Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 07/03/20 at 1:02pm


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Hamilton County Speedway - 7/17 Results (Read 4419 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Hamilton County Speedway - 7/17 Results
07/18/13 at 12:16am
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Hamilton County Speedway
July 17, 2013

Jason Feger Wins First Career Lucas Oil Late Model Event at Hamilton County

by James Essex
WEBSTER CITY, IA (July 17) - In his inaugural appearance at the historic Hamilton County Speedway, Jason Feger wins his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event. In front of a capacity crowd, Feger cruised to the victory after passing Steve Francis on lap 15 and pulled away in the final laps to become this season's 14th different winner on the LOLMDS tour. Francis finished second, followed by Earl Pearson Jr., Don O'Neal, and Brian Birkhofer.
"It feels great to finally get a Lucas Oil Series win. We have won in a lot of different series, but to get this one is really special. To beat such a talented field of drivers like Francis, [Don] O'Neal, [Billy] Moyer, and [Scott] Bloomquist, we couldn't ask for a better night as a team.  After having a little bad luck recently, we were due for a good finish. We have been getting on each other's nerves recently, but the crew has worked their tails off, and this win should take the pressure off of us," stated Feger in Lucas Oil Victory Lane.
"When I saw them watering the topside of the track before the feature, I was really salivating at the chance to run up there!  The car was fast all night, starting from the time we unloaded it. I had confidence that we could get to the front early and stay there. Steve [Francis] and I diced through traffic, I tried a couple of different lines, and was finally able to get by him on the outside," continued a jubilant Feger. He is driver of the Cheap Cars, Box Seat Productions, Rhyne Competition Engines, Bob Pierce Race Cars entry.

Francis was at the helm of the Bowyer Dirt Motorsports, Georgia Boot-sponsored Barry Wright Race Cars #15. He scored his second runner-up finish in a row and narrowed the series points lead to a mere 20 points behind John Blankenship. "Congratulations to Jason on the win! I was hoping the track would stay racy all night. The first part of the race we could run anywhere on the track, then it started taking some rubber, and we couldn't make up any ground on Feger after that. Thanks to everyone on both Bowyer Dirt Motorsports teams for working so well together," stated Francis.
Earl Pearson Jr. finished a solid third place finish on Wednesday Night. His Longhorn Chassis Chevrolet is owned by Bobby Labonte Racing, and is sponsored by Lucas Oil Products and MAVTV American Real. "We got here late tonight, but we were able to set fast time in Group A and win our heat. The car was strong for the entire night. Feger and Francis had a good race in front of me and we were just a tick off from them, but we will certainly take this finish and head to Nebraska!"
Completing the top ten were Scott Bloomquist, Chad Simpson, John Blankenship, Jimmy Owens, and Billy Moyer.

In preliminary action, Steve Francis set the overall fast time (Group B) amongst the 29 entrants, with a lap of 19.459 seconds. Earl Pearson Jr. set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 19.655 seconds. Earl Pearson Jr., Brian Birkhofer, Steve Francis, and Jason Feger won their respective heat races. Wendell Wallace won the B-Main.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Tuesday Night, July 17th, 2013
Hamilton County Speedway - Webster City, IA

1 4 25F Jason Feger Bloomington, IL
2 2 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
3 1 44 Earl Pearson Jr. Jacksonville, FL
4 6 71 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
5 3 15b Brian Birkhofer Muscatine, IA
6 12 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
7 10 25c Chad Simpson Mt. Vernon, IA
8 16 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
9 8 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
10 7 21 Billy Moyer Batesville, AR
11 9 32x Chris Simpson Oxford, IA
12 11 28 Eddie Carrier Jr. Salt Rock, WV
13 21 28e Dennis Erb Jr. Carpentersville, IL
14 15 21JR Billy Moyer Jr. Batesville, AR
15 24 8 Craig Vosbergen Western Australia
16 23 7L Jerry Lierly Camp Point, IL
17 5 5 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
18 14 1x Jack Sullivan Greenbrier, AR
19 18 85d Mark Dotson Cameron, MO
20 22 2 Tommy Weder Woodward, OK
21 19 19R Ryan Gustin Marshalltown, IA
22 13 11T Tyler Reddick Corning, CA
23 17 6m Wendell Wallace Batesville, AR
24 20 50 Denny Eckrich Tiffin, IA

Race Statistics
Entrants: 29
Lap Leaders: Steve Francis (Laps 16 - 50)
Caution Flags: Jack Sullivan (Lap 28); Jared Landers (Lap 30)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Jerry Lierly; Craig Vosbergen
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: none
RED BUCK Fast Time Provisionals: none

Heat Race #1 (8 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Earl Pearson Jr., Jared Landers, Chris Simpson, Tyler Reddick, Mark Dotson, Rick Wendling, Jerry Lierly, Jimmy Mars

Heat Race #2 (8 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Brian Birkhofer, Billy Moyer, Eddie Carrier Jr., Billy Moyer Jr., Denny Eckrich, Spencer Diercks, Curt Schroeder

Heat Race #3 (8 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Steve Francis, Don O'Neal, Chad Simpson, Jack Sullivan, Wendell Wallace, Craig Vosbergen, Tommy Weder

Heat Race #4 (8 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jason Feger, Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, John Blankenship, Dennis Erb Jr., Ryan Gustin, Kevin Sather

B-Main #1 (10 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Wendell Wallace, Mark Dotson, Ryan Gustin, Denny Eckrich, Dennis Erb Jr., Tommy Weder, Jerry Lierly, Craig Vosbergen, Kevin Sather, Spencer Diercks, Rick Wendling, Curt Schroeder, Jimmy Mars-DNS

Fast Time Group A: Earl Pearson Jr./ 19.655 seconds
Fast Time Group B: Steve Francis/ 19.459 seconds

Event Photos courtesy of Lloyd Collins

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will round out its July Midwest swing with the Silver Dollar Nationals at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, NE. The event will include a practice session on Thursday, July 18. There will be two rounds of heats on Friday night, July 19. Capping off the trip to I-80 on Saturday, July 20, there will be B-Mains and the 80-lap main event. For more information, visitwww.i-80speedway.com 
For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log ontowww.lucasdirt.com and follow the series onwww.facebook.com/lucasdirt andwww.twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.