DLM SANCTIONS >> LUCAS OIL LATE MODEL DIRT SERIES (LUCAS) >> Lucas Oil Series at Tazewell Speedway - 6/2 Results

Message started by LMR on 06/03/16 at 11:00pm

Title: Lucas Oil Series at Tazewell Speedway - 6/2 Results
Post by LMR on 06/03/16 at 11:00pm

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Tazewell Speedway
June 3, 2016

Bloomquist Fights off Owens for Toyota Knoxville 50 at Tazewell Speedway

TAZEWELL, TN (June 3) - In a battle of two home-state Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series rivals, Scott Bloomquist fought off all challenges by Jimmy Owens to win the Toyota Knoxville 50 at Tazewell Speedway on Friday.
Bloomquist led every lap; the only exception that his car was not in front of the pack is when Owens made a slide job in turn 2 with 12 laps-to-go to briefly take the lead. Owens could not make his car stick and Bloomquist went back around him to regain the top spot.
Trailing Bloomquist and Owens to the checkers were 12th place starter Steve Francis, Dennis Erb Jr., and Don O'Neal. O'Neal rallied after suffering a flat tire while running in fourth early in the race.
Bloomquist went to Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the fifth time this year and extended his all-time series win total to 67 victories. "We were just trying to be careful through traffic and then we went for it. Jimmy [Owens] did a little too much of a slide there and it took him a while to gather his momentum back up. We just turned under him and got back around him," said the 52-year-old Hall of Famer.
"The Sweet-Bloomquist car ran so well, the Andy Durham Engine ran great, and everything was pretty smooth tonight. We didn't qualify as well as we wanted to.   It was too tight. Beating Jimmy was big for us in that heat. We made some adjustments for the feature. Traffic wasn't too big of a deal tonight because of all of the cautions. The race track was really good tonight. You could race two-wide without any issues."
Bloomquist also closed on point leader Jonathan Davenport, who failed to finish the event as he dropped out of the race with two laps remaining.
"I am glad that Mike Reece is here tonight. Thanks to all of our other sponsors, Crop Production Services, Mark Martin Automotive, Dyna-Gro Seed, Base Fuels, Penske Shocks, Lucas Oil, Petroff Towing, Horton Coal, and Sorbera Chiropractic."

Owens was looking for his second straight LOLMDS victory after last weekend's Show-Me 100 victory. "We had a good car tonight, but Scott was just a tick better. I slid by him that one time, but I just couldn't get it straightened back out quick enough and he got back around me. I want to thank everybody for coming out tonight. This R&W Motorsports Team is really clicking right now. Scott beat us in that heat race and that was a big difference. I felt like we had a car that could have won, but to finish second here we will take that and head to Florence tomorrow night," said Owens.
Francis; in the Optima Batteries/Black Diamond entry; charged from the outside of the sixth row to finish third. "We lost our brakes out there. It is tough enough here with brakes to run where we did. But the car handled really well and to come up through the field against these guys, we earned that finish for sure."
"We had a good finish last week in the Show-Me and to carry the momentum over to tonight is a boost to our team. Thanks to Tim Logan and everybody who helps us out. We feel like we are building for a strong finish to the season."
Completing the top ten were Jared Landers, Chad Ogle, Billy Ogle Jr., Brandon Sheppard and Donald McIntosh.
In preliminary action, Jimmy Owens set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time amongst the 25 entrants, with a lap of 11.380 seconds. Scott Bloomquist, Don O'Neal and Jonathan Davenport won their respective heat races.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday, June 3rd, 2016
Toyota Knoxville 50
Tazewell Speedway - Tazewell, TN

1 1 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $10,800
2 4 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $6,400
3 12 15F Steve Francis Bowling Green, KY $3,500
4 8 28E Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $3,450
5 2 5 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN $3,050
6 9 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR $2,500
7 20 10 Chad Ogle Sevierville, TN $1,500
8 13 201 Billy Ogle Jr. Knoxville, TN $1,300
9 18 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $1,900
10 7 7 Donald McIntosh Dawsonville, GA $1,100
11 6 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $1,775
12 17 21K Dakotah Knuckles Ewing, VA $1,050
13 16 11B Tommy Bailey Corbin, KY $1,025
14 14 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $1,800
15 11 28w Jeff Wolfenbarger Clinton, TN $950
16 3 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC $2,025
17 5 51 Mack McCarter Maryville, TN $900
18 19 75 Colton Flinner Allison Park, PA $975
19 10 15L Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $1,550
20 21 144 Chris Barton Middlesboro, KY $825
21 15 56H Jordon Horton New Tazewell, TN $800
22 22 3s Steve Smith Powell, TN $800
23 24 7b Brian Smith Barbourville, KY $800
24 23 54 Mitchell Burke Tazewell, TN $800

Race Statistics
Entrants: 25
Lap Leaders: Scott Bloomquist (Laps 1 - 50)
Cautions: Don O'Neal (Lap 10); Tim McCreadie (Lap 11); Jeff Wolfenbarger (Lap 18); Debris (Lap 19); Darrell Lanigan (Lap 26); Jonathan Davenport (Lap 47)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: none
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: none

Heat #1: Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Owens, Donald McIntosh, Darrell Lanigan, Billy Ogle Jr., Tommy Bailey, Colton Flinner, Steve Smith, Josh Henry-DNS
Heat #2: Don O'Neal, Mack McCarter, Dennis Erb, Jr., Jeff Wolfenbarger, Earl Pearson, Jr., Dakotah Knuckles, Chad Ogle, Brian Smith-DNS

Heat #3: Jonathan Davenport, Tim McCreadie, Jared Landers, Steve Francis, Jordon Horton, Brandon Sheppard, Chris Barton, Mitchell Burke

Fast Time: Jimmy Owens 11.380 seconds

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, including the latest series standings, 2016 tour schedule, driver information, and more visit the official website at:

Title: Re: Lucas Oil Series at Tazewell Speedway - 6/2 Results
Post by LMR on 06/03/16 at 11:58pm

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Tazewell Speedway
June 3, 2016

Event Photos courtesy of Michael Moats

- » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.