LATEMODELRACER >> NORTH REGION >> Atomic Speedway - 11/2 Results

Message started by LMR on 11/03/13 at 7:07pm

Title: Atomic Speedway - 11/2 Results
Post by LMR on 11/03/13 at 7:07pm

Atomic Speedway
November 2, 2013

Garnes goes back to back with feature win at Atomic Speedway

CHILLICOTHE, OH (November 2) - Kenny Johnson blistered the track in qualifying and that was only the beginning of action that was fast and furious in the Modified division, fast time paid him $122 from Audie Swartz of Swartz Chassis, then the top 6 qualifiers battled it out for 6 laps as Matt Westfall took home the prize of $222 from Mt Zion CCCU church, and that was only the beginning of Westfall’s winning for the evening. When the green flag fell for the start of the feature Shawn Holiday kept the pressure on Westfall and Todd Robinson also was in the early mix at the front of the field. An early caution caused Rich Michael to re-start at the tail of the field which set the stage for a clinic in how to pass a race car as not only Michael but young gun Travis Dickson both charged from the back through the field to get top 5 finishes for both racers. At the finish it was Westfall, Holiday, Michael, Joe Meadows and Dickson rounding out the top 5.

Fast Time: Kenny Johnson 15.32
Dash: Matt Westfall, Shawn Holiday, Todd Robinson, Joe Meadows, Keith Smith and Kenny Johnson
Heats: Jason Montgomery, Tony Roush, Greggie Oliver and Dave Pinkerton
B-Mains: Travis Dickson and Craig Christian
Feature: Matt Westfall, Shawn Holiday, Rich Michael, Joe Meadows, Travis Dickson, Craig Christian, Mark Dickson, Keith Smith, Tony Roush, Luke Jordan, Jason Montgomery, Weasel Rhoades, Donnie Miller, Rob Stambaugh, Dave Jamison, Todd Robinson, Kenny Johnson, Greggie Oliver, Dave Pinkerton and Jess Hartman

Chris Garnes became not only the first repeat winner but done it by going back to back in the Late Model division. However it did not come easy as Freddie Carpenter and Tim Dohm both kept the pressure on Garnes and each took numerous shots at the leader and while this was going on Wayne Chinn was on a kamikaze run toward the front until mechanical woes ended his night early. Andy Bond who had started back in the 17 position was Mr. Smooth tonight as his smooth moves helped him come home in the 5th position behind Garnes, Tim and Zach Dohm and Chad Smith

Fast Time: Jackie Boggs
Heats: Chris Garnes, Tim Dohm and Wayne Chinn
B-Main: Jimmy Cobb
Feature: Chris Garnes, Tim Dohm, Zach Dohm, Chad Smith, Andy Bond, Delmas Conley, JT Conley, Billy Gullion, Dylan Huron and Tyler Allen

Third generation racer AJ Cannon who was in a race car for only the 7th time in the Street Stock division came from the 4th starting position in his heat race to win the heat and then the grandson of Bob Cannon who was in attendance to watch the youngster pull off the sweep as he started up front in the feature and held off the steady charges of Tommy Mossbarger and the late charging Bryson Patton who rounded out the top 3.

Heats: AJ Cannon, Tommy Mossbarger and Shawn Valenti
B-main: Kevin Woodall
Feature: AJ Cannon, Tommy Mossbarger, Bryson Patton, Shawn Valenti, Justin Poling, David Landman, Bobby Hinkle, Tim Cutler, Chris Howison and Kevin Woodall

The SportMod feature turned into survival of the fittest and it seemed that no part of the field was the safe place to be as the longer the event went the more cars dropped out during the event, an early red flag was brought out as Steve Cruse ended up upside down and Joel Richendollar came to rest on top of Cruse’s racer. In the end it was Chris Shelton, Harley Martin, Rick Neace and Mark Noel as the top 4.

Heats: Rob Stambaugh and Harley Martin
Feature: Chris Shelton, Harley Martin, Rick Neace, Mark Noel, Weston Crosby, Billy Lanthorn, Rob Stambaugh, Harold Meadows, Mike Conkle and Emily Jordan

Track owner Brad McCown and the entire staff wish to thank all the racers, sponsors and fans for making the re-opening of the Atomic Speedway and the 2013 Dan Reno Memorial a huge success and we look forward to seeing you in 2014 » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.