DLM SANCTIONS >> LUCAS OIL LATE MODEL DIRT SERIES (LUCAS) >> Lucas Oil Series at Florence Speedway - 8/11 Results

Message started by LMR on 08/12/12 at 3:50am

Title: Lucas Oil Series at Florence Speedway - 8/11 Results
Post by LMR on 08/12/12 at 3:50am

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Florence Speedway
August 11, 2012

O'Neal Finally Captures Sunoco Race Fuels North/South 100 at Florence Speedway

by James Essex
UNION, KY (August 11) - Don O'Neal of Martinsville, IN passed race leader, Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN on lap 85 and then went on to capture his first career Sunoco Race Fuels North/South 100 Presented by Lucas Oil on Saturday Night at Florence Speedway. With a record-setting crowd on hand, O'Neal captured the $50,000 to win event in his 14th attempt. Owens finished second followed by Steve Casebolt of Richmond, IN; Rick Eckert of York, PA; and Steve Francis of Ashland, KY.
O'Neal and Owens started on the front row of the Bluegrass State's richest dirt race with Owens grabbing the lead at the start. Owens set a blazing pace around the half-mile track leading O'Neal, Jewel, Eckert, and the 8th-starting Casebolt for the first 15 laps.
Eckert got around Jewell for third on lap 17 and then a circuit later, Casebolt made the same move, dropping Jewell to fifth. The race went green for the first 43 laps of the race until the first caution appeared. Owens held the lead, followed by O'Neal, Casebolt, Eckert and Francis.
O'Neal finally made a move and dove to the inside of Owens heading into turn three on lap 85, wrestling the lead away from Owens. O'Neal then had to wait through two caution flags in the final ten laps as he pulled away for the victory.
"It's about time," said O'Neal, who claimed his 11th Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory of the season. "I saw an opening there and decided I was going to go for it. I don't know if we touched or not, but we race hard every week against each other," said the 48-year-old driver who claimed his 30th career victory on the touring series.
"To finally win this race after trying so many times, and coming close a few years ago, it's a relief to finally get this one. This place is close to home, and we have won about everything else here in the past and to get this one is quite an accomplishment," said O'Neal, who drives the MasterSbilt House Car. It was the ninth win in the annual event for the chassis building company based in Crothersville, IN.
"I have to thank Jay Dickens Racing Engines and all my sponsors, Optima Batteries, Independence Lumber, Superior Cleaning, Tarpy Trucking, Jones Core, Seubert Calf Ranches, Jones Core, and all my product sponsors, without them this wouldn't be possible."
Owens maintains the LOLMDS points lead after his second place finish in the Reece Monument Company, Bloomquist Race Cars Ford. Owens was trying to become the first driver to win the event three years in a row and fourth overall. Casebolt in the Arizona Sport Shirts, MasterSbilt Chevrolet was a close third.
Completing the top ten were Mike Jewell of Scottsburg, IN; Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA; Tyler Reddick of Corning, CA; Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC; and Randy Weaver of Crossville, TN.
In preliminary action Don O'Neal set the Red Buck Cigars Fast Time amongst the 64 entrants, with a lap of 16.501 seconds. Jimmy Owens set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 16.977 seconds. Don O'Neal, Rick Eckert, Ray Cook, Jimmy Owens, Mike Jewell, and RJ Conley won their respective Heat Races. Eddie Carrier Jr. and Billy Moyer won their respective B-Mains.
The COMP Cams Topless 100 at Batesville Motor Speedway in Batesville, AR awaits the stars of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, next weekend, August 17th and 18th. The crown jewel event will include Red Buck Cigars Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and the 100-lap, $40,000 to win, COMP Cams Topless 100. For more information, check out
For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto and be sure to follow the series at and!/lucasdirt.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday Night, August 10th, 2012
30th Annual Sunoco Race Fuels "North South 100" presented by Lucas Oil Products
Florence Speedway - Union, KY
1 1 71 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN $50,000
2 2 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
3 8 c9 Steve Casebolt Richmond, IN
4 3 24 Rick Eckert York, PA
5 10 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
6 4 9J Mike Jewell Scottsburg, IN
7 15 15d Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA
8 14 11T Tyler Reddick Corning, CA
9 5 53 Ray Cook Brasstown, NC
10 12 116 Randy Weaver Crossville, TN
11 13 D8 Dustin Linville Lancaster, KY
12 24 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
13 26 18e Eric Wells Hazard, KY
14 11 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
15 17 5 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
16 6 71c RJ Conley Wheelersburg, OH
17 16 41n Brad Neat Dunnville, KY
18 18 21h Robby Hensley Walton, KY
19 23 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
20 19 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
21 9 12 Jason Jameson Lawrenceburg, IN
22 7 360 Michael Asberry Crossville, TN
23 20 21 Billy Moyer Batesville, AR
24 22 6s Steve Shaver Vienna, WV
25 21 15b Brian Birkhofer Muscatine, IA
26 25 JJ2 Josh Williams W. Harrison, IN

