DLM SANCTIONS >> LUCAS OIL LATE MODEL DIRT SERIES (LUCAS) >> Indiana Icebreaker Up Next for Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Message started by LMR on 03/19/14 at 3:01am

Title: Indiana Icebreaker Up Next for Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Post by LMR on 03/19/14 at 3:01am

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
March 18, 2014

Indiana Icebreaker Up Next for Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

WAYCROSS, GA (March 18, 2014) - The 17th Annual Indiana Icebreaker has become a springtime tradition in the Midwest and will take place on Saturday, March 22nd.  The LOLMDS sanctioned event is held at the historic Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, IN.  The single-day event will pay out over $50,000 in total purse money with Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains and a 50-lap feature event.

The Indiana Icebreaker will be the first event for the series since the highly successful Georgia Boot Super Bowl of Racing at Golden Isles Speedway in Brunswick, GA and the 38th Winternationals at East Bay Raceway Park in Tampa, FL. last month.  There were nine events contested with eight different winners prevailing.  A total of 60 drivers participated in at least one LOLMDS event.  On February 13th, history was made as the series was broadcast LIVE for the first time on the MAVTV American Real Network from East Bay raceway in Tampa Florida.  A huge TV audience watched Dennis Erb Jr.take the win after an exciting battle with Hall-of-Famer, Billy Moyer.

Heading into Brownstown, Dennis Erb Jr. is the defending race winner, while 4-time series champion Earl Pearson Jr. is atop the championship points standings in 2014.  Pearson leads the point standings for the first time since the end of 2008, when he captured his fourth championship. Pearson holds a 35-point advantage over 3-time series runner-up and 4-time Indiana Icebreaker winner, Don O'Neal and his teammate, Steve Francis, a winner at Golden Isles Speedway in February.

Eddie Carrier Jr. who recorded his first ever win at East Bay Raceway Park last month, is currently fourth in the championship points standings and is only 30-points behind the Clint Bowyer Racing team duo of O'Neal and Francis.  John Blankenship sits fifth in the championship points standings and looks to move up at Brownstown.  4-time series champion, Jimmy Owens, Gregg Satterlee, Ray Cook, Jared Landers, and Brian Shirley round out the top ten in the point standings heading into the Indiana Icebreaker this weekend.

Brownstown Speedway pit gates will open at 12 PM with grandstands opening at 1 PM this Saturday. There will be a driver's autograph session from 3:15 PM- 4 PM. The drivers meeting will take place at 4:15 PM with hot laps following at 4:45 PM.  Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series registration will take place from 1 PM to 4:45 PM.  In addition to the LOLMDS events, there will be Modifieds and Pure Stocks competing.

For more information on the "Indiana Icebreaker" visit the track website at or call the track phone at (812) 358-5332 or promoter Jim Price at (812) 620-0751. Brownstown Speedway is located on Highway 250 at the Jackson County Fairgrounds, one mile southeast of Brownstown, Indiana.

The Host Hotel for this event is the Fairfield Inn and Suites in Seymour, IN, located at 327 North Sandy Creek Drive.  Contact the hotel office to make reservations at (812) 524-3800 and ask for the special racer rate for that weekend.

For the latest breaking news about the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, including the 2014 tour schedule, TV schedule, drivers, sponsors and all the information about the series, visit the official website at:

Track Information

Brownstown Speedway - Brownstown, IN
Phone #: Race days: (812) 358-5332
Promoter: Jim Price - (812) 620-0751
Location: 476 East CR 100, Brownstown, IN 47220
Directions: Located on Highway 250 at the Jackson County Fairgrounds 1 mile south-east of Brownstown, Indiana

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Tire Rule for this event:    

Left Rear/Fronts - Hoosier Rib1300, Rib1350, LSB21
Right Rear - Hoosier 01, 03, 06, LSB21/55, LM40  
Event Purse

$10,000 to win- 1. $10000, 2. $5500, 3. $3500, 4. $2750, 5. $2250, 6. $1800, 7. $1500, 8. $1300, 9. $1200, 10. $1100, 11. $1075, 12. $1050, 13. $1025, 14. $1000, 15. $950, 16. $925, 17. $900, 18. $875, 19. $850, 20. $825, 21. $800, 22. $800, 23. $800, 24. $800.

Previous Indiana Icebreaker Winners

1998 - Tony Izzo Jr.
1999 - Don O'Neal
2000 - Don O'Neal
2001 - Timmy Yeager
2002 - John Gill
2003 - Don O'Neal
2004 - John Gill
2005 - Dan Sturgeon
2006 - Earl Pearson Jr.
2007 - Billy Moyer
2008 - Terry Casey
2009 - Earl Pearson Jr.
2010 - Jimmy Owens
2011 - Scott Bloomquist
2012 - Don O'Neal
2013 - Dennis Erb Jr.

Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship Points Standings

1.    Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, FL) - 880
2.    Don O'Neal (Martinsville, IN) - 845
3.    Steve Francis (Ashland, KY) - 845
4.    Eddie Carrier Jr. (Salt Rock, WV) - 815
5.    John Blankenship (Williamson, WV) - 780
6.    Jimmy Owens (Newport, TN) - 755
7.    Gregg Satterlee (Indiana, PA) - 730
8.    Ray Cook (Brasstown, NC) - 715
9.    Jared Landers (Batesville, AR) - 650
10.  Brian Shirley (Chatham, IL) - 640 » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.