Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 07/03/20 at 1:32pm


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Portsmouth Raceway Park - 9/1 Results (Read 2511 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Portsmouth Raceway Park - 9/1 Results
09/01/12 at 10:32pm
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Portsmouth Raceway Park
September 1, 2012

Boggs Brilliant in Pepsi River Days Rumble Win at Portsmouth

by James Essex
PORTSMOUTH, OH (September 1) - Jackie Boggs of Grayson, KY led all the way as he went on to win the Pepsi 50 River Days Rumble on Saturday Night at Portsmouth Raceway Park. For Boggs, it was his second career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win as he beat Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN and 17th starting John Blankenship of Williamson, WV to the finish line. He scored $10,000 for the victory.
Boggs was virtually unchallenged the entire distance as he thrilled his home-track fans with the victory in the annual event. The win was Boggs' sixth this year at PRP, where he is a two-time track champion.
"Not bad for a car that has parts about ten years old on it," said the second-generation driver, "we should have won last night, but didn't, but I would have much rather won this one," said Boggs who was leading Friday Night's $7,000 to win event until he lost a wheel.
"The car was fast and to beat Scott (Bloomquist), I don't know what to say, he and my dad (the late Jack Boggs) wouldn't tell each other the truth on race set-ups, but I have shared info with him and I beat him tonight. It feels great," said the 43-year-old racer whose lone career LOLMDS came in 2005 at Charlotte, NC.
"Oh I remember that win at Charlotte, that was special for me, but to win here tonight in front of my fans and to beat the guys that we beat tonight, it's just a compliment for my team, and what happened here a few years ago with the bad wreck, and now to come back and win this race, it's special."
"I have to thank all my sponsors, of course Swartz Race Cars, Trick Shot, Miller Brothers Construction, The Weld Shop, McDonald's, and CMW Racing." Boggs' winning car is powered by a Jay Dickens Racing Engine.
Boggs was challenged early on by Doug Drown and then Jonathan Davenport. Davenport moved into third after starting eighth on lap five and was able to stay close to Boggs on restarts, but Boggs managed to get away each time.
Davenport and 14th starting, Steve Francis of Ashland, KY battled side-by-side for several laps until Francis slowed and headed to the pit area on lap 34. Bloomquist then picked up the challenge for second, finally overhauling Davenport on lap 36.
The final caution of the race came out for defending PRP champion Chris Wilson from Louisa, KY, who showed smoke and slowed with 41 laps complete. The last restart saw Boggs pull away from Bloomquist at the end as he went on to become the 13th different winner in LOLMDS competition in 2012.
Davenport held on for fourth, just ahead of points' leader, Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN in the final rundown.
Completing the top ten were Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL, who came back from a flat tire to finish sixth; Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, WV was seventh; followed by Drown; Jason Montgomery of Jackson, OH; and Tyler Reddick of Corning, CA.

In preliminary action Doug Drown set the Red Buck Cigars Fast Time amongst the 34 entrants, with a lap of 15.083 seconds. Jackie Boggs set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 15.087 seconds. Jackie Boggs, Steve Casebolt, Doug Drown, and Jared Landers won their respective Heat Races. John Blankenship and Rod Conley won their respective B-Mains.
Tomorrow Night, September 2nd, the series will make its first appearance at I-77 Raceway Park in Ripley, WV for Carl Short's 44th Annual "Hillbilly Hundred". The event will feature Red Buck Cigars Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and the $25,000-to-win main event. For more information, log onto www.racei77.com.
For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and be sure to follow the series at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday Night, September 1st, 2012
"Pepsi River Days Rumble 50"
Portsmouth Raceway Park - Portsmouth, OH

1 1 4b Jackie Boggs Grayson, KY
2 5 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
3 17 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
4 8 15d Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA
5 11 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
6 9 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
7 7 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
8 2 63 Doug Drown Wooster, OH
9 19 21m Jason Montgomery Jackson, OH
10 23 11T Tyler Reddick Corning, CA
11 18 71R Rod Conley Wheelersburg, OH
12 12 18w D.J. Wells Wooton, KY
13 15 71 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
14 13 71c RJ Conley Wheelersburg, OH
15 14 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
16 25 17 Chris Wilson Louisa, KY
17 24 53 Ray Cook Brasstown, NC
18 16 57 Ben Adkins West Portsmouth, OH
19 3 c9 Steve Casebolt Richmond, IN
20 20 18e Eric Wells Hazard, KY
21 22 15b Brian Birkhofer Muscatine, IA
22 10 71d Delmas Conley Wheelersburg, OH
23 6 17t Shannon Thornsberry Martin, KY
24 21 1B Nick Bocook Wheelersburg, OH
25 4 5 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
Race Statistics
Entrants: 34
Lap Leaders: Jackie Boggs (Laps 1 - 50)
Caution Flags: Steve Casebolt (Lap 4); Earl Pearson Jr. (Lap 10); Rod Conley, Nick Bocook (Lap 19); Tyler Reddick (Lap 26); Tyler Reddick (Lap 32); Debris (Lap 33); Steve Francis (Lap 34); Chris Wilson (Lap 41)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Tyler Reddick, Ray Cook
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisional: none
Fast Time Provisional: none
Portsmouth Raceway Park Track Provisional: Chris Wilson

First Heat (8 Laps - Top 4 Transfer): Jackie Boggs, Scott Bloomquist, Earl Pearson, Jr., RJ Conley, John Blankenship, Jason Montgomery, Bob Adams, Justin Rattliff, Kirk Phillips-DNS
Second Heat (8 Laps - Top 4 Transfer): Steve Casebolt, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Jimmy Owens, Don O'Neal, Nick Bocook, Chris Wilson, Mark Frazier, Butch Dowdy
Third Heat (8 Laps - Top 4 Transfer): Doug Drown, Shannon Thornsberry, Delmas Conley, Steve Francis, Rod Conley, Kenneth Howell, Tyler Reddick, Kevin Wagner, Ray Cook-DNS
Fourth Heat (8 Laps - Top 4 Transfer): Jared Landers, Jonathan Davenport, D.J. Wells, Ben Adkins, Eric Wells, Brian Birkhofer, Michael Howard, Mick Sansom
First B-Main (10 Laps - Top 3 Transfer): John Blankenship, Jason Montgomery, Nick Bocook, Chris Wilson, Justin Rattliff, Mark Frazier, Butch Dowdy, Bob Adams, Kirk Phillips
Second B-Main (10 Laps - Top 3 Transfer): Rod Conley, Eric Wells, Brian Birkhofer, Ray Cook, Kenneth Howell, Michael Howard, Mick Sansom, Kevin Wagner, Tyler Reddick-DNS

Fast Time Group A: Jackie Boggs / 15.087 seconds
Fast Time Group B: Doug Drown / 15.083 seconds
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.