Race Statistics
Entrants: 64
Lap Leaders: Jimmy Owens (Laps 1 - 84); Don O'Neal (Laps 85 - 100)
Caution Flags: Debris (Lap 43); Earl Pearson Jr. (Lap 47); Robby Hensley (Lap 50); Jason Jameson (Lap 86); RJ Conley (Lap 90); Brad Neat (Lap 91)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: John Blankenship, Earl Pearson Jr.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisional: Eric Wells
Florence Speedway Track Provisional: Josh Williams

Dash (8 Laps): Jimmy Owens, Randy Weaver, Steve Francis, Don O'Neal, Jonathan Davenport, Greg Johnson
First Heat (12 Laps - Top 3 Transfer): Don O'Neal, Michael Asberry, Dustin Linville, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Chad Stapleton, Morgan Bagley, Joe Janowski, John Mason, Josh McGuire, Brian Gray, Dustin Neat
Second Heat (12 Laps - Top 3 Transfer): Rick Eckert, Jason Jameson, Jonathan Davenport, Earl Pearson, Jr., John Blankenship, Chad Smith, Chris Combs, Tim Rivers, Danny Hatcher, Josh Scott, Mason Combs
Third Heat (12 Laps - Top 3 Transfer): Ray Cook, Scott Bloomquist, Jared Landers, Greg Johnson, Brian Birkhofer, Jimmy Mars, Justin Rattliff, John Gill, James Rice, Mick Sansom
Fourth Heat (12 Laps - Top 3 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Steve Casebolt, Tyler Reddick, Josh Williams, Stephen Breeding, D.J. Wells, Tommy Carlton, Jesse Lay, Jim Price, Freddy Smith, Tim McCreadie
Fifth Heat (12 Laps - Top 3 Transfer): Mike Jewell, Steve Francis, Brad Neat, Billy Moyer, Mike Marlar, Jason Barrett, Terry Lanigan, Nick Latham, Mike Unger, Kenny Hyde, Jr., Walker Arthur

Sixth Heat (12 Laps - Top 3 Transfer): RJ Conley, Randy Weaver, Robby Hensley, Steve Shaver, Eric Wells, Scott James , Tim Prince, David Spille, Vern LeFevers, Billy Gullion
First B-Main (12 Laps - Top 2 Transfer): Eddie Carrier Jr., Brian Birkhofer, John Blankenship, Joe Janowski, Earl Pearson, Jr., Greg Johnson, Chad Stapleton, Jimmy Mars, Morgan Bagley, Chad Smith, Justin Rattliff, James Rice, Josh McGuire, John Gill, John Mason, Danny Hatcher, Josh Scott, Brian Gray, Mick Sansom, Mason Combs, Chris Combs, Tim Rivers, Dustin Neat-DNS
Second B-Main (12 Laps - Top 2 Transfer): Billy Moyer, Steve Shaver, Eric Wells, Scott James , Josh Williams, Mike Marlar, Jesse Lay, Nick Latham, Freddy Smith, Tim McCreadie, D.J. Wells, David Spille, Jason Barrett, Billy Gullion, Jim Price, Tommy Carlton, Mike Unger, Stephen Breeding, Tim Prince, Kenny Hyde, Jr., Terry Lanigan-DNS, Vern LeFevers-DNS, Walker Arthur-DNS

Fast Time Group A: Don O'Neal / 16.501seconds
Fast Time Group B: Jimmy Owens / 16.977 seconds » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.