Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 10/21/20 at 9:47pm


Pages: 1
Volunteer Speedway (USLMS) - 4/23 Results (Read 4027 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Volunteer Speedway (USLMS) - 4/23 Results
04/24/11 at 3:56am
April 23, 2011

Owens Wires 'Showdown at The Gap’ at Volunteer Speedway

Fastrak PR
BULLS GAP, Tenn. (April 23) — Continuing the ULTIMATE Super Late Model trend of exciting races that provide a wide variety of winners, Newport, Tennessee’s Jimmy Owens led flag to flag to capture the $10,000 “Showdown At The Gap” at Volunteer Speedway. Owens slid by Shell Racing Solutions fast qualifier Chris Ferguson on the opening lap and never looked back in claiming his 1st ULIMATE SLM win of the season.

Showdown At The Gap Photos:

31 teams entered the event creating the strongest ULTIMATE field to date. Ferguson and Owens won heat races 1 and 2 respectively to claim their front row starting spots. Scott Bloomquist and Blairsville, Georgia’s Jonathan Davenport won the other 2 heat races setting the stage for an exciting 75 lap feature around the high banked clay oval. Bloomquist, who dominated heat race 3, would fall from competition before the green flag even waved as he lost a drive shaft while coming to the starting grid. After grabbing the lead at the drop of the green, Owens set the pace followed by Ferguson and Davenport. Continuous side by side racing ensued in the early stages of the event as Davenport set his sights on Ferguson for the runner up position. Davenport eventually worked his way around Ferguson giving Owens the extra space needed to work lap traffic midway through the event.

The fans were treated to intense racing action as only 2 caution flags plague the 75 lap feature event. Owens stayed true to form and piloted the Reese Monument/Bloomquist Chassis to the checkered flag. Davenport, Ferguson, Eric Wells, and Chris Madden would round out the top 5. Ferguson’s 3rd place finish vaulted him into the championship lead. Chip Brindle, who led the ULTIMATE SLM point standings entering the event, persevered to salvage a 15th place finish to remain unofficially 3 points behind Ferguson and in the middle of title contention.

With only five races under its belt, the SAS East/ULTIMATE SLM Series is definitely living up to its name as fans have been treated to exciting and unpredictable races as the series now has its 4th different winner of the season. The unique blend of veteran racers, developing talent, and wide variety of racing venues has the remainder of 2011 looking quite exciting as the series enters the month of May. For more information about the ULTIMATE Super Late Model Series, please visit www.ultimatesupers.com

Partners of Ultimate Super Late Model Series are: Hoosier Racing Tires, Big A's custom Graphics, Nos Energy Drinks, Shell Racing Solutions, GM Performance Parts, City Chevrolet, VP Racing Fuel, & Thomas Clarke Performance.

Ultimate Super Late Model Series
Volunteer Speedway, Bulls Gap, TN
Saturday, April 23, 2011

1 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $10,000
2 49 Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA
3 22 Chris Ferguson Mt. Holly, NC
4 18E Eric Wells Hazard, KY
5 44 Chris Madden Gaffney, SC
6 5 Eric Jacobsen Seacliff Beach, CA
7 54 Ray Cook Brasstown, NC
8 201 Billy Ogle Jr Knoxville, TN
9 7R Kent Robinson Bloomington, IN
10 3 Steve Smith Lowell, TN
11 101 Casey Roberts Toccoa, GA
12 11 Tyler Reddick Corning, CA
13 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
14 52D Mark Douglas Knoxville, TN
15 21B Chip Brindle Chatsworth, GA
16 87 Ross Bailes Clover, SC
17 1 Ricky Weeks Rutherfordton, NC
18 98 Casey Barrow Bloomingdale, GA
19 10 Chad Ogle Sevierville, TN
20 57 Zack Mitchell Woodruff, SC
21 16B Daniel Baggerly Rural Retreat, VA
22 41 Ty Dillon Welcome, NC
23 B4 Petey Ivey Union, SC
24 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresville, TN

Fast Qualifier: 22 Chris Ferguson

Fastrak Southeast Racing Series
Volunteer Speedway, Bulls Gap, TN
Saturday, April 23, 2011

1. Brandon Umberger #54-Rural Retreat, VA $2,000
2. Shanon Buckingham #50-Morristown, TN
3. Jensen Ford #83-Piney Flats, TN
4. Bobby Mays #19-Jonesborough, TN
5. Dale Ball #2-Johnson City, TN
6. Brian Connor #77-Martinez, GA
7. Lee Cooper #57-Woodruff, SC
8. Vic Chandler #88-Weaverville, NC
9. David Smith #11-Inman, SC
10. Chris Chandler #8-Weaverville, NC
11. Mark Rosner #17-Maryville, TN
12. Anthony Sanders #421-Spartanburg, SC
13. Jerry Broyles #72-Jonesborough, TN
14. Chad Hale #51-Wytheville, VA
15. Jordan Dill #22-Landrum, SC
16. Newt Tackett #68-North East, PA
17. Brandon Williams #95-Crossville, TN
18. Brian Ligon #444-Martinez, GA
19. Forrest Trent #4Q-Morristown, TN
20. Josh Holtgraver #00-Pittsburgh, PA
21. Brandon Overton #76-Appling, GA
22. Adam Yarbrough #57-Denver, NC
23. Jay Sessoms #84-Stanley, NC
24. Keith Helton #5-Kingsport, TN


1) Jamie Whitt #1; 2) Dustin Shaver #7; 3) Robbie Woods #2; 4) Chuck Johnson #17; 5) Ricky Gosnell #15; 6) Dale Reed #52; 7) Mike Kilian #94; 8) Chris Gregg #73; 9) Eddie Adams #9; 10) Roger Hunter #7-11; 11) Bud Kelley #B21; 12) Charlie Bates #27; 13) Chuck Kilian #96; 14) Shannon Davidson #4; 15) Danny Helton #88; 16) Jesse Wilder #79 – Did Not Start: Mike Mays #30

Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.