Home | Help | Search | Login | Register

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register 09/19/19 at 10:42am

Saturday Night RacerTracksROCKY HILL SPEEDWAY › Big Night For Gonzales, Cimental, Atchison At Rocky Hill Speedway

Pages: 1
Big Night For Gonzales, Cimental, Atchison At Rocky Hill Speedway (Read 795 times)

DCRR Racing Media

Posts: 1021

Big Night For Gonzales, Cimental, Atchison At Rocky Hill Speedway
07/14/16 at 11:25am
Big Night For Gonzales, Cimental, Atchison At Rocky Hill Speedway

Porterville, CA...July 8...Despite the rumors, Sonny Sell and his crew remain committed to building Rocky Hill Speedway back up and making the track a destination for racers and fans.  Track equipment issues had forced the cancellation of a pair of races, but Friday night was the time for the racers to get back out there and race.  In the 20 lap Mini Stock Main Event, double division racer Lance Gonzales picked up an impressive victory to make this a stellar night for his team.  Coming off of his strong performance a few weeks ago in Bakersfield Speedway's Richie MaGowan Memorial race, Eric Cimentel won the 20 lap Hobby Stock feature, while point leader Roy Atchison maintained his grip on the Super 4 point lead with another 20 lap Main Event victory.

Jason Cook shot out of the gate like a cannon ball with a pair of Main Event victories to start the Mini Stock season.  Despite struggling in recent races, he was back in prime form Friday night.  Unfortunately for him, Lance Gonzales was just a little bit faster.  Gonzales drove a good race to hold off point leader Cook for his first Main Event victory.  Two names familiar with the Speedway are Shawn Schwartzenberger and "The Dirt Dawg" Andy Boydstun.  The two are 1-2 in the standings at Bakersfield and made a long trip to the Alameda County Fair last week to entertain the fans in a wild three day Rodeo Arena Figure 8.  On Friday, Schwartzenberger managed to hold off Boydstun for third in the feature as Matt Harod rounded out the Top 5.  Steven Scott finished sixth, followed by Wade Moore, title contender Clinton Massey, Vickie Hart and Candy Noland-Soares.

Eric Cimental runs a more relaxed schedule in his Hobby Stock this year, but after his second place showing in the Richie McGowan Memorial race he was anxious to go racing at Rocky Hill.  He had to contend with two of the best Hobby Stock racers in the area in Kevin Collier and Raymond Noland Jr.  Collier won the Bakersfield Speedway championship last season, while Noland is the reigning Porterville champion and current point leader.  When the cheeckered flag flew in the Main Event, it was Cimental scoring a well earned victory ahead of Collier.  Noland maintained his point lead in third as Joe Robinson and American Stock point leader Bob Ellis rounded out the Top 5.  2015 Mini Stock champion Jarrod Plumlee was sixth ahead of Jake Peters, Gene Glover, Colby Quinton and Michael Scruggs.

Roy Atchison has been a competitor at Rocky Hill Speedway for many years, and he has dominated this season's action as the reigning Super 4 champion and current point leader.  If you beat him, you know you've earned that win.  Lance Gonzales was looking to make it a two win night after his Mini Stock win.  However, Atchison was just a little too fast as he sped to victory.  Gonzales was a strong second to cap of a great night for the team.  Russell Silva was third ahead of Darren Easterman and Justin Atchison.  Kit Murphy ran into problems earlier in the evenng and was a Main Event scratch.

Racing returns to Rocky Hill Speedway on July23, with Hobby Stocks, Mini Stocks, Super 4's and American Stocks all on the schedule.

Rocky Hill Speedway Results 7/8/16

Mini Stock

1-#18 Lance Gonzales
2-?#?32X? Jason Cook
3-#15 Shawn Swartzenberger
4#6 Andy Boydston
5#77 Matt Harod
5#46 Steven Scott
7#13 Wade Moore
8#88 Clint Massey
9#18W Vickie Hart
10#5 Candy Noland Soars
11#66 Chris Rutledge
12#00 Kit Murphy

Super 4

1#24 Roy Atchinson
2#18 Lance Gonzales
3#51 Russell Silva
4#7 Darren Esterman
5#57 Justin Atchinson
6#00 Kit Murphy *DNS*

Hobby Stock

1#21C Eric Cimental
2#18 Kevin Collier
3#5 Raymond Noland Jr.
4#199 Joe Robinson
5#19x Bob Ellis
6#1Jarrod Plumlee
7#19Jake Peters
8#9 Gene Glover
9#4Q Colby Quinton
10#91Michael Scruggs
11#25 Karl noland jr.
12#8X Jack Roberts  
Back to top

DCRR Racing Media

Covering auto racing for over 30 years. Writing, announcing, consulting, supporting the sport.
WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Saturday Night Racer » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.