Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 08/06/20 at 12:57am


Pages: 1
Carolina Clash at Cherokee Speedway - 9/1 Results (Read 927 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Carolina Clash at Cherokee Speedway - 9/1 Results
09/02/13 at 10:16pm
Carolina Clash Super Late Models
Cherokee Speedway
September 1, 2013

Zack Mitchell Captures First Carolina Clash Victory at Cherokee Speedway
Lap 25 pass of race leader Tim Allen propels "Kid Quick" to race lead and first series win

by Mark Huey
GAFFNEY, SC (September 1) - On Sunday, September 1, 2013, Cherokee Speedway honored a former Carolina Clash champion and Hall of Fame member with an induction into the track hall of fame. Later that night, young "Kid Quick" Zack Mitchell of Enoree, SC was ready to make a serious statement about balancing the honoring of racing heritages along with introducing a new generation of racer.
Over the past three years, Mitchell has always been a serious force at any event he enters his Marvin Lawson Motorsports, Eubanks Oil Company machine in. However, various problems ranging in severity, would always find a way to prevent him leading at the checkers.

Mitchell finally sealed the deal and led the final 15 laps to capture the one of the biggest wins of his career in super late model racing. Mitchell always knew that success would eventually come, but it just always seemed to be just a bit out of reach as races neared event's end.
Mitchell was fast out of the gate and gained more and more speed over the course of the night, where he was fastest in opening practice and eventually qualified second to Tim Allen, the event's fastest qualifier with a lap of 15.537. Mitchell's lap was 15.583, only seven-thousands better than Dennis Franklin (15.590) and Johnny Pursley (15.591). These four cars would race hard during the opening laps behind Allen, who lead early. During the first 10 laps, Mitchell challenged Allen for the lead, while Pursley and Rambo battled for third. Ricky Weeks also made his marks early in the event as he challenged for the top five.
The race was slowed to caution on lap 2 and lap 8 with cars slowing to a stop on the track. Both Richard Clew and John Pursley retired after six laps. Point leader Dennis Franklin suffered a right-rear flat tire, which caused severe damage to the sheet metal on the AES Racing, M&W Towing Barry Wright racer. Franklin was involved in an incident on a restart where the car stopped on the track in turn four after exiting the pit area. This resulted in another caution and a quick pit stop for Franklin, who would then thrill the fans in attendance with amazing moves to try to get back to the front. Franklin sped his way back into the sixth place position on the track, but was scored in 13th on the final rundown as a result of the lap 8 incident, which placed him one-lap down.
The most serious incident of the night occurred when Gary Mabe and Brian Ledbetter were involved in a two-car accident as the race restarted on lap 16, after Dale Hammond dropped a driveshaft on the track. Ledbetter was able to finish 12th in the event on the lead lap, but Hammond and Mabe were finished for the night. Tim Allen watched his chances disappear mid-way through the event as the track conditions changed, which caused his car to fade around halfway. This allowed Mitchell to make gains on Allen, eventually throttling to the inside of turn two to take the lead for keeps.
Other notables to finish in the top ten included rookie competitors Kyle Pierce and Damon Kotke, who each finished 7th and 8th in the final tally.
Ross Bailes rebounded from his Lancaster misfortune to a top five finish, along with Johnny Pursley, who also had trouble at Lancaster. Luke Roffers continues to run consistently, along with Ricky Weeks, who moved to within 9 points of point leader Dennis Franklin in the championship series. Anthony Sanders was the "Safety-Kleen Hard Charger of the Race" advancing five spots to a 9th place finish. Mike Gault of Gaffney, SC finished tenth. Michael Marlowe and Brian Ledbetter were the final cars on the lead lap at the finish.
Up next for the Carolina Clash series is the third race of the championship series at Friendship Motor Speedway in Elkin, NC on Saturday, September 7.
RESULTS from Cherokee Speedway, September 1, 2013
1. Zack Mitchell - Enoree, SC - 40 laps
2. Tim Allen - Kannapolis, NC - 40 laps
3. Ricky Weeks - Rutherfordton, SC - 40 laps
4. Johnny Pursley - Clover, SC - 40 laps
5. Ross Bailes - Blacksburg, SC - 40 laps
6. Luke Roffers - Concord, NC - 40 laps
7. Kyle Pierce - Statesville, NC - 40 laps
8. Damon Kotke - Louisburg, NC - 40 laps
9. Anthony Sanders - Spartanburg, SC - 40 laps
10. Mike Gault - Gaffney, SC - 40 laps
11. Michael Marlowe - Nichols, SC - 40 laps
12. Brian Ledbetter - Dallas, NC - 40 laps
13. Dennis Franklin - Gaffney, SC - 39 laps
14. Chris Blackwell - Gray's Creek, NC - 29 laps
15. Scott Shirey - Swansea, SC - 21 laps
16. Brent Dixon - Elberton, GA - 16 laps
17. Gary Mabe - Danbury, NC - 16 laps
18. Dale Hammond - Nichols, SC - 16 laps
19. John Pursley - Clover, SC - 6 laps
20. Richard Clew - Mocksville, NC - 6 laps

TIME OF RACE: 39 minutes
Roush Yates Performance Products "Fast Time" - Tim Allen - 15.537
Roush Yates Performance Products "11th Place Finisher" - Michael Marlowe
Roush Yates Performance Products "Last Man Award" - Richard Clew
Safety Kleen "Hard Charger of the Race" - Anthony Sanders *(advanced 5 positions)
Roush Yates Performance Products Countdown to the Cup Championship Chase by JE Pistons

Point Standings after race #2 at Cherokee Speedway

Dennis Franklin 1079
Ricky Weeks 1070
Tim Allen 1068
Luke Roffers 1063
Johnny Pursley 1060
Mike Gault 1052
Damon Kotke - R 1051
Michael Marlowe 1049
Kyle Pierce - R 1049
Ross Bailes 1045
John Pursley 1033

2013 Rookie Point Standings (after 13 races)

Damon Kotke - 302
Kyle Pierce - 276
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.