Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 06/05/20 at 4:50am


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Brownstown Speedway - 3/23 Results (Read 4921 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Brownstown Speedway - 3/23 Results
03/23/13 at 10:04pm
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Brownstown Speedway
March 23, 2013

Erb is Superb in Winning Indiana Icebreaker at Brownstown Speedway

by James Essex
BROWNSTOWN, IN (March 23) - Dennis Erb, Jr. came from the eighth starting spot to win the 16th Annual Indiana Icebreaker sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on Saturday Night at Brownstown Speedway. Erb, took the lead on lap six from Josh McGuire and went unchallenged the rest of the way for the $10,000 victory.
Erb's fifth career LOLMDS win tonight was also his first series win outside of East Bay Raceway Park in Florida. Don O'Neal finished second, followed by Greg Johnson, Jared Landers, and Bobby Pierce.
"The car was amazing all night; we didn't change much at all! This was probably the best car I have had here at Brownstown. In the feature, the track was racy from top to bottom. We started on the outside of the fourth row and the top was great, so that's where I stayed and it didn't take us long to get to the front," said Erb, who earned his fourth career win at the South-Central Indiana track.
"The car was good all week at East Bay last month, if not for a few blown tires, we would have won the points, but we had a good night tonight and we want to stay with the series all year, if we can find some more funding then that's what we will do," said the 40-year-old Erb.

Once Erb was in front there was no catching him. The only caution of the race came out with 20 laps complete, but on the restart, Erb pulled away from his nearest competitors. "I have to thank Bloomquist Race Cars, Kuntz and Company, J&L Scrap Metals and McBride Leasing, and of course my Crew Chief, Heather Lyne."
Completing the top ten were Darrell Lanigan; Mike Marlar; John Blankenship; Jimmy Owens; and Josh Richards.
In preliminary action, Bobby Pierce set the overall fastest time (Group A) amongst the 37 entrants, with a lap of 14.798 seconds. Jared Landers set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 15.046 seconds. Bobby Pierce, Steve Francis, Josh McGuire, and Brandon Sheppard won their respective Heat Races. Jimmy Owens and Mike Marlar won their respective B-Mains.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday Night, March 23rd, 2013
Indiana Icebreaker - Brownstown Speedway - Brownstown, IN
1 28 Dennis Erb Jr Carpentersville, IL
2 71 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
3 15j Greg Johnson Bedford, IN
4 5 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
5 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL
6 29 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY
7 5b Mike Marlar Winfield, TN
8 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
9 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
10 1 Josh Richards Shinnston, WV
11 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
12 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
13 28 Eddie Carrier Jr Salt Rock, WV
14 44 Earl Pearson Jr Jacksonville, FL
15 360 Michael Asberry Crossville, TN
16 b5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL
17 21jr Billy Moyer Jr Batesville, AR
18 41 Josh McGuire Ashland, KY
19 5h Jeremy Hines Seymour, IN
20 32 Chad Stapleton Edinburgh, IN
21 1b Jeff Babcock Wayne, OH
22 6J Joe Janowski Carmel, IN
23 7L Jerry Lierly Camp Point, IL
24 77 Jason McBride Carbondale, IL
25 11 Austin Hubbard Seaford, DE
26 97 Michael Chilton Salvisa, KY
27 46 Tim Rivers Salem, IN

Entrants: 37
Lap Leaders: Josh McGuire (Laps 1 - 5); Dennis Erb Jr. (Laps 6 - 50)
Caution Flags: Michael Asberry (Lap 20)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Austin Hubbard, Jeff Babcock (Fast Time)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: Billy Moyer Jr., Jerry Lierly
Time of Race: 16 minutes 46 seconds

Heat #1 (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Bobby Pierce, Don O'Neal, Darrell Lanigan, Scott Bloomquist, Chad Stapleton, Jimmy Owens, Kent Robinson, Jeremy Hines, Aaron Ridley, Tim Prince-NR
Heat #2 (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Steve Francis, Greg Johnson, Michael Asberry, Jason McBride, Michael Chilton, Jeff Babcock, Jerry Lierly, Justin Rattliff, Austin Hubbard
Heat #3 (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Josh McGuire, Earl Pearson Jr., Jared Landers, Eddie Carrier Jr., Billy Moyer Jr., Josh Richards, Tim Rivers, Tim Tungate, Tyler Allen

Heat #4 (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Brandon Sheppard, Dennis Erb Jr., Joe Janowski, John Blankenship, Mike Marlar, Devin Gilpin, Mike Benedum, Marty O'Neal, Greg Kendall

B-Main #1 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Chad Stapleton, Michael Chilton, Jeff Babcock, Justin Rattliff, Kent Robinson, Austin Hubbard, Jerry Lierly, Jeremy Hines, Aaron Ridley, Tim Prince-DNS

B-Main #2 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Mike Marlar, Josh Richards, Tim Rivers, Billy Moyer Jr., Devin Gilpin, Tyler Allen, Tim Tungate, Mike Benedum, Marty O'Neal, Greg Kendall

Fast Time Group A: Bobby Pierce / 14.798 seconds
Fast Time Group B: Jared Landers / 15.046 seconds

Event Photos courtesy of Mike Ruefer


The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will return to action on Friday, April 6th, with the Southern 50 at Jackson Motor Speedway in Jackson, MS. The following night, Saturday, April 7th, the series makes its way to Lonestar Speedway in Kilgore, TX for the annual High Banks Havoc. Both events will pay $10,000-to-win, and will include RED BUCK Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and 50-Lap main events. For more information, log onto www.jacksonmotorspeedway.com  and www.lonestarspeedway.com .

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt  and www.twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt .
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.