Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 07/09/20 at 3:48pm


Pages: 1
Carolina Clash at Cherokee Speedway - 8/3 Results (Read 1127 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Carolina Clash at Cherokee Speedway - 8/3 Results
08/04/13 at 5:12pm
Carolina Clash Super Late Models
Cherokee Speedway
August 3, 2013

Dennis Franklin Now a Five Time Winner of the Stick Elliott Memorial Race at Cherokee Speedway

by Mark Huey
GAFFNEY, SC (August 3) - Dennis Franklin captured the checkered-flag in the 29th Annual Stick Elliott Memorial Race at Cherokee Speedway. Rambo held off hard charging Zack Mitchell in the final 10 laps to capture his fourth victory of the season with Clash. Mitchell came on strong during the middle of the 40 lap event, with Brent Dixon, Johnny Pursley, Tim Allen, Ricky Weeks and Chris Blackwell racing hard from third on back.

Franklin captured the Roush Yates Performance Products Fast Time award and led every lap en route to victory. Mitchell was fast approaching the leader as they caught up on lapped traffic with 33 laps completed. A late caution halted Mitchell's momentum and set up a single-file restart. Mitchell stayed within three car lengths of Franklin, but never could mount a challenge in the final laps. Brent Dixon ran second during the early stages of the race as he faded to fifth around halfway. Dixon maneuvered back past Pursley and set up his top three finish.

Mitchell and crew were elated to have such a great run and were very excited in the post race ceremonies, which took place on the frontstretch at Cherokee in an "old school" post race interview of the top three finishers.

“We blew that tire as we were coming under the flag stand on the final lap, but we had a decent car. We are excited to have finished where we did. It was a tough race,” Dixon commented after the event.

Mitchell went on to say what a relief it is to finally complete an event with no major problems.

“This has been the worst year for us with little stuff breaking to cause us to fall out of races – this really is a big moral victory for my team. We really thought we could have had something at the end, but that’s how it goes. This race team just kept working hard and we finally had a good run. I am so proud of all of them.”

Franklin was very complementary of the large crowd on hand, after winning at Cherokee Speedway, a track where he cut his
racing teeth.

“It really is awesome to see a big crowd like this at Cherokee. I want to thank each and every fan who was here tonight to honor Stick Elliott. It really means a lot to me to win this race again. He was truly an icon to dirt racing in this area and this team and my crew are the best – M&W Towing, AES, all the boys who work on this thing to get it ready are the reason for our success. I just can’t say enough about Barry Wright Race Cars and Clements power. That is a new engine in there and it is awesome! Now I am ready for a little vacation!”

Dixon finished the race with a flat right rear tire, which blew out as his Swiftco - Jacky Jones Automotive ‪#‎1D‬ car came across the finish line.

Ross Bailes experienced an oil-line failure in the hot laps but was able to make repairs and return for qualifying. Ricky Weeks and Tim Allen came across the finish line side-by-side for a photo finish, with Tim Allen being scored as fifth and Weeks sixth according to the transponder scoring. Weeks raced very hard with Pursley, Allen, and Chris Blackwell all during the race.

John Pursley was the Safety-Kleen Hard Charger of the Race winner, advancing four spots to collect the one-point bonus. He finished eleventh.

The battle for the 2013 Rookie of the Year got a little tighter as Damon Kotke experienced engine troubles in the hot laps and did not qualify. He would start the feature and be credited for finsihing 18th. Kyle Pierce did gain five points on Kotke, but not after he was involved in a crash on the frontstretch in the late stages of the race and finished 13th. Kotke currently holds a 29 point lead in the race for 2013 Rookie of the Year. Scott Shirey continues to gain progress on his super late model efforts having placed 8th. Mike Gault finished 9th and Ross Bailes faded late in the event to finish 10th.

The 29th annual Stick Elliott Memorial race was the fifth win in this prestigious event for Dennis Franklin and the second win with Carolina Clash for Team AES Racing at Cherokee and sixth for the year overall.

The next stop on the 2013 season will be at Carolina Speedway in Gastonia, NC for the 41st Annual Gaston Shrine Club “Shrine 100” race, which will be on Tuesday night, August 13, 2013.

Dennis Franklin increased his regular season points lead over Johnny Pursley and Ricky Weeks. The point format will reset at the conclusion of the regular season, just two races away, when the tour swings back to eastern North Carolina to Fayetteville Motor Speedway, where Franklin won in June.

The Carolina Clash wants to thank Mr. Ronnie Buff and Mr. Lennie Buff of Cherokee Speedway for providing an outstanding track to compete on this weekend and look forward to the return to Cherokee on Sunday, September 1, 2013.

1. Dennis Franklin
2. Zack Mitchell
3. Brent Dixon
4. Johnny Pursley
5. Tim Allen
6. Ricky Weeks
7. Chris Blackwell
8. Scott Shirey
9. Mike Gault
10. Ross Bailes
11. John Pursley
12. Anthony Sanders
13. Kyle Pierce
14. Brian Ledbetter
15. Frank Coates
16. Michael Marlowe
17. Chip Brindle
18. Damon Kotke

There are currently 12 drivers who are eligible for the Roush Yates Performance Products Championship Chase as the season enters the final two races in the regular point contention.

2013 Point Standings After Cherokee – August 3, 2013
Dennis Franklin 305
Johnny Pursley 293
Ricky Weeks 285
Tim Allen 272
Ross Bailes 256
Mike Gault 246
Damon Kotke - R 230
Michael Marlowe 227
John Pursley 217
Luke Roffers 207
Kyle Pierce - R 201
Dustin Mitchell 183

Tuesday, August 13, 2013 - 41st Annual Gaston Shrine Club Benefit Race at Carolina Speedway
- Gastonia, NC
Saturday, August 17, 2013 – Fayetteville Motor Speedway (Regular Season Points Finale)
- Fayetteville, NC
Saturday, August 24, 2013 – Lancaster Super Speedway (Roush Yates Championship – Round 1)
- Lancaster, SC
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.