Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 11/14/19 at 2:18am


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Cherokee Speedway - 6/21 Results (Read 2909 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14878
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Cherokee Speedway - 6/21 Results
06/21/13 at 10:04pm
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Cherokee Speedway
June 21, 2013

Chris Madden Makes Haste, Defends Home Track, Wins Cherokee

by James Essex
GAFFNEY, SC (June 21) - Hometown driver Chris Madden led all the way on Friday night to win the Grassy Smith Memorial at Cherokee Speedway. Madden took home $10,000 for his third career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory. Madden had tough competition early from Brent Dixon and Chris Ferguson until those two drivers experienced problems. The defending race winner, Steve Francis finished second followed by Dennis Erb Jr., Don O'Neal, and Dale McDowell.
"It feels great to win here at Cherokee, it has been a while. The car was super tonight, we had a few problems there in traffic, but overall, after that last caution, I could drive it anywhere on the track. I have a lot of friends here tonight. My wife and kids left for vacation, I will join them tomorrow," said the winner afterwards.
Madden battled with Ferguson and Dixon for the first several circuits. Dixon got by Ferguson on lap 16 and then pursued Madden for the lead. Dixon and Ferguson were able to stay close to Madden as the race for the lead began to heat up as the trio got into lapped traffic.
Dixon nearly took the lead from Madden before a caution came out as the two split a lapped car. Madden then slipped in turn two drifting up the track on the restart and again Dixon nearly gained the lead. Dixon held second until three laps remained when he slowed suddenly bringing out the final caution of the race.
Madden then cruised on for the victory after Dixon was through for the night. "I have to thank Clements Racing Engines, Bloomquist Race Cars, Hamrick's of Gaffney, Henderson Amusement, KC Transport and all of my other great sponsors for making this possible, the track was real good tonight it had two distinct grooves and I hope the fans enjoyed the show."
Francis and Erb, who battled for fourth and fifth for most of the last half of the race, were the beneficiaries after Dixon left the race, but neither driver had anything for Madden in the final laps. Last year's Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Rookie of the Year, Jonathan Davenport was running third when he lost his fuel cell on lap 42 bringing out a red flag.
Completing the top ten were Jared Landers, Earl Pearson Jr., John Blankenship, Jimmy Owens and Chris Ferguson.

In preliminary action, Steve Shaver set the overall time (Group A) amongst the 27 entrants, with a lap of 15.021 seconds. Casey Roberts set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 15.073 seconds. Chris Madden, Chris Ferguson, and Brent Dixon won their respective heat races. Tim Allen won the B-Main.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday Night, June 21st, 2013
15th Annual "Grassy Smith Memorial"
Cherokee Speedway - Gaffney, SC

1 1 44m Chris Madden Gaffney, SC
2 8 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
3 9 28e Dennis Erb Jr. Carpentersville, IL
4 5 71 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
5 10 17m Dale McDowell Chickamauga, GA
6 18 5 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
7 7 44 Earl Pearson Jr. Jacksonville, FL
8 15 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
9 23 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
10 2 21 Chris Ferguson Mount Holly, NC
11 11 28 Eddie Carrier Jr. Salt Rock, WV
12 13 8 Craig Vosbergen Western Australia
13 16 21JR Billy Moyer Jr. Batesville, AR
14 14 1w Ricky Weeks Rutherfordton, NC
15 19 17 Tim Allen Kannapolis, NC
16 24 7L Jerry Lierly Camp Point, IL
17 3 1d Brent Dixon Elberton, GA
18 12 49 Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA
19 22 41 Ty Dillon Lexington, NC
20 4 2 Dennis Franklin Gaffney, SC
21 20 6s Steve Shaver Vienna, WV
22 21 70 Jeff Smith Gastonia, NC
23 17 9 Johnny Pursley Clover, SC
24 6 101 Casey Roberts Toccoa, GA

Race Statistics
Entrants: 27
Lap Leaders: Chris Madden (Laps 1 - 50)
Caution Flags: Dennis Franklin (Lap 15); Ty Dillon (Lap 41); Debris (Laps 42); Brent Dixon (Lap 47)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Jimmy Owens, Jerry Lierly
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: none

Heat #1 (10 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Chris Madden, Dennis Franklin, Earl Pearson Jr., Dale McDowell, Craig Vosbergen, Billy Moyer Jr., Tim Allen, Kevin Wilson, Steve Shaver

Heat #2: Chris Ferguson, Don O'Neal, Steve Francis, Eddie Carrier Jr., Ricky Weeks, Johnny Pursley, Jimmy Owens, Jerry Lierly, Joe Ramey
Heat #3: Brent Dixon, Casey Roberts, Dennis Erb Jr., Jonathan Davenport, John Blankenship, Jared Landers, Zack Mitchell, Ty Dillon, Jeff Smith

B-Main #1 (12 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Tim Allen, Steve Shaver, Jeff Smith, Ty Dillon, Kevin Wilson, Joe Ramey, Jimmy Owens-DNS, Jerry Lierly-DNS, Zack Mitchell-DNS

Fast Time Group A: Steve Shaver / 15.021 seconds
Fast Time Group B: Casey Roberts / 15.073 seconds

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will round out the weekend in the Blue Ridge Mountains at Wythe Raceway in Rural Retreat, VA on Saturday, June 22nd. The event will feature RED BUCK Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and the 50-Lap $10,000-to-win "Blue Ridge 50". For more information, visit www.wytheraceway.com.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.