Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 07/21/24 at 10:26am


Pages: 1
Susquehanna Speedway Park - 4/5 Results (Read 1291 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Susquehanna Speedway Park - 4/5 Results
04/06/14 at 3:02pm
Susquehanna Speedway Park
April 5, 2014

Rodriguez Victorious at SSP’s Opening Night on Saturday

SSP Media
Newberrytown, PA (April 5, 2014) – The Susquehanna Speedway Park opened up on Saturday night for the 60th season with four exciting divisions on a cold and frigid night.  Dover’s J.R. Rodriguez took the victory in the Late Model 25 lapper on opening night.  Mt. Wolf’s Gary Potts took the win by leading the final three laps of the Street Stock 20 lapper.  Scott Geesey of Wellsville took the win in the 25-lap Super Sportsman tour race.  Harlon Leppo won the Legends Cars 20-lap feature event.
Devin Frey started on the pole position with J.R. Rodriguez starting beside him at the green of the 25-lap Late Model feature event.  Rodriguez grabbed the early lead and set the pace.  Billy Wampler started in fourth and made his way to the rear bumper of the leader by the midway point.  A few caution flag periods bunched up the field but Wampler was unable to make the pass for the lead.  Rodriguez took the checkers over Wampler with Matt Murphy finishing strong in third.  Devin Frey finished fourth with Scott Richwine rounding out the top five.  Chase Billet and Steve Billet were the heat race winners.        
Danny Beard grabbed the early lead of the 20-lap Street Stock feature, however on lap 3 Jasen Geesaman took over the spot.  Geesaman held off Gary Potts and Beard until mechanical failure forced him from the race on lap 18.  On the restart, Potts set the pace up front and went on to win the season opener for the Street Stocks.  Jim Palm Jr. made a last lap pass to finish second with Beard settling for third.  Scott Thunberg and Aaron Beard finished fourth and fifth places respectively.  Danny Beards and Potts were heat race victors.
Scott Geesey took the early lead of the 25-lap Super Sportsman feature from the pole position.  Frankie Herr quickly grabbed the runner-up spot with Chad Trout close in top.  The top three battle for the top spot with Herr taking the lead on lap 13.  Geesey wrestled the lead back on lap 17 until lap 21 when Chad Trout took the top spot to set the pace.  A caution with one lap remaining made it a one lap shoot-out for the victory.  On the restart, Geesey blasted back into the lead.  In the middle of turn 3 and 4 on the final circuit, Trout made one last attempt to regain the top spot.  Trout spun in front of the field, sending Frankie Herr flipping.  After a brief red flag, Geesey went on to take the win over Mike Enders and Scott Dellinger.  Chris Meleason and Russ Mitten rounded out the top five.  Heat race wins went to Jaremi Hanson, Meleason, Trout and Geesey.  Bobby Hockenberry was the consolation winner.  
In the 20-lap Legends Car feature, Harlon Leppo held off a late race challenge from Lucas Montgomery to take the victory.   Montgomery failed to finish the race as he spun just short of the finish line at the end.  Bill Diehl came across the line in second, followed by Jacob Feltch, Bob Stough and C.J. Quirk.  Scott Houdeshell, Diehl and Leppo were heat race winners.
Racing action returns to the Big Track at SSP on Saturday night, April 12 on York County Racing Club Night with the Late Models, Street Stocks, Xtreme Stock Cars, Road Warriors/Mini Vans and PA Sprint Series.  Then the 410 Super Sprint Cars return to SSP on Sunday April 13 along with the 358 Sprint Cars in the 5th Annual Sprint Car Spring Classic.
On track action returns to the SSP Outback Track on Friday night, April 11 from 6:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. with a nighttime Test & Tune session featuring quarter midgets, karts and Adult Speedcars.    The gates will open at 5:30 p.m.  The cost will be $20.00 per driver with no charge for anyone else entering the grandstand and "cold pit" areas.  All Outback Track participants should enter the pits from the Kise Mill Road entrance behind turn 2 of the "Big Track."
The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south.  For more information, contact the speedway offices at (717) 292-1696 or visit online at sspracing.net.  On raceday, use the track phone at (717) 938-9170 for up-to-date information at the “Big Track” and the “Outback Track.”
Susquehanna Speedway Park Race Results from Saturday, April 5, 2014

Late Models Feature (25 laps): 1. J.R. Rodriguez; 2. Billy Wampler; 3. Matt Murphy; 4. Devin Frey; 5. Scott Richwine; 6. Tim Murphy; 7. Cameron Benyou; 8. Matt Adams; 9. Steve Billet; 10. Chase Billet; 11. Drew Weiser; DNS – Randy Christine Jr.
FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Rodriguez (1- 25).
HEAT RACE WINNERS: C. Billet and S. Billet.
Street Stocks Feature (20 laps): 1. Gary Potts; 2. Jim Palm Jr.; 3. Danny Beard; 4. Scott Thunberg; 5. Aaron Beard; 6. Wayne Dutterer; 7. Eric McClane; 8. Cory Phillips; 9. Joe Racine; 10. Calvin Redding; 11. Jimmy Combs; 12. Jasen Geesaman; 13. Michelle Walls; 14. Johnny Palm; 15. Mark Hutchison; 16. Bruce McClane; 17. Dalton frye; 18. Chris Derr; DNS – Kevin Heckman; David Walsh.
FEATURE LAP LEADERS: D. Beard (1-2); Geesaman (3-17); Potts (18-20).    
HEAT RACE WINNERS: D. Beard and Potts.
Super Sportsman Feature (25 laps): 1. Scott Geesey; 2. Mike Enders; 3. Scott Dellinger; 4. Chris Meleason; 5. Russ Mitten; 6. Chad Criswell; 7. Steve Fannasy; 8. Jay Fannasy; 9. Kenny Edkin; 10. Dave Conrad Jr.; 11. Todd Leonard; 12. Chad Trout; 13. Frankie Herr; 14. Stan Wanner; 15. Steve Wilbur; 16. Gregg Foster; 17. Doug Dodson; 18. Tony Jackson; 19. Bobby Hockenberry; 20. Jaremi Hanson; 21. Rick Barr; 22. Duaine Smith; 23. Scott Grace; 24. Tom Wyckoff; DNQ – Rich Eichelberger; Cody Fairchok; Chad Smith; Carmen Perigo; David Walsh; Dave Socks Sr.; Dave Berkheimer; Lanny Hake.
FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Geesey (1-12, 17-21, 25); Herr (13-16); Trout (22-24).    
HEAT RACE WINNER: Hanson; Geesey (NTR 2:18.51 for 8 laps; Meleason and Trout.
Legends Cars Feature (20 laps):  1. Harlon Leppo; 2. Bill Diehl; 3. Jacob Feltch; 4. Bob Stough; 5. C.J. Quirk; 6. Scott Houdeshell; 7. Chad Earnst; 8. Chris Transeau; 9. Greg Burd; 10. Richard Miller; 11. Chris Spidle; 12. Ed Trump; 13. Randy Minnich; 14. Bill Foster; 15. Travis Perry; 16. Lucas Montgomery; 17. Scott Gobrecht; 18. George Hanson; 19. Travis McClelland; 20. Joe Ehrisman; 21. Mason Chaney; DNS – Chris Ward.        
FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Leppo (1-20).  
HEAT RACE WINNERS: Houdeshell; Diehl and Leppo.
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.