Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 11/22/19 at 7:09pm


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Knoxville Raceway - 9/30 Results (Read 4373 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14878
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Knoxville Raceway - 9/30 Results
10/01/11 at 12:59am
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Knoxville Raceway
September 30, 2011

Birkhofer Best in Night Two of Lucas Oil Knoxville Late Model Nationals

by James Essex
KNOXVILLE, IA (September 30) - Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, IA passed race leader Jason Rauen of Farley, IA on lap three as he went to capture the Second Night of the 8th Annual Lucas Oil Late Model Knoxville Nationals Presented by Casey's General Stores. Birkhofer earned $7,000 for the triumph on Friday Night in front of his homestate fans at Knoxville Raceway. For the second straight night, Darrell Lanigan of Union, KY finished second. He was followed by Will Vaught of Crane, MO; Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN; and Rauen.

Rob Moss grabbed the lead at the start of the 25-lap main event, relinquishing the lead to Rauen as the duo came to the stripe on lap 2. Birkhofer then quickly made his way to the front passing Rauen for the lead on lap three. Birkhofer pulled away from what became a heated battle for second between Lanigan and Vaught.

Lanigan and Vaught exchanged the second spot on several occasions as Birkhofer continued to pull away from the duo. Birkhofer then started to pick-up the tail-end of the field, allowing both Lanigan and Vaught to close the gap with ten laps to go, as they battled it out for second.

"I have to thank all these great fans for coming out here to support this event, as far as I'm concerned this is the biggest Crown Jewel of any racing event. It has been a while since we've run well here, but we will work on some things tomorrow to get ready for the $40,000 to win show," said the 39-year-old veteran driver.

"Jason Rauen did a great job tonight; he had a car capable of winning here tonight. I told him a couple of things before his heat race that might help out. I told him you guys can do what you want, but here's what I recommend, and it makes me feel good when these guys appreciate what you do for them."

Birkhofer's MB Customs Chassis is powered by a Pro Power Racing Engine and sponsored by Cheap Cars, J&J Steel, Keyser Manufacturing, Zens Flooring, and ASi Racewear.

Lanigan finished second again tonight in the Kentucky Fuel, Seubert Calf Ranches, Cornett Engines Chevrolet. Vaught in the Circle M Auto Sales, Manpower to Horsepower Warrior Race Cars entry had an impressive run to finish third. He was followed by eight-place starter, Scott Bloomquist in the Miller Brothers Construction, Roush-Yates, Bloomquist Race Cars Ford. Rauen had his best career Knoxville finish coming home fifth in the Rauen Precision Machining, Pro Power Racing Engines Chevrolet.

Completing the top ten were Billy Moyer of Batesville, AR; Bub McCool of Vicksburg, MS; Tim McCreadie of Watertown, NY; Don O'Neal of Martinsville, IN; and Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday Night, September 30th, 2011
8th Annual Lucas Oil Knoxville Nationals
Knoxville Raceway - Knoxville, IA
Red Buck Cigars Fast Time:
Scott Bloomquist / 17.805 seconds (Overall)

Feature Finish - (25 Laps)
1 15B Brian Birkhofer Muscatine, IA 
2 1 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY 
3 1V Will Vaught Crane, MO 
4 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN 
5 98 Jason Rauen Farley, IA 
6 21 Billy Moyer Batesville, AR 
7 57J Bub McCool Vicksburg, MS 
8 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY 
9 71 Don ONeal Martinsville, IN 
10 5B Mike Marlar Winfield, TN 
11 25 Chad Simpson Mount Vernon, IA 
12 18 Shannon Babb Moweaqua, IL 
13 1s Jack Sullivan Greenbrier, AR 
14 1m Rob Moss Iowa City, IA 
15 32 Chris Simpson Marion, IA 
16 99JR Frank Heckenast Jr. Frankfurt, IL 
17 23 John Blankenship Morristown, TN 
18 33 Nick Marolf Moscow, IA 
19 s9 Dan Schlieper Sullivan, WI 
20 3s Brian Shirley Chatham, IL 
21 21B Rich Bell Sheffield, IL 
22 25H Kerry Hansen Spencer, WI 
23 777 Jared Landers Welcome, NC 
24 28M Jimmy Mars Menomonie, WI 

Race Statistics:
Entrants: 62
Lap Leaders: Rob Moss (Lap 1); Jason Rauen (Lap 2); Brian Birkhofer (Laps 3 - 25)
Caution Flags: Debris (Lap 2)

Wiles Driveshafts First Heat (12 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Jason Rauen, Tim McCreadie, Scott Bloomquist, Dan Schlieper, Scott James, Jimmy Mars, Steve Casebolt, Brady Smith, Tyler Reddick, Jimmy Owens, Al Humphrey, Charlie McKenna, Curt Schroeder

Wiles Driveshafts Second Heat (12 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Chris Simpson, Darrell Lanigan, Bub McCool, Rob Moss, Dave Eckrich, Tim Lance, Mike Fryer, Kent Robinson, Mike Wallace, Austin Hubbard, Junior Coover, Matt Furman-DNS

Sweet Manufacturing Third Heat (12 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Chad Simpson, Kerry Hansen, Will Vaught, Brian Shirley, Shannon Babb, Denny Eckrich, John Duty, Brad Neat, Kevin Sather, Chris Spieker, Scott Lewis, Earl Pearson Jr.

HAWK Brakes Fourth Heat (12 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Frank Heckenast Jr., John Blankenship, Nick Marolf, Mike Marlar, Don O'Neal, Billy Moyer, Jason Feger, Brian Harris, Eric Wells, Tyler Bruening, Chad Chenoweth, Jill George

Sweet Manufacturing Fifth Heat (12 Laps - Top 4 Transfer): Brian Birkhofer, Rich Bell, Jared Landers, Jack Sullivan, Andy Eckrich, Steve Francis, Ray Cook, Darrell DeFrance, Paul Glendenning, Alonzo Grosse, Billy Moyer Jr., Jay Johnson, Jeremiah Hurst-DNS

Wrisco Aluminum C-Main (15 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Earl Pearson Jr., Tyler Reddick, Billy Moyer Jr., Chris Spieker, Eric Wells, Tyler Bruening, Jay Johnson, Mike Wallace, Scott Lewis, Chad Chenoweth, Curt Schroeder, Paul Glendenning, Alonzo Grosse, Matt Furman, Kevin Sather, Junior Coover, Charlie McKenna, Al Humphrey, Austin Hubbard-DNS, Jimmy Owens-DNS, Jill George-DNS, Jeremiah Hurst-DNS

JRi Shocks B-Main (20 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Shannon Babb, Billy Moyer, Jimmy Mars, Don O'Neal, Steve Francis, Scott James, Kent Robinson, Andy Eckrich, Brady Smith, Mike Fryer, Ray Cook, John Duty, Tyler Reddick, Denny Eckrich, Tim Lance, Brian Harris, Chris Spieker, Billy Moyer Jr., Earl Pearson Jr., Steve Casebolt, Jason Feger, Brad Neat

Coming up on Saturday Night, October 1st will the third and final night of the event with a $40,000 paycheck on the line for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned event. There will be a special driver autograph session at 3 PM at the Dyer-Hudson Hall behind the main grandstand with on-track activity getting underway at 7:30PM with a C-Main, followed by a B-Main and then the 100-lap finale.

For more information go to www.knoxvilleraceway.com.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com or call the series' office at (951) 532-2503.
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.