadwick. Chadwick just wrapped up the Wild West Modified Speedweek championship with four wins in six starts.  Schrader's schedule sent him to Antioch Speedway, where a ride in the Oval Motorsports Late Model was waiting for him.  Though luck was not with him in the Late Model, the Modified show went differently.

The fans were treated to a show in the Northern All Stars A Modified division as the track's most decorated star in  this division, Scott Busby, moved in to do battle with Scharder.  With over 60 wins and five championships at Antioch in this division, Busby is one of the best ever, but his luck has been terrible this year.  Earlier this season, the defending champion lost a win to Jeff Decker late in the race.  This time, Busby had to battle Schrader, who came well prepared for the race.  The two delighted the crowd with a great race up front, but it was Busby prevailing in the end.  Busby gained little ground on point leader Carl Berendsen II, who finished third after winning his heat race.  Trent Wentworth notched another good finish in fourth as six time Petaluma Speedway champion Michael Paul Jr. completed the Top 5.  Rookie Bobby Montalvo provided some cosmetic damage to the fence in turns 3 and four with his heat race crash.

Reigning DIRTcar Late Model champion Jeff Decker and 2014 champion Richard Papenhausen battled at the front of the Late Model Main Event.  Some people tend to forget just how good Decker really is, but he reminded them as he beat Papenhausen back to the line to become the fourth different winner in four races.  Decker is now a winner in Late Model and Dirt Modified competition this year, joining the elite company of Bobby Hogge IV.  Papenhausen settled for his second runner up finish of the year.  Dennis Souza had his best finish of the season in third as Rob Norris and Mike Hynes rounded out the Top 5.  Chester Kniss joined the "Rollover Club" when his brakes stuck entering Turn 3.  Fortunately he was not injured.

The Winged 360 Sprint Car Main Event win went to Bobby McMahan.  A lap wasn't even in the books before a tangle on the back strech, involving Matt Barber and title hopefuls Billy Aton and Dan Gonderman.  The incident sent Gonderman  flipping.  Once that was cleaned up, point leader Art McCarthy and his son Adam McCarthy had hopes of battling for the lead.  However, McMahan had other ideas as he was piloting the #12 car normally driven by Jarrett Soares, who was racing in Stockton.  A championship winning Sprint Car driver with many wins through the years, McMahan would not be denied as he held off the elder McCarthy for the victory.  Art's son Adam McCarthy was third as Matt Barber and Jenna Frazier rounded out the Top 5.

Having been awarded a special "Rookie Of The Year" plaque for his improvement throughout last season, K.C. Keller was a B Modified driver people picked to win a Main Event this year.  Keller looked strong last week in a battle with Trevor Clymens before falling out.  This time, however, he would not be denied.  Keller prevailed ahead of current Watsonville point leader Jim DiGiovanni.  Clymens won his heat race, but he settled for third in the feature ahead of point leader and fellow heat winner Al Johnson and Shane DeVolder.

Second generation superstar Jim Perry Jr. won for the second time this year in the 20 lap Wingless Spec Sprint Main Event.  The current point leader was chased across the line by another second generation racer with family ties going back to the old Vallejo Speedway.  In this case, it was Barry Pries Jr.  Pries settled for second ahead of 2015 "Rookie Of The Year" Marcus Smith.  Alan Miranda  and past Chowchilla champion Brandon Burd completed the Top 5.

Kevin Miraglio finally got the monkey off his back by winning his first 20 lap Dwarf Car Main Event at Antioch.  The point leader has been consistently finishing second and third, but this one belonged to him.  Miraglio outdueled his closest point rival Mike Corsaro for the victory.  Josh Miller was a solid third with David Rosa having his best finish of the year in fourth.  Tim Reeder rounded out the Top 5 finishers.

Racing continues next week with Winged 360 Sprints, Wingless Spec Sprints, B Modifieds, Limited Late Models, Hobby Stocks and CHA Hardtops.  For further information, check out www.antiochspeedway.com.

Unofficial Race Results, Saturday Night June 18

A Modified
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Carl Berendsen II, Nick Viscusi III.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Scott Busby, Ken Schrader, Berendsen, Trent Wentworth, Michael Paul Jr.

Winged 360 Sprints
Heat Winner (8 Laps)-Bobby McMahan.  Main Event (25 Laps)-McMahan, Art McCarthy, Adam McCarthy, Matt Barber, Jenna Frazier.

DIRTcar Late Models
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Richard Papenhausen, Jeff Decker.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Decker, Papenhausen, Dennis Souza, Rob  Norris, Mike Hynes.

B Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Al Johnson, Trevor Clymens.  Main Event (20 Laps)-K.C. Keller, Jim DiGiovani, Clymens, Johnson, Shane DeVolder.

Wingless Spec Sprints
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Jimmy Perry III, Alan Miranda.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Jim Perry Jr., Barry Pries Jr., Marcus Smith, Miranda, Brandon Burd.

Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Mike Corsaro, Lionel Francis.   Main Event (20 Laps)-Kevin Miraglio, Corsaro, Josh Miller, David Rosa, Tim Reeder.
Back to top

DCRR Racing Media

Covering auto racing for over 30 years. Writing, announcing, consulting, supporting the sport.
WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Saturday Night Racer » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.