Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 11/29/22 at 11:11am


Pages: 1
CCSDS at Northeast Arkansas Speedway - 9/8 Results (Read 1733 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
CCSDS at Northeast Arkansas Speedway - 9/8 Results
09/10/12 at 8:48pm
COMP Cams Super Dirt Series
Northeast Arkansas Speedway
September 8, 2012

Jack Sullivan Wins Thriller in CCSDS Action at NEA Speedway

HARRISBURG, Arkansas (09/08/12) After seeing the first night of the 2nd Annual Rockabilly 45 at Northeast Arkansas Speedway nixed by rain the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) Super Late Model tour hosted the second round on Saturday evening, and it was Jack Sullivan, who claimed the $3,000 prize in a thrilling feature event.

After seeing almost two inches of rain dumped on the facility on Friday night, Northeast Arkansas Speedway officials worked diligently all day Saturday to get the track ready for Saturday night's big event. Their hard work would result in a smooth race track, and one of the most exciting features in the history of the tour as seven drivers took a turn at the front of the field.

Via heat race action Todd Hall from Charleston, Missouri earned the Pole Award for the 45 lap finale. He was joined on the front row by CCSDS point's leader, Jon Mitchell. Hall paced the opening circuit before Mitchell shot to the lead on lap 2. As Mitchell led the way fifth starting Robert Baker found his way into second and set his sights on the leader. Lap 9 found Baker moving to the lead, but on lap 10 the leaders caught the tail of the field and bad luck would strike. As Baker and Mitchell looked to navigate the slower car of Kenneth Jackson the lead duo made contact causing both to spin to draw the caution. Both drivers rejoined the tail of the field as Wendell Wallace inherited the lead.

Wallace's stint at the front would last until lap 15, when Kyle Beard bolted to the lead. Beard would take control of the lead for the next several laps, while great two and three-wide battles waged throughout the field.

As the race approached the closing laps of the 45 lap affair it appeared that Beard was on his way to his first series' triumph of the season, but bad luck would intervene on lap 41 as he slowed with a flat, right-rear tire. After drawing a caution he ducked into the pits before rejoining the tail of the field for the final four laps of the event. With Beard at the tail of the field, Tanner English inherited the lead, but would lead just one lap before eighth-starting, Jack Sullivan jumped to the lead on lap 43.

Not even a last lap caution could slow Sullivan as he went on to claim the win over Tanner English, Brandon Smith, Wendell Wallace, and Jon Kirby. The victory marked Sullivan's second straight victory with the tour.

Heat Race #1 was won by Jon Mitchell with Tony Jackson Jr. winning Heat Race #2. Heat Race #3 was claimed by Todd Hall, while Wendell Wallace won Heat Race #4.

Jack Sullivan claimed the Hard Charger Award for advancing from his eighth starting spot to claim the win.

Kyle Beard received the Hard Luck Award after seeing a flat tire with just four laps remaining end his chances at the win.

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series September 8th, 2012
2nd Annual Rockabilly 45
Northeast Arkansas Speedway (Harrisburg, AR)

Feature Results
1. Jack Sullivan (Greenbrier, Arkansas)
2. Tanner English (Benton, Kentucky)
3. Brandon Smith (Floral, Arkansas)
4. Wendell Wallace (Batesville, Arkansas)
5. Jon Kirby (Russellville, Arkansas)
6. Todd Hall (Charleston, Missouri)
7. Kyle Beard (Trumann, Arkansas)
8. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, Missouri)
9. Jamie Dacus (Lakeland, Tennessee)
10. Chandler Petty (Austin, Arkansas)
11. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, Texas)
12. Jerry Buck (Paragould, Arkansas)
13. Tommy Surrett (North Little Rock, Arkansas)
14. Tony Jackson Jr. (Lebanon, Missouri)
15. Dane Dacus (Lakeland, Tennessee)
16. Kenneth Jackson (Beebe, Arkansas)
17. Jeff Floyd (Walnut Ridge, Arkansas)
18. Allen Murray (San Antonio, Texas)
19. Gary Christian (Broken Bow, Oklahoma)
20. Robert Baker (Bryant, Arkansas)

DNS: Dale Armstrong, Thomas Dacus, Robert Lovette, Mark Stephens, Jon Stinson, Ashley Newman, Gary Beard, Jeremy Emmons, Mike McNay, Shawn Knuckles

Entries: 30
Leaders: Todd Hall (1), Jon Mitchell (2-8), Robert Baker (9-10), Wendell Wallace (11-14), Kyle Beard (15-41), Tanner English (42), Jack Sullivan (43-45)
Cautions: 5
Red Flags: 0

The tour will return to action on Saturday, September 22nd with a $2,000-to-win event at I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, Arkansas). The event, which will be the final event of the RiceTec/RiceSelect Summer Series will mark the third and final appearance for the tour at the 1/4 mile oval in 2012. Billy Moyer and Wendell Wallace have split CCSDS victories at the facility this year. For more information on the event please visit www.I-30Speedway.com .

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series, please visit www.COMPDirt.com .
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.