Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 06/06/20 at 2:10pm


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Lonestar Speedway - 3/31 Results (Read 3318 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Lonestar Speedway - 3/31 Results
03/31/12 at 9:58pm
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Lonestar Speedway
March 31, 2012

Landers Outlasts Owens in Texas Shootout at LoneStar Speedway

by James Essex
KILGORE, TX (March 31, 2012)- Jared Landers of Batesville, AR regained the lead on the final lap and held off Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN for the win on Saturday Night at LoneStar Speedway. Landers earned $10,000 for the victory in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series High Banks Havoc for his first series win of the season.

For the third consecutive race Owens finished second. Steve Francis of Ashland, KY made a tremendous charge through the field to finish a close third after he started 14th on the grid. He was followed by Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA and Duke Whiseant of Texarkana, AR.

Landers held off Owens for the lead nearly the entire 50-lap race, but with two laps to go a two-lap shootout took place. The only caution of the race came out for seventh-place running Don O'Neal, who stopped in turn four with a flat tire. When the race went green again Owens dove in front of Landers in turn three to take over the lead, the pair came across the start-finish line nearly dead even with Owens holding a slight advantage. As the two raced the final lap, Landers was able to maneuver his car by Owens to beat him to the checkered flag.

In Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the third time in his career, the 2011 series rookie of the year was just glad the race was over. "I didn't know there were two laps to go when the caution came out, then I went too slowly in the turn and I knew Jimmy was going to be right there. Because we battled the whole race, I never got any distance over him at all. He's a heck of a racer and to beat him says a lot about this team," said Landers.

"He (Owens) passed me there in three and I dove down low and got under him on the last lap, I wanted the win, I was either going to win or wreck is how I looked at it. Jimmy races clean and I raced him clean, I think we may have finally got a handle on this Barry Wright Race Car," said Landers, whose Clint Bowyer Motorsports Toyota Camry is powered by a Roush-Yates Engines and sponsored by Crawford Supply, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, Cometic Gasket, Georgia Boot and Mark Martin Automotive.

Completing the top ten were John Blankenship of Williamson, WV; Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL; Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN; B.J. Robinson of Shreveport, LA; and Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC.

In preliminary action Jared Landers was the Red Buck Cigar Fast Qualifier among the 28 entrants with a lap of 14.540 seconds. Heat race winners were Jimmy Owens, John Blankenship, Landers, and Jonathan Davenport. Jeff Chanler and Jon Mitchell won B-Mains.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Saturday Night, March 31, 2012
High Banks Havoc
Lonestar Speedway - Kilgore, TX

1 5 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
2 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
3 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
4 15 Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA
5 A1 Duke Whiseant Texarkana, TX
6 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
7 44 Earl Pearson Jr Jacksonville, FL
8 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
9 R5 BJ Robinson Blanchard, LA
10 53 Ray Cook Brasstown, NC
11 18 Eric Wells Hazard, KY
12 71 Chris Wall Holden, LA
13 71 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
14 6x Rob Litton Alezandria, LA
15 11 Tyler Reddick Corning, CA
16 5 Jon Mitchell Texarkana, TX
17 14M Morgan Bagley Longview, TX
18 28 Dennis Erb Jr Carpentersville, IL
19 c8 Timothy Culp West Monroe, LA
20 81 Ricky Ingalls Longview, TX
21 88 Wendell Wallace Batesville, AR
22 5B Klint Byars Carrollton, MS
23 11c Jeff Chanler Minden, LA
24 11 Austin Hubbard Seaford, DE

B-Main #1 (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Jeff Chanler, Timothy Culp, Morgan Bagley, Jason Ingalls, Klint Byars, Austin Hubbard-DNS
B-Main #2: Jon Mitchell, Rob Litton, Rickey Ingalls, Jim Bryant, Jay Brunson-DNS, Jason Cliburn-DNS

Heat #1 (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Jimmy Owens, Tyler Reddick, Earl Pearson, Jr., Ray Cook, Jeff Chanler, Timothy Culp, Morgan Bagley-DNS
Heat #2: John Blankenship, Duke Whiseant, Scott Bloomquist, Eric Wells, Klint Byars, Jason Ingalls, Austin Hubbard-DNS
Heat #3: Jared Landers, Don O'Neal, Chris Wall, Steve Francis, Jon Mitchell, Rickey Ingalls, Jim Bryant
Heat #4: Jonathan Davenport, BJ Robinson, Dennis Erb, Jr., Wendell Wallace, Rob Litton, Jay Brunson, Jason Cliburn

Fast Time:
Tyler Reddick / 14.585 seconds (Group A and Overall)
Jared Landers / 14.540 seconds (Group B)
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.