Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 04/15/24 at 10:39pm


Pages: 1
Lucas Cattle Company ULMA Rolls into Year Number Eight (Read 1054 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Lucas Cattle Company ULMA Rolls into Year Number Eight
04/09/14 at 12:44am
Sam Stoecklin
ULMA Public Relations
April 8, 2014

Lucas Cattle Company ULMA Rolls into Year Number Eight

Although it seems like it just formed just yesterday, the United Late Model Racing Association (ULMA), which is currently known as the Lucas Cattle Company ULMA, is poised to begin its eighth season of sanctioning weekly and special event Late Model racing this weekend!

Since inception, ULMA has sanctioned 345 races and most importantly has played a large role with increasing the fan base and foot print of Late Model racing throughout its geographical reach. Over 250 drivers have competed under the ULMA banner over the years with Brett Rollert, Jason Bodenhamer, Kevin Kaiser, Rylan Long, Vance Wilson, and Jason Russell claiming a ULMA championship.

Over 50 event dates occupy the 2014 schedule at weekly sanctioned tracks, which include Lucas Oil Speedway, Callaway Raceway, and Randolph County Raceway. In addition, events at Central Missouri Speedway, Double XX Speedway and Quincy Raceway also dot the season schedule.

ULMA is honored to align itself with Lucas Cattle Company for the third straight season. The association gives special thanks to Mr. Forrest Lucas, Mr. Gary Hubert, and the entire Lucas Cattle Company team for their support and belief in the association! Visit www.lucascattlecompany.com for complete company details!

Hoosier Tire Midwest and ULMA are also pleased to announce their continued business partnership for the new season. Drivers wishing to purchase tires through ULMA are encouraged to contact Danny Lorton via email at dlorton@ulmaracing.com or by calling 660-651-3646. Please visit www.racetires.com for additional information regarding Hoosier Tire Midwest. Tires purchased through ULMA benefit the end-of-season point’s fund for drivers.

The points-earning season officially begins this Friday, April 11 at Callaway Raceway in Fulton, Missouri. This weekend’s race is the first of 18 races scheduled at Callaway Raceway this year. Visit Callaway Raceway’s all-new website for event details and start times at www.callawayraceways.com.  

For drivers unable to make the trek to Callaway Raceway this Friday, there is one other opportunity to participate in early season action. Officials from the Lucas Oil Midwest Latemodel Racing Association (MLRA) informed ULMA they will award two provisional starting spots during this weekend’s MLRA Spring Nationals on April 11/12 at Lucas Oil Speedway!

Participating ULMA drivers must be a current on their 2014 membership, the entered car must be ULMA legal and the driver must declare with the MLRA officials prior to racing that he or she is entering the race as a ULMA legal car. The provisional starting positions for each event will be awarded to the top two ULMA legal cars that do not qualify into the main event(s) on their own through standard MLRