Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 11/29/22 at 10:52am


Pages: 1
CCSDS at I-30 Speedway - 4/20 Results (Read 3211 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
CCSDS at I-30 Speedway - 4/20 Results
04/20/13 at 11:02pm
COMP Cams Super Dirt Series
I-30 Speedway
April 20, 2013

Timothy Culp Conquers COMP Cams Super Dirt Series Opener at I-30 Speedway

by Ben Shelton
LITTLE ROCK, Arkansas (04/20/13) – After three failed attempts to get their season underway, courtesy of Mother Nature, the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) Super Late Models finally opened their 2013 campaign on Saturday night at I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, Arkansas), and it was Timothy Culp who claimed the win.

Twenty-six Super Late Models from four states entered the program which saw the winner’s purse increased from $2,000-to-win to $2,500-to-win courtesy of Central Arkansas Pest Services. An additional $750 was added to the top five for the feature event courtesy of I-30 Speedway and the CCSDS.

After advancing from the third spot to win his heat race Ashley Newman received the $100 bonus for being the Pole Qualifier for the feature with Timothy Culp joining him on the front row. When the green flag flew on the feature Newman shot to the lead with his teammate, Kyle Beard, in tow as well as Culp, Jack Sullivan, and Chandler Petty.

During the early stages of the feature Newman hugged the hub, while Beard applied heavy pressure to the leader. By lap 13 the leaders had caught the back markers in the caution free event, and Culp took advantage of traffic to slip past Beard on lap 15 for second. One lap later Culp used a strong run on the bottom exiting turn two to take the lead from Newman.

Beard would also quickly work his way past Newman for the second spot as he set his sights on the leader Culp. For the final twenty laps the duo waged war through lap traffic with Culp on the hub and Beard on the cushion. While Culp held Beard at bay Newman ran third with ninth starting, Robert Baker moving into fourth, as fifteenth starter Wendell Wallace made his way into the top five late in the race.

In the closing laps Culp inched away from the beard to claim the $2,500 victory with Beard, Newman, Baker, and Wallace rounding out the top five at the checkered flag.

The Hard Charger $100 bonus was claimed by Wendell Wallace for passing ten cars on his way to a fifth place finish, while Tommy Surrett was awarded the Hard Luck Award after an engine failure in hot laps forced the North Little Rock, Arkansas competitor to scratch from the balance of the program.

Heat race action saw Ashley Newman charge from the third spot to take the win in GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 with Jack Sullivan winning the Heat Race #2. Heat Race #3 was topped by Chandler Petty, while Timothy Culp won Heat Race #4.

The twin B-Mains were topped by Wendell Wallace and Brandon Smith.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series next returns to action on Friday, May 3rd at the brand new, Timberline Speedway (Corley, Texas) with a $2,000-to-win before moving to Ark-La-Tex Speedway (Vivian, Louisiana) on Saturday, May 4th for another $2,000-to-win program. For more information on the events, please visit www.TimberlineSpeedway.com and www.ArkLaTexSpeedway.com .

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series, please visit www.COMPDirt.com .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – April 20th, 2013
I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, Arkansas
Feature Results
1. Timothy Culp (West Monroe, Louisiana)
2. Kyle Beard (Trumann, Arkansas)
3. Ashley Newman (Ripley, Tennessee)
4. Robert Baker (Bryant, Arkansas)
5. Wendell Wallace (Batesville, Arkansas)
6. Billy Moyer (Batesville, Arkansas)
7. Jack Sullivan (Greenbrier, Arkansas)
8. Larry Campbell (Van Buren, Arkansas)
9. Chandler Petty (Austin, Arkansas)
10. Jon Kirby (Russellville, Arkansas)
11. Keith Craft (Arkadelpha, Arkansas)
12. Clay Fisher (Dewitt, Arkansas)
13. Brandon Smith (Floral, Arkansas)
14. Allen Murray (San Antonio, Texas)
15. Shane Harris (Sheridan, Arkansas)
16. Keith Lawson (Houston, Arkansas)
17. Lynn Beach (Hensley, Arkansas)
18. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, Texas)
19. Ross Camponovo (Clarksdale, Mississippi)
20. Joseph Long (Bryant, Arkansas)

DNS: Drew Armstrong, Travis Mosley, Jake Davis, Tommy Surrett, Odie Green, TJ Hughes

Entries: 26 from four states (Arkansas, Mississippi, Texas, Louisiana)
Heat Race #1 Winner: Ashley Newman
Heat Race #2 Winner: Jack Sullivan
Heat Race #3 Winner: Chandler Petty
Heat Race #4 Winner: Timothy Culp
B-Main Winners: Wendell Wallace, Brandon Smith
Pole Sitter: Ashley Newman
Hard Luck Award: Tommy Surrett
Hard Charger: Wendell Wallace (15th-5th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Timothy Culp
Leaders: Ashley Newman (1-15), Timothy Culp (16-35)
Cautions: 0
Red Flag: 0

Event Photos courtesy of Woody Hampton

Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.