Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 11/22/19 at 7:08pm


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Winchester Speedway - 9/16 Results (Read 2045 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14878
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Winchester Speedway - 9/16 Results
09/17/11 at 3:24am
September 16, 2011

Bloomquist Banks 12th Lucas Oil Series Win of 2011 at Winchester

by James Essex
WINCHESTER, Va. (September 16) - Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN picked up his 12th Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the year on Friday Night at Winchester Speedway. He captured the $10,000 in the Verizon Wireless 50. Bloomquist took the lead on lap eight from Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA and then had to fight off several challenges from Jimmy Owens to take the win.

Bloomquist closed to within ten points of Owens, who faded to 16th at the finish with a left front flat tire. McDowell finished second followed by new track record holder; Ronnie DeHaven Jr.of Winchester, VA; 16th starting Earl Pearson, Jr. of Jacksonville, FL; and Bart Hartman of Zanesville, OH.

McDowell led the first seven circuits and was being challenged by both Bloomquist and Owens, who were dueling it out for second. Bloomquist made the move for the lead on lap eight. Owens then moved into second as the two top in series points went at it.

Owens trailed Bloomquist for several circuits until the pair came across the scoring line dead-even. Owens then tried to take the lead from Bloomquist in turn two as he slid up in front of Bloomquist. Bloomquist then came back hard in turn four sliding in front of Owens to re-take the lead.

Owens nearly lost control of his car as he faded to third behind Bloomquist and McDowell, who picked up the second spot. Owens then developed a left front flat tire as he started to fade from contention.

Bloomquist went on to take his 12th series win of the season in his Miller Brothers Construction, Hawkeye Trucking, Base Racing Fuels, Ohlins, Lane Automotive, Roush-Yates, Bloomquist Race Cars Ford.

McDowell finished second in the Clint Bowyer Racing, Crawford Supply, Rocket Chevrolet. DeHaven was third in the DeHaven's Trailer Sales, MasterSbilt with Pearson in the Bobby Labonte, Lucas Oil Products, Longhorn Dodge coming home fourth, followed by Hartman in the Ernie Davis, Ernie D's Rocket Chassis.

In Lucas Oil Victory Lane, Bloomquist commented on the race with Owens for the lead. "I was going to race him like he raced me, when you do a slide job you need to make sure you have someone cleared, not just run them up the track, he nearly put me in the wall, and I went hard into turn four and slid front of him, I didn't touch him, he came back and hit me in the rear and I guess that's when he got the flat."

Completing the top ten were Steve Francis of Ashland, KY; Jason Covert of York Haven, PA; Brad Neat of Dunnville, KY; Eric Wells of Hazard, KY; and Jared Landers of Batesville, AR.

In preliminary action Ronnie DeHaven Jr. broke his year old track record with a lap of 14.201 seconds. Heat races went to Dale McDowell, Jimmy Owens, Eric Wells, and Scott Bloomquist. The B-Mains went to Nick Dickson and Tyler Reddick.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com or call the series' office at (951) 532-2503.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday Night, September 16th, 2011
Verizon Wireless 50
Winchester Speedway - Winchester, VA

Feature Finish - 50 Laps
1 4 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
2 1 17m Dale McDowell Chickamauga, GA
3 5 1d Ronnie DeHaven, Jr. Winchester, VA
4 16 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
5 9 25 Bart Hartman Zanesville, OH
6 11 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
7 14 43a Jason Covert York Haven, PA
8 7 41n Brad Neat Dunnville, KY
9 2 18e Eric Wells Hazard, KY
10 12 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
11 19 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
12 18 11t Tyler Reddick Corning, CA
13 15 71 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
14 22 53 Ray Cook Brasstown, NC
15 17 17d Nick Dickson Lewistown, PA
16 3 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
17 23 100p Kenny PettyJohn Millsboro, DE
18 21 5b Mike Marlar Winfield, TN
19 8 24 Kenny Moreland Waldorf, MD
20 24 4Ds Chad Hollenbeck Kingsley, PA
21 6 6L Jamie Lathroum Mechanicsville, MD
22 13 70J DJ Myers Greencastle, PA
23 20 c9 Steve Casebolt  Richmond, IN
24 10 21d Daniel Stone Thompson, PA

Red Buck Cigars Fast Time:
Ronnie DeHaven Jr. / 14.201 seconds (Group A and Overall)
Eric Wells / 14.465 seconds (Group B)

Wiles Driveshafts First Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Dale McDowell, Ronnie DeHaven, Bart Hartman, DJ Myers, Duane Harbaugh, Kenny PettyJohn, Mike Marlar, Gerald Davis, JT Spence, Roy Deese Jr., Brian Tavenner

Wiles Driveshafts Second Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Jimmy Owens, Brad Neat, Steve Francis, Don O'Neal, Nick Dickson, John Blankenship, Gary Stuhler, Brad Omps, Deane Guy, Jonathan DeHaven, Bubby Dillman-DNS

Sweet Manufacturing Third Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Eric Wells, Jamie Lathroum, Daniel Stone, Jason Covert, Tyler Reddick, Ray Cook, CS Fitzgerald, Ron Delano, Tommy Armel, Tony Crim, Kyle Lear

HAWK Brakes Fourth Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Scott Bloomquist, Kenny Moreland, Jared Landers, Earl Pearson Jr., Steve Casebolt, Rusty Sites, Scott LeBarron, Keith Jackson, Alan Sagi, Chad Hollenbeck

JRi Shocks First B-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Nick Dickson, John Blankenship, Mike Marlar, JT Spence, Gerald Davis, Kenny PettyJohn, Gay Stuhler, Deane Guy, Brian Tavenner, Brad Omps, Duane Harbaugh, Roy Deese Jr.-DNS, Jonathan DeHaven-DNS, Bubby Dillman-DNS

Wrisco Aluminum Second B-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Tyler Reddick, Steve Casebolt, Ray Cook, CS Fitzgerald, Rusty Sites, Keith Jackson, Tommy Armel, Ron Delano, Chad Hollenbeck, Tony Crim, Scott LeBarron, Alan Sagi, Kyle Lear-DNS
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.