Message started by LMR on 04/12/14 at 11:22pm

Title: MLRA at Lucas Oil Speedway - 4/12 Results
Post by LMR on 04/12/14 at 11:22pm

MLRA Late Models
Lucas Oil Speedway
April 12, 2014

Payne Wins MLRA Spring Nationals Finale at Lucas Oil Speedway

WHEATLAND, MO (April 12) - Racing from the outside pole Saturday night at Lucas Oil Speedway, Jeremy Payne worked underneath Tony Jackson Jr. with a lapped car between them and rolled on to Lucas Oil MLRA win in the Fox 22 Spring Nationals Presented by Once out front Payne worked the top side of the speedway until a caution waved with 13 laps to go. On the final restart he moved to the bottom and ran out the balance of the feature. It was his first trip to Victory Lane with the MLRA since September 18, 2010.

Lloyd Collins Photos | Ron Mitchell Photos
"We had a good car all night," said Payne of his GRT Race Car, following the feature. "We've been working on this thing and trying things. We finally got it to where we could race it. We were decent in certain situations, but not all of them. I think we got a good start on it. We needed a win like this to get our momentum built up and we're gonna go from here."

Chris Brown redrew the inside of the second row for the feature and slipped back a little before working back up to a second place finish. Brown was third on the final restart and Terry Phillips had the choice of restating inside or outside. Phillips chose the outside and Brown knew he had been handed a gift. "When he took the outside on that restart I was very surprised," stated Brown. "I kind of figured we'd come off in front of him and be in second. Really, Payne had been running the top the whole time as well. I kind of thought maybe I'd have an opportunity to roll by him. I think I showed him or he saw me a little too early because he was able to get down."
Chad Simpson finished up third with another strong run. Terry Phillips and Jesse Stovall filled out the remaining spots inside of the top five. Early in the night heat race wins went to Chris Brown, Tony Jackson Jr., Jesse Stovall and Jeremy Payne.

There was also a different qualifying format used Saturday. Instead of the traditional passing points system, the competitors drew for heat race pairings and were broken into two groups per heat for time trials. The heats were lined up, heads up, and the four winners redrew frisbees on the front stretch to set the first two rows of the main event.

1 2 186 Jeremy Payne $3,000
2 3 21B Chris Brown
3 6 25C Chad Simpson
4 5 75P Terry Phillips
5 4 00S Jesse Stovall
6 10 28M Jimmy Mars
7 19 2 Tommy Weder Jr.
8 9 24L Bill Leighton
9 11 14L Brad Looney
10 15 1V Will Vaught
11 23 3C Mike Collins
12 16 21X John Anderson
13 13 15B Jason O'Brien
14 7 6T Travis Dickes
15 17 42M Brandon McCormick
16 1 56J Tony Jackson, Jr
17 12 2B Jason Bodenhamer
18 22 10M Jacob Magee
19 21 99L Scott Lewis
20 24 29K Bill Koons
21 18 58E Dave Eckrich
22 8 58D AJ Diemel
23 14 7 Kenny Mudd
24 20 7K Jason Krohn
25 25 12L Payton Looney
26 26 42E Lane Ehlert

B-Main #1
1 42M Brandon McCormick
2 2 Tommy Weder Jr.
3 99L Scott Lewis
4 19L Bumper Jones
5 26JR Corey Zeitner
6 12L Payton Looney
7 42E Lane Ehlert
8 28J Leroy Johnson
9 9D Dwight Niehoff
10 99M Cliff Morrow

B-Main #2
1 58E Dave Eckrich
2 7K Jason Krohn
3 10M Jacob Magee
4 3C Mike Collins
5 94 Austin Rettig
6 29K Bill Koons
7 72W Jake Williams
8 4W J.C. Wyman
9 14M Reid Millard
10 99J Larry Jones

Heat #1
1 21B Chris Brown
2 75P Terry Phillips
3 24L Bill Leighton
4 15B Jason O'Brien
5 99L Scott Lewis
6 19L Bumper Jones
7 12L Payton Looney
8 99M Cliff Morrow
9 99J Larry Jones

Heat #2
1 56J Tony Jackson, Jr
2 25C Chad Simpson
3 28M Jimmy Mars
4 7 Kenny Mudd
5 3C Mike Collins
6 58E Dave Eckrich
7 29K Bill Koons
8 72W Jake Williams
9 28J Leroy Johnson

Heat #3
1 00S Jesse Stovall
2 6T Travis Dickes
3 14L Brad Looney
4 1V Will Vaught
5 2 Tommy Weder Jr.
6 42M Brandon McCormick
7 26JR Corey Zeitner
8 9D Dwight Niehoff
9 14M Reid Millard

Heat #4
1 186 Jeremy Payne
2 58D AJ Diemel
3 2B Jason Bodenhamer
4 21X John Anderson
5 10M Jacob Magee
6 7K Jason Krohn
7 4W J.C. Wyman
8 94 Austin Rettig
9 42E Lane Ehlert

Title: Re: MLRA at Lucas Oil Speedway - 4/12 Results
Post by LMR on 04/13/14 at 11:52am

MLRA Late Models
Lucas Oil Speedway
April 12, 2014

Event Photos courtesy of Lloyd Collins

Title: Re: MLRA at Lucas Oil Speedway - 4/12 Results
Post by LMR on 04/13/14 at 1:02pm

MLRA Late Models
Lucas Oil Speedway
April 12, 2014

Event Photos courtesy of Ron Mitchell

 » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.