Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 08/11/20 at 3:35am


Pages: 1
Carolina Clash at Lancaster Speedway - 10/6 Results (Read 1117 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Carolina Clash at Lancaster Speedway - 10/6 Results
10/08/12 at 4:53pm
Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series
Lancaster Speedway
October 6, 2012

Jeff Smith Inches Closer to Point Lead With Win at Lancaster Motor Speedway
Luke Roffers scores runner-up finish and maintains leads as points race gets even tighter among the top ten; big shuffle among top five

Carolina Clash PR
LANCASTER, SC (October 6) - Occasionally, everything seems to fall into place. In racing, that could not have been truer on a night when the weather could not have been more perfect, the track surface could not have been racier, and the drivers of the Carolina Clash Super Late Model series could not have been more ready to put their skills to the test the Lancaster high-banks.

Yet, when there is as much is at stake in the championship point standings and this late in the season and the top ten are as close as they are, things might get a little dicey.

It definitely did.

Luke Roffers entered the night with an eleven point lead over Ricky Weeks and Dennis Franklin was looking to rebound from rear-end troubles at Wythe Raceway. Johnny Pursley hoped to put his experience at Lancaster to good use. Scott Autry wanted to make the same noise he had made in April's crown jewel race and Lancaster. Doug Sanders had raced at Lancaster since the 1970s. Those may have been the storylines after qualifying, but for Travis Yow, Mike Gault, Wayne Hughes, Michael Marlowe and Jeff Smith, they had another story to write.

So, Dennis Franklin won the pole again, as he has five times this season. Johnny Pursley was second. Luke Roffers and Jeff Smith qualified second, all within a small fraction of a second apart. Thus, this race was setting up to be one for the Lancaster ages. It would be for 15 laps. Then, everything seemed to start falling apart, especially for the leaders. Johnny Pursley had  problems. Scott Autry left the track after racing his way from fifth into the top three, with unexpected problems. Then, all of a sudden, Dennis Franklin fell off the pace, with yet more rear-end problems on the #37C car. Ricky Weeks fell out of the race early along with Dean Bowen, who started 8th and 10th.

So, after a myriad cautions on multiple restarts, Jeff Smith held the lead from that point. Over the next 25 laps, Jeff Smith, Luke Roffers, Mike Gault and Doug Sanders were all locked in top seven battles, which were nothing short of breathtaking. With cars bouncing off of one another and the outside wall, and the attrition rate climbing at an alarming rate, the field was getting shorter and shorter. A few near disastrous spins took out Dustin Mitchell, Thomas Hedgpath and Doug Sanders at halfway.

However, the competition was getting tough up front, midpack, and at the tail of the field, as cars were racing all over the track. There were so many grooves to choose from. However, the track did begin to change after halfway.

Travis Yow proved that determination and a never-say-quit attitude will pay off in the end as his race team battled back from a flat tire to a fifth place finish, his career best finish at Lancaster. Mike Gault and Luke Roffers would get involved in a fierce battle for second, as the two swapped lanes often in the final stages. After Roffers took back second, he set his sights on Smith, who was flawless in the final 10 laps and held off Roffers for the win.

Jeff Smith, after his win, wanted to give credit where credit was due.

"I want to give a lot of the credit for this win to Jim and Daniel Baggerly, who without their allowing me to run this awesome motor, this win would not have been possible. I have to thank them for their awesome support of my race team and to my awesome crew for getting this car ready for tonight."

Smith was followed to the line by Luke Roffers, Mike Gault, Gary Mabe, and Travis Yow. Gault, Mabe and Yow each had season high finishes with Clash. Local Lancaster Speedway track champion Daniel Tucker of Kannapolis, NC finished 6th.

Race #4 of the Roush Yates Performance Products Chase for the Championship will resume at Fayetteville Motor Speedway on Saturday, October 20, 2012, with support divisions. The annual "Clash Bash" will decide the 2012 point champion at 311 Motor Speedway in Pine Hall, NC on October 27, 2012. These final two races will offer fans plenty of excitement as the 11 championship contenders will again attempt to gain in the points.

The 2012 Rookie of the Year race is tight as ever between Michael Marlowe and Wayne Hughes. Entering the Lancaster event, Marlowe held a slim 1 point margin for the honor. Marlowe will go to Fayetteville with a three point lead over Hughes.

Unofficial Results for Lancaster Motor Speedway
Jeff Smith
Luke Roffers
Mike Gault
Gary Mabe (Hard Charger)
Travis Yow
Daniel Tucker
Michael Marlowe (holds ROY points lead)
Mike Parker
Wayne Hughes
Billy Workman, Jr.
Kyle Pierce
Tim Allen
Doug Sanders
Dustin Mitchell
Thomas Hedgpath
Dennis Franklin
Scott Autry
Ricky Weeks
Dean Bowen
Johnny Pursley
Justin Labonte
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.