Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 08/06/20 at 1:11am


Pages: 1
Carolina Clash at Carolina Speedway - 8/14 Results (Read 1420 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Carolina Clash at Carolina Speedway - 8/14 Results
08/14/13 at 11:14pm
August 14, 2013

Dennis Franklin Wins Fourth Shrine 100 at Carolina Speedway
Franklin Holds off Early Charge from Johnny Pursley for $3,000 Win

by Mark Huey
GASTONIA, NC (August 14) - Same date - same result - one year later. On August 14, 2013, Dennis Franklin won his fourth Gaston County Shrine 100 in a 30 lap main event where he captured the fastest time in qualifying and a $200 bonus for the Blair Ferguson Memorial Pole Award from the Allison and Chris Ferguson families. The win marked the 27th  all-time Carolina Clash win for the Gaffney, SC driver having led all 30 laps of the feature event from the pole position. Franklin captured the Roush Yates Performance Products Fast Time Award by setting a fast-time of 16.151 seconds around the Carolina's Action Track. He won the 2012 version of this charity event, on August 14, 2012, in an event sponsored by the Gaston Shrine Club of Gastonia, NC, who all total have raised in excess of $2,000,000 since 1922.  
The first lap of the main event saw the field roar down the main straightaway before a caution foiled the action on the opening lap. Kennie Compton, Jr. spun off turn four, backing his Bloomquist Chassis entry into the safety retainer at the entrance of the pit road. Compton was able to continue with minimal damage and finished seventh.
Johnny Pursley entered the night second in series points and qualified third to Mt. Holly, NC Chris Ferguson and Kid Quick Zack Mitchell, who took outside second row honors.
Pursley made the pass on the inside of Ferguson and made serious runs at Franklin amid lapped traffic as the race eclipsed the halfway point. After two cautions for single-car stalls, the race returned to green until five laps to go when Jonathan Edwards slowed in turn four. During the final three laps, Ricky Weeks dusted off the high-side and raced into the sixth place position after running eighth during the latter stages.
Franklin resumed to green and pulled out to a six car-length lead en route to his fourth Shrine 100 win, followed by Johnny Pursley, Chris Ferguson, Zack Mitchell and Tim Allen.
From City Chevrolet Victory Lane, Rambo jumped up on top of his #2 Barry Wright Racecar, sponsored by AES Racing, Nichols Plumbing and M&W Towing.
"I want to thank M&W Towing! They bought the engine for this car and it has been just awesome since we put it in. I mean, it was awesome winning at my home track of Gaffney a few weeks ago and I always love winning in front of this crowd. 
The Shrine 100 is always a great win and a great event and the crowd for this race is always awesome!"
Franklin alluded to what it would take to win his third Carolina Clash title -
"We gotta keep winning. I mean, I told the guys that work on this car - Daddy, Billy, (and many others) - that when we started the season, it was all about winning and the championship would come to us."

Franklin was joined in victory lane by Chris Ferguson and a young family member to present the award for winning the fast time of the race.
The point standings for the regular season enters the final event to set the stage for the Roush-Yates/JE Pistons Chase for the Championship at Fayetteville Motor Speedway this Saturday.
Full Unofficial Results - August 14, 2013 - Carolina Speedway
1. Dennis Franklin
2. Johnny Pursley
3. Chris Ferguson
4. Zach Mitchell
5. Tim Allen
6. Ricky Weeks
7. Kennie Compton, Jr.
8. Anthony Sanders
9. Kyle Pierce
10. Mike Gault
11. Michael Marlowe
12. Brian Ledbetter
13. Damon Kotke
14. Jonathan Davenport
15. Jonathan Edwards
16. Ross Bailes
17. Kenny Rominger, Jr.
18. Luke Roffers
19. John Pursley

The final regular season race of the 2012 point season will be this Saturday, August 17, 2012, at Fayetteville Motor Speedway. It will be the David Hales Allstate Insurance Agency and
This will be run in conjunction with the Back to School Bash with Piedmont Technical College.
Currently, 11 drivers are eligible for the Roush-Yates/JE Pistons Chase for the Championship with the Carolina Clash. All eligible drivers after the Fayetteville race will have their points reset according to the Carolina Clash rules for the chase.

1 Dennis Franklin 341
2 Johnny Pursley 327
3 Ricky Weeks 315
4 Tim Allen 303
5 Ross Bailes 276
6 Mike Gault 272
7 Damon Kotke - R 253
8 Michael Marlowe 252
9 John Pursley 234
10 Kyle Pierce - R 229
11 Luke Roffers 225
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.