Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 05/25/18 at 8:08pm


Pages: 1
$10,000 to win Pepsi USA Nationals Deery Sept. 17-18 at 34 Raceway (Read 1059 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14878
United States
$10,000 to win Pepsi USA Nationals Deery Sept. 17-18 at 34 Raceway
09/14/10 at 1:49pm
September 14, 2010

$10,000 to win Pepsi USA Nationals Deery Sept. 17-18 at 34 Raceway

WEST BURLINGTON, Iowa (Sept. 14) – The final checkers of the Deery Brothers Summer Series season fly at 34 Raceway’s $10,000 to win Pepsi USA Nationals this Friday and Saturday, Sept. 17-18.

Ray Guss Jr. has already acknowledged there’d be no better way for him to cap his multi-championship season than with the Saturday checkers at West Burlington. Guss has already clinched the series title, adding that prize to national, state and three local track crowns earned during IMCA’s regular Late Model point season.

Among his challengers this weekend will be Mark Burgtorf, a three time Pepsi winner, and Jeff Aikey, who has won a pair of Pepsi’s since the event joined the Deery schedule in 1998.

Other winners have been Darren Miller, Curt Martin, Dennis Erb Jr., Rob Toland, Terry Neal, Matt Strassheim and, most recently, Jason Frankel.

A minimum of $500 will be paid to each of the 26 drivers in the starting grid and lap money adding up to $2,000 goes to drivers scored in the top four on each of the 100 laps.

Pit gates open at 3 p.m., the grandstand opens at 5 p.m. and hot laps start at 6:30 p.m. both days. Time trials start at 7 p.m. Friday. Racing gets underway at 7 p.m. on Saturday

Deery drivers with perfect attendance through the series’ first 15 events compete in the opening night J & J Steel Ironman Challenge.

That race pays $750 to win and a minimum of $200 to start. Joining Guss, Aikey and Neal in the 12 car starting field are Kevin Blum, Tyler Bruening, T.J. Criss, Andy Eckrich, Todd Malmstrom, Charlie McKenna, Jost Most, Mark Preston and Darrel DeFrance.

DeFrance will extend his perfect attendance record this weekend, competing at his 368th consecutive event as the 24th annual series concludes.

IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars and 305 sprints are also on Friday’s program. Four cylinders and mod lites run on Saturday.

Grandstand admission on Friday is $15 for adults and $13 for seniors and students. Saturday admission is $20 for adults and $18 for seniors and students.

Two-day passes are $30 for adults and $26 for seniors and students. Kids 10 and under get in free both days.
More information about the Pepsi USA Nationals is available by calling 319 752-3434.

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill., 717; 2. Jeff Aikey, Waterloo, 625; 3. Andy Eckrich, Iowa City, 622; 4. Terry Neal, Ely, 594; 5. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 543; 6. Josh Most, Red Oak, 536; 7. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, 511; 8. Charlie McKenna, Clear Lake, 499; 9. Kevin Blum, Colona, Ill., 487; 10. Mark Burgtorf, Quincy, Ill., 486; 11. Jeremiah Hurst, Du­buque, 485; 12. Mark Preston, Port Byron, Ill., 461; 13. Jay Johnson, West Burlington, 451; 14. Tom Darbyshire, Morning Sun, 450; 15. Todd Malmstrom, Silvis, Ill., 436; 16. T.J. Criss, Oskaloosa, 435; 17. Boone McLaughlin, Mediapolis, 409; 18. Rob Toland, Davenport, 403; 19. Tom Goble, Burlington, 372; 20. Jason Rauen, Farley, and Joel Callahan, Dubuque, both 356.
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.