Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 05/22/24 at 11:32am


Pages: 1
Potomac Speedway - 4/4 Results (Read 1259 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Potomac Speedway - 4/4 Results
04/08/14 at 12:47am
Potomac Speedway
April 4, 2014

Covert Scores Potomac First With New Team
Pilkerton Popular RUSH Crate LM Winner

by Doug Watson
Budds Creek, MD- York Haven Pa.'s Jason Covert was victorious for the first time in his career in last Friday nights 35-lap Ed Canupp Memorial at Potomac Speedway. The win for Covert, worth $2500, was not only his first-ever Potomac Late Model feature score but also his first with new car owners Pete Cameron and Roland Mann.

Kenny Moreland and Covert shared the front-row for the start of the event with Covert assuming the race lead as the pack raced off turn-two. Covert would eventually lead all 35-laps to post the win, but it was by no means an easy trip to victory lane. As Covert lead Kenny Moreland, Glenn Elliott and Stevie Long all waged a furious battle until Long broke-free from the chaos on lap-32. Long then tracked down Covert over the final three-circuits but would fall short by three car-lengths as Covert streaked under the checkered flag. "This win is about all the people who gave me this opportunity." Covert stated during his post-race interview. "Pete, Roland, Lisa and all the people on this team gave me a shot to drive their car this season and I'm so proud to be able to get my first win for them here at their home track." Protecting the bottom of the speedway, in Covert's opinion, was key in his winning drive. "The bottom was the place to be tonight." Covert quipped. "the top was real dirty and I knew if we could hold the bottom, we'd have a shot to win, but I knew Stevie was back there towards the end and we were able to hold him off. It feels great to finally win here at Potomac." Kenny Moreland came home third, Jamie Lathroum took fourth with Dale Hollidge settling for fifth. Heats went to Covert and Long.

Former Late Model track champion Jeff Pilkerton wired the field to score his career-first divisional win in the 20-lap RUSH Crate Late Model event. Pilkerton started on the pole and would lead the distance to score the popular win over 10th-starting Ben Bowie. "I just want to thank all the guys who worked all winter getting this car ready." Pilkerton stated. "We haven't won here in a long time and this Crate division is a perfect fit for us." Defending track champion John Imler was third, Darren Henderson collected fourth with Reese Masiello rounding out the top-five. Heats went to Bowie and Henderson.

Mike Latham scored his second win in a row, and career 32nd, in the 16-lap Street Stock feature. Defending champion Darren Alvey lead the first 8-laps before Latham slid by to take the lead for good on the 9th-lap. Latham would then dominate the remaining 8-laps to score the win over Darren Alvey, Mike Raleigh, Chuck Bowie and Troy Kassiris.

Defending track champion Erica Bailey dominated the 15-lap U-Car feature to become the third different winner of the three-week old season. Cori French lead the first 2-laps before Bailey snared the race lead on lap-3 and would go on to post a convincing win. DJ Powell came home second, Jeremy Pilkerton was third, Same Raley took fourth with Megan Mann rounding out the top-five.

Jamie Sutphin scored his first win of 2014 in another down to the wire 15-lap Hobby Stock main. John Burch lead the first 4-laps before Jerry Deason assumed the top-spot on lap-5. Deason appeared headed to his second win of the season, but Sutphin had other ideas. Coming off the fourth turn on the final lap, Deason got pinched behind a lapped car, allowing Sutphin to sneak by and grab the win at the start/finish line. Deason held on for second, John Burch was third, Jonathon Raley took fourth with 12th-starting Billy Crouse completing the top-five.

Late Models
1. Jason Covert 2. Stevie Long 3. Kenny Moreland 4. Jamie Lathroum 5. Dale Hollidge 6. JT Spence 7. Greg Roberson 8. Dominic DeFino 9. Kyle Lear 10. Deane Guy 11. Glenn Elliott 12. Brandon Long 13. Marty Hanbury

RUSH Crate Late Models
1. Jeff Pilkerton 2. Ben Bowie 3. John Imler 4. Darren Henderson 5. Reese Masiello 6. Sam Archer 7. Timmy Booth 8. Sonny Hatzell 9. Brian Lederhouse 10. Harry Shipe Jr.

Street Stock
1. Mike Latham 2. Darren Alvey 3. Mike Raleigh 4. Chuck Bowie 5. Troy Kassiris 6. Johnny Oliver 7. Dale Reamy 8. Mike Hanbury

1. Erica Bailey 2. DJ Powell 3. Jeremy Pilkerton 4. Sam Raley 5. Megan Mann 6. Cori French 7. Angel Mudd 8. Corey Swaim

Hobby Stock
1. Jamie Sutphin 2. Jerry Deason 3. John Burch 4. Jonathon Raley 5. Billy Crouse 6. Kenny Sutphin 7. Will Nelson 8. Korey Downs 9. Chris Maxey 10. Ernie Dettbarn 11. Ryan Clement 12. Robbie Kramer Jr. 13. Max Martin 14. Greg Morgan 15. Buddy Dunagan
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.