Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 06/06/20 at 3:27pm


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Batesville Motor Speedway - 8/18 Results (Read 7583 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Batesville Motor Speedway - 8/18 Results
08/16/13 at 11:00pm
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Batesville Motor Speedway
August 18, 2013

Terry Phillips Captures Biggest Late Model Win in Topless 100 at Batesville

by James Essex
LOCUST GROVE, AR (August 18, 2013) - Terry Phillips captured the biggest win of his Late Model racing career on Sunday Afternoon at Batesville Motor Speedway.  Phillips pocketed $40,000 for winning the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned 21st Annual COMP Cams Topless 100 presented by Crop Production Services.  The event was delayed till today at 1PM after heavy rains saturated the track last night and track officials couldn't get the track to dry out enough to race on.
Terry Phillips, the second-generation Missouri native and son of legendary racer Larry Phillips took the lead on lap 79 from Jimmy Owens after starting 7th. Owens made a last lap charge to try and retake the lead but finished one-car length behind Phillips. Following Phillips and Owens were: Dale McDowell, Chris Madden, and Earl Pearson Jr. who rounded out the top five finishers.
In Lucas Oil Victory Lane, Phillips was elated to win this crown jewel cup event. "Before today, I've led this race with two laps to go and not won it. That time was probably the biggest heartbreak of my career, but to win this today was the biggest win of my career!! I want to say thank you to all my fans and sponsors that were here today! I just love this place!" said the 47-year-old veteran driver.
"I have to thank Andy's Frozen Custard, Don Babb, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Schoenfeld Headers, and all the fans for coming back today.  The car worked so well on the bottom. I also want to thank Roush-Yates Engines and Bloomquist Race Cars for all of their help. It was truly a team win", stated Phillips.

Mike Marlar led the first 30 laps of the race before being passed by Owens.  Owens then held a steady lead, which became increasingly closer as Dale McDowell and Billy Moyer pressured Owens in the middle stages of the race. Phillips reached the third spot on lap 66, and then rocketed to second by lap 78. Just a lap later, he got around Owens for the lead.
Owens led the most laps during the 100-event and finished second to extend his series points lead.  "I was racing for the win," said the 2-time series champion.  "He (Phillips) drove a heck of a race. We bumped a little bit, but that's racing! Congrats to Terry! I want to thank all the fans for coming back today, it was a very good race for daytime! We had an awesome car the whole race, and we just wanted a top five finish, so we are thrilled with this finish!"
In Lucas Oil Victory Lane, McDowell stated: "Our car was good the entire race and we could roll through the turns better than everyone else, it seemed.  I just couldn't clear Jimmy a couple times when I got beside him. Then Terry got by me on that restart and just motored away from all of us there at the end", stated McDowell.

Sixth through tenth in the finishing order were: Jimmy Mars, Don O'Neal, Mike Marlar, Scott Bloomquist, and Steve Francis.
In preliminary action, Mike Marlar set the overall time (Group A) amongst the 55 entrants, with a lap of 13.899 seconds. Billy Moyer set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 14.146 seconds. Mike Marlar, Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, Dale McDowell, Jesse Stovall, and Tyler Reddick won their respective heat races. Don O'Neal, Steve Francis, and David Breazeale won their respective B-Mains.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
COMP Cams Topless 100 presented by Crop Production Services
Batesville Motor Speedway - Batesville, AR

