Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 06/05/20 at 2:11am


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at I-77 Raceway Park - 9/2 Results (Read 3430 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Lucas Oil Series at I-77 Raceway Park - 9/2 Results
09/03/12 at 2:55am
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
I-77 Raceway Park
September 2, 2012

Mike Marlar From Last to First in Winning Hillbilly 100 at I-77 Raceway Park

by James Essex
RIPLEY, WV (September 2, 2012) - Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN stormed from the 24th and last starting position to win the 44th Annual Hillbilly 100 on Sunday Night at I-77 Raceway Park. Marlar, who won the race in 2004, took the lead on lap 77 from Don O'Neal and then pulled away for the $25,000 victory in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned event.
Marlar made the race by a LOLMDS provisional, and did not know he was in the starting line-up until five minutes before the cars rolled out on the race track. "I have to thank the Lord, it wasn't a good day for us, we just found out we were in the race right before the grid rolled out on the race track. We bolted on the softest tire we could per the rules," said Marlar.
O'Neal led the first 76 laps, most of it unchallenged until Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC; Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, IA; and Marlar caught up to O'Neal as O'Neal's car started to get loose.
Marlar's charge to the lead was dramatic as he passed Cook for second on lap 73. Marlar then quickly ran down O'Neal coming off of turn four as 77th lap was scored. Marlar had to wait through two cautions in the final 15 laps to take the victory.
"I have to thank my car owner Norman Bryson and Rocket Chassis; the car was just great, it moved around all over the place, I want thank all of my sponsors for their support."
O'Neal finished second followed by Cook, Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL and Birkhofer.
The remainder of the top ten in the finishing order were: Jared Landers of Batesville, AR; Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN; Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA, track champion, Chris Garnes of Evans, WV; and LOLMDS points' leader Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN.
In preliminary action, Doug Drown set the Red Buck Cigars Fast Time amongst the 52 entrants, with a lap of 14.087 seconds. Ray Cook set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 14.219 seconds. Don O'Neal, Tim Dohm, Ray Cook, and Brian Birkhofer won their respective Heat Races. Doug Drown and Dale McDowell won their respective B-Mains.
Next stop for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will be the USA 100 at Virginia Motor Speedway in Jamaica, VA on September 14th and 15th. For more information, log onto www.vamotorspeedway.com.
For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and be sure to follow the series at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Sunday Night, September 2nd, 2012
44th Annual Hillbilly Hundred
I-77 Raceway Park - Ripley, WV

1 24 5b Mike Marlar Winfield, TN
2 1 71 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
3 2 53 Ray Cook Brasstown, NC
4 8 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
5 4 15b Brian Birkhofer Muscatine, IA
6 19 5 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
7 12 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
8 18 17m Dale McDowell Chickamauga, GA
9 20 42g Chris Garnes Evans, WV
10 10 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
11 13 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
12 16 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
13 14 15d Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA
14 5 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
15 21 37 Jared Hawkins Fairmont, WV
16 22 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
17 3 6T Tim Dohm Charleston, WV
18 15 18e Eric Wells Hazard, KY
19 7 37H Jacob Hawkins Fairmont, WV
20 9 c4 Freddie Carpenter Parkersburg, WV
21 17 63 Doug Drown Wooster, OH
22 11 00h Chuck Harper Beverly, WV
23 6 18 Chris Carpenter Parkersburg, WV
24 23 11T Tyler Reddick Corning, CA

Race Statistics
Entrants: 52
Lap Leaders: Don O'Neal (Laps 1 - 76); Mike Marlar (Laps 77 - 100)
Caution Flags: Freddie Carpenter (Lap 9); Chuck Harper, Dennis Erb Jr. (Lap 11); Tim Dohm, Jimmy Owens, Steve Francis, Jonathan Davenport (Lap 11 Restart); Eric Wells (Lap 44); Freddie Carpenter (Lap 87); Tim Dohm (Lap 90)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Tyler Reddick, Mike Marlar
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisional: none
Fast Time Provisional: none
First Heat (10 Laps - Top 4 Transfer): Don O'Neal, Steve Francis, Freddie Carpenter, John Blankenship, Doug Drown, Jared Hawkins, Steve Shaver, David Gibson, Jr., Marshall Wiblin, Ryan Casto, Dallas Carpenter, Nathan Parker, Rickey Strattis-DNS
Second Heat (10 Laps - Top 4 Transfer): Tim Dohm, Jacob Hawkins, Chuck Harper, Eric Wells, Tyler Reddick, Jared Landers, Frankie Hall, Anthony Huber, Nathan Harrison, Jeff Lilly, Darin Roush, Robbie Jewell, Mick Sansom
Third Heat (10 Laps - Top 4 Transfer): Ray Cook, Chris Carpenter, Jimmy Owens, Jonathan Davenport, Kenny Newhouse, Travis Brookover, Freddy Smith, Mike Marlar, Dennis Erb, Jr., Chris Meadows, Brock Morris, Nelson Freshour, Randy Armes
Fourth Heat (10 Laps - Top 4 Transfer): Brian Birkhofer, Earl Pearson, Jr., Scott Bloomquist, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Dale McDowell, Zack Dohm, Chris Garnes, Rick Williams, Scott James, Harold Redman, Jr., David Brown, Eric Monk, Scott Peltz-DNS

First B-Main (12 Laps - Top 3 Transfer): Doug Drown, Jared Landers, Jared Hawkins, Steve Shaver, Tyler Reddick, Frankie Hall, Anthony Huber, Nathan Harrison, Dallas Carpenter, Ryan Casto, Jeff Lilly, Marshall Wiblin, Darin Roush, Nathan Parker, Robbie Jewell, Rickey Strattis, David Gibson, Jr.-DNS, Mick Sansom-DNS
Second B-Main (12 Laps - Top 3 Transfer): Dale McDowell, Chris Garnes, Dennis Erb, Jr., Zack Dohm, Freddy Smith, Kenny Newhouse, Rick Williams, Scott James , Mike Marlar, Travis Brookover, David Brown, Chris Meadows, Nelson Freshour, Brock Morris, Eric Monk, Harold Redman, Jr., Randy Armes, Scott Peltz-DNS

Fast Time Group A: Doug Drown / 14.087 seconds
Fast Time Group B: Ray Cook / 14.219 seconds
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.