Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 07/07/20 at 12:59pm


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Muskingum Co. Speedway - 7/3 Results (Read 2390 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Muskingum Co. Speedway - 7/3 Results
07/03/12 at 10:52pm
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Muskingum County Speedway
July 3, 2012

Steve Francis Takes Budweiser 50 on Tuesday Night at Muskingum County Speedway

by James Essex
ZANESVILLE, OH (July 3) - Steve Francis of Ashland, KY took the lead on the13th lap from Donnie Moran of Dresden, OH and went on to win the Budweiser 50 on Tuesday Night at Muskingum County Speedway. For Francis, it was his fourth Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series triumph of the season. John Blankenship of Williamson, WV finished second. Moran was third, followed by Don O'Neal of Martinsville, IN and Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN.
Moran led the first 12 circuits of the race, until giving way to Francis. Francis then battled with Blankenship for the remainder the race, which was slowed by two caution flags. Francis held off Blankenship through heavy traffic in the final five laps of the race to score his ninth career LOLMDS victory.
"Donnie (Moran) and I started on the front row, it was reminiscent of the old days when we ran against each other all the time. It was a real good win for Barry (Wright) and the guys, we made the right tire choice tonight! My daughter was also here tonight, she doesn't get to come very often, so it was a special night all the way around," said Francis.
"After they watered the track during the fireworks, we kind of had in our mind what we wanted to do, similar to what Scott (Bloomquist) did here last year in winning the race. I thought O'Neal would give us a race with his tire choice, but Blankenship has been running real good here lately so I knew he would be in the hunt as well. I have to thank Barry Wright Race Cars, Clements Engines, Valvoline, JRi Shocks, Nichols Plumbing, AES Racing, Mathis Farms, and VP Fuels for all of the their help," said Francis, who remains fourth in the series points standings after his win.
Blankenship, who won the series' last race at Wythe Raceway in Virginia after starting 14th, came from fourth to challenge Francis for the race win, but came up short in winning on his 31st birthday. He drove the Coal America's Energy, Cornett Racing Engines, Rocket Chassis. Moran, the home track star, finished third in his Custom Cutters, Malcuit Engines, MasterSbilt Chevy.
Completing the top ten were point's leader, Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN; Josh McGuire of Ashland, KY; Hard Charger of the Race, Jared Landers of Batesville, AR; Zack Dohm of Cross Lanes; and Eric Wells of Hazard, KY.
In preliminary action, Steve Francis set the Red Buck Cigars Fast Time amongst the 37 entrants with a lap of 15.447 seconds. Heat races were taken by: Steve Francis, Josh McGuire, Donnie Moran, and John Blankenship. Jonathan Davenport and Rod Conley won their respective B-Mains.
The series will be back in action in the "Clash at the Mag" at Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, MS on Friday and Saturday July 6th and 7th. The event will be a two-day $20,000-to-win show and will feature Red Buck Cigars Time Trials and Heat Races on Friday Night. B-Mains, and the 100-lap $20,000 "Clash at the Mag" main event will take place on Saturday. For more information on the event, go to www.magnoliadirt.com.  
For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and be sure to follow the series at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Sunday Night, July 3rd, 2012
"Budweiser 50"
Muskingum County Speedway - Zanesville, OH

1 1 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY $10,000
2 4 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
3 2 99 Donnie Moran Dresden, OH
4 7 71 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
5 5 5b Mike Marlar Winfield, TN
6 8 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
7 3 41 Josh McGuire Grayson, KY
8 16 5 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
9 11 17d Zack Dohm Charleston, WV
10 6 18e Eric Wells Hazard, KY
11 9 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
12 14 11h Austin Hubbard Seaford, DE
13 17 15d Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA
14 19 11T Tyler Reddick Corning, CA
15 15 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
16 23 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
17 13 63 Doug Drown Wooster, OH
18 22 46 Tim Rivers Salem, IN
19 18 71R Rod Conley Wheelersburg, OH
20 10 21m Jason Montgomery Jackson, OH
21 12 12d Doug Dodd Cambridge, OH
22 24 99m Devin Moran Dresden, OH
23 20 72 John Mason Millersburg, OH
24 21 9m Shane McLoughlin Nashport, OH
25 25 83 Steve Prince Newark, OH

Race Statistics
Entrants: 37
Lap Leaders: Donnie Moran (Laps 1 - 12); Steve Francis (Laps 13 - 50)
Caution Flags: Lap 18 (Shane McLoughlin); Lap 28 (Doug Dodd)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Earl Pearson Jr.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisional: none

First Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Steve Francis, Mike Marlar, Scott Bloomquist, Doug Drown, Tyler Reddick, Eric Myers, Davey Johnson, Chad Hina, Hiram Bachmann, Ross Nicastri
Second Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Josh McGuire, Don O'Neal, Zack Dohm, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Devin Moran, Shane McLoughlin, Earl Pearson, Jr., Kyle Bates
Third Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Donnie Moran, Eric Wells, Jason Montgomery , Austin Hubbard, Rod Conley, John Mason, Tim Rivers, Bryan Casey, Todd Brennan
Fourth Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): John Blankenship, Jimmy Owens, Doug Dodd, Jared Landers, Mason Zeigler, Brad Malcuit, Steve Prince, Matt Mallett, Russ Frohnapfel

First B-Main (12 Laps - Top 3 Advance): Jonathan Davenport, Tyler Reddick,Shane McLoughlin, Devin Moran, Eric Myers, Kyle Bates, Hiram Bachmann, Chad Hina, Earl Pearson, Jr., Davey Johnson-DNS, Ross Nicastri-DNS
Second B-Main (12 Laps - Top 3 Advance): Rod Conley, John Mason, Tim Rivers, Russ Frohnapfel, Bryan Casey, Mason Zeigler, Matt Mallett, Todd Brennan, Steve Prince, Brad Malcuit
Fast Time:
Steve Francis / 15.447 seconds (Group A)
Donnie Moran / 15.484 seconds (Group B)
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.