1 7 75 Terry Phillips Springfield, MO
2 3 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
3 2 41 Dale McDowell Chickamauga, GA
4 9 44m Chris Madden Gaffney, SC
5 11 44 Earl Pearson Jr. Jacksonville, FL
6 10 28m Jimmy Mars Menomonie, WI
7 19 71 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
8 1 5b Mike Marlar Winfield, TN
9 5 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
10 20 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
11 12 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
12 22 6r Robbie Stuart DeRidder, LA
13 4 00s Jesse Stovall Billing, MO
14 14 28e Dennis Erb Jr. Carpentersville, IL
15 17 71w Chris Wall Springfield, LA
16 13 21JR Billy Moyer Jr. Batesville, AR
17 23 115 Brandon Smith Floral, AR
18 25 28 Eddie Carrier Jr. Salt Rock, WV
19 18 86 Kyle Beard Trumann, AR
20 15 6m Wendell Wallace Batesville, AR
21 6 11T Tyler Reddick Corning, CA
22 8 21 Billy Moyer Batesville, AR
23 21 54 David Breazeale Philadelphia, MS
24 24 5 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
25 26 27T Stacy Taylor Jacksonville, AR
26 16 3s Brian Shirley Chatham, IL

Race Statistics
Entrants: 55
Lap Leaders: Mike Marlar (Laps 1 - 31); Jimmy Owens (Laps 32 - 79); Terry Phillips (Laps 80 - 100)
Caution Flags: Scott Bloomquist (Lap 9); Jared Landers (Lap 13); Dennis Erb Jr. (Lap 47); Tyler Reddick (Lap 63); John Blankenship (Lap 66); Billy Moyer Jr. (Lap 69); Wendell Wallace (Lap 77)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Jared Landers
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: none

Heat Race #1 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Mike Marlar, Terry Phillips, Billy Moyer Jr., Jack Sullivan, Michael Asberry, Don O'Neal, Garrett Alberson, AJ Diemel, Odie Green, Eric Jacobsen
Heat Race #2 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Chris Madden, Wendell Wallace, Robert Baker, Robbie Stuart, Eddie Carrier Jr., Sean Jones, Jon Kirby, Jeff Floyd
Heat Race #3 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Earl Pearson Jr., Chris Wall, Stacy Taylor, Gary Christian, Gavin Landers, Justin Asplin, Raymond Merrill, David Deetz

Heat Race #4 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Dale McDowell, Billy Moyer, Dennis Erb Jr., Steve Francis, Brandon Smith, Rob Litton, Tyler Erb, Jay Brunson, Mike Harris

Heat Race #5 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Jesse Stovall, Jimmy Mars, Brian Shirley, Mark Dotson, Timothy Culp, Jared Landers, Leon Henderson, George Jackson, Keith Craft

Heat Race #6 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Tyler Reddick, John Blankenship, Kyle Beard, David Breazeale, Tommy Weder, Kyle Bronson, BJ Robinson, Shane Harris-DNS, Eric Turner-DNS

B-Main #1 (10 Laps, Top 2 Transfer): Don O'Neal, Robbie Stuart, Robert Baker, Michael Asberry, Eddie Carrier Jr., Odie Green, Jon Kirby, Garrett Alberson, Jeff Floyd, Jack Sullivan, AJ Diemel, Sean Jones-DNS, Eric Jacobsen-DNS

B-Main #2 (10 Laps, Top 2 Transfer): Steve Francis, Brandon Smith, Justin Asplin, Gary Christian, Tyler Erb, Mike Harris, David Deetz, Gavin Landers, Jay Brunson, Stacy Taylor, Raymond Merrill-DNS, Rob Litton-DNS

B-Main #3 (10 Laps, Top 2 Transfer): David Breazeale, Jared Landers, Tommy Weder, BJ Robinson, Kyle Bronson, Shane Harris, Timothy Culp, Mark Dotson, Leon Henderson-DNS, George Jackson-DNS, Keith Craft-DNS, Eric Turner-DNS

Fast Time Group A: Mike Marlar/ 13.899 seconds
Fast Time Group B: Billy Moyer/ 14.146 seconds

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will return to action on Thursday, August 22nd at Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, TN and then on Saturday, August 24th the series will travel to Lawrenceburg Speedway in Lawrenceburg, IN. Both events will feature RED BUCK Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and 50-Lap, $10,000-to-win main events. For more information, log on to www.volunteerspeedway.com and www.lawrenceburgspeedway.com.     
For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt. 
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.