Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 09/24/23 at 9:48pm


Pages: 1
Pennsylvania Motor Speedway Honors 2013 Champions (Read 862 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Pennsylvania Motor Speedway Honors 2013 Champions
03/11/14 at 1:20am
March 10, 2014

PPMS Honors 2013 Champions; Stephans Recognized As Sportsman of the Year

PPMS Media
PITTSBURGH, PA -- Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway and Miley Motorsports honored their 2013 Track Champions at the annual awards banquet held Saturday, March 8th at the Lafayette Room in Imperial, PA.
Second generation driver Alex Ferree claimed his first ever Super Late Model title at "Dirt's Monster Half Mile" in 2013. The Saxonburg, PA driver scored his first win on June 22nd and went on to claim four additional victories in the Joe Corrado owned Rocket Chassis and clinched the title by just seven points over the 2012 champion Michael Norris.  Ferree will begin his title defense at the 2014 Blastoff event on April 5th.  Jim Stephans, Ben Miley and Lynn Geisler complete the top five in the 2013 Diehl of Robinson Super Late Model standings.
Alex Ferree was also the recipient of the Awesome Signs and Graphics Hard Charger Award. Late Model competitors were awarded points for each position that they advanced in the feature events held during 2013; Ferree picked up the weekly award on four occasions and will receive a complete decal job courtesy of Awesome Signs and Graphics, which is owned by Ricky Byers.
Kyle Lukon of nearby Burgettstown had an impressive and busy 2013 season.  The Duquesne University graduate competed in both the Super Late Model and Pro-Late Model divisions for most of the season.  Lukon scored his first Rush Pro-Late Model win on opening day (April 13th) and went on to pick up four additional wins en-route to his third divisional title at the speedway.  He also claimed his first ever Super Late Model victory on May 4th.  Lukon's excellent 2013 season in the family owned Isminger's Pennzoil sponsored Rocket Chassis also made him the winningest driver in Pro-Late Model action at the speedway.  As the 2014 season approaches the team is considering several options as to where they will compete but it is hoped that Lukon will return to the Imperial, PA speedway to defend his crown.  Mark Moats, Laura Lukon, Justin Lamb and Paul Jablonski complete the top in five in the divisional point standings. 

Nick Kocuba's year of persistence finally paid off as the Imperial, PA resident picked up his first ever track championship in the Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Sportsman Division.  Kocuba scored two wins and rarely finished outside of the top five in weekly action to claim the title over Joey Koteles, Bill Robertson, Craig Koteles and Brian Huchko.
Teenage Christian Schneider captured his first ever championship in Miley BP Car Wash Hobby Stock action.  Schneider was victorious in ten main events before moving into the Late Model Sportsman Division later in the 2013 season.  Hannah Ramsey, Chase Evans, Dan Black and Steve Pyeritz rounded out the top five in the divisional points.
Dylan Bolind expected 2013 to be more of a learning experience rather than a championship season but the likeable teenager was able to win an impressive ten feature events in Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns competition to pick up his first ever divisional championship.  Roman O'Neill, Karlee Kovacs, Jonathan Miller and O.B. Huff completed the top five in the season long points battle.
All of the titlists received a championship ring courtesy of Jostens, a Hoosier Racing jacket and a trophy in recognition of their championship.  
Veteran Super Late Model competitor Jim Stephans of Baldwin, PA captured the prestigious "Sportsman of the Year" Award." The award is presented to an individual who exemplifies the meaning of true "sportsmanship" and Stephans is certainly worthy of the award.  Stephans began his career at the speedway more than 20 years ago and in the age of toterhomes and stacker trailer continues to tow his car to the track each week with a converted ambulance.  The popular driver won his first ever Super Late main event on June 8th and followed up with a second victory on July 27th.  Stephens indicated he will be back in action when the racing action at "Dirt's Monster Half Mile" resumes.     
The following drivers were named "Rookies of the Year in their respective divisions: Super Late Models: Same Eichelberger; RUSH Pro-Late Models: Jake Gunn; Late Model Sportsman: Christian Schneider; Hobby Stocks: John Wiser and Young Guns: Karlee Kovacs.
The following drivers also received plaques to commemorate their first feature wins in their respective divisions: Super Late Models: Kyle Lukon and Jim Stephans; RUSH Pro-Late Models: Ron Hall; Late Model Sportsman: Brian Huchko; Hobby Stocks: Christian Schneider, Hannah Ramsey and Dan Black and Young Guns: Roman O'Neill, O.B. Huff and Dylan Bolind.
The 2014 season at "Dirt's Monster Half Mile" is just a few days away as a Test and Tune Session will be held on Saturday, March 29th. The session is open to all divisions and will be held from 2:00PM to 5:00PM. Pit and Grandstand Admission Gates will open at 1:00PM. Grandstand Admission is Free..
The official racing action gets underway just one week later on Saturday, April 5th, with the 2013 Blastoff event featuring the Diehl of Robinson Super Late Models, Precise Racing Products RUSH Pro-Late Models, Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Sportsman, Miley BP Carwash Hobby Stocks and the Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns. The gates for the Blastoff Event will open at 5:00PM with the racing scheduled to begin promptly at 7:00PM.

Pittsburgh's PA Motor Speedway is a ˝-mile dirt track with a GPS address of 170 Kelso Rd, Imperial PA 15126 and is located just off the Noblestown exit on PA Route 22/30.

Additional information is also available on the speedway website: www.ppms.com. Fans who have questions may also contact the speedway office  at (412) 279-7223.
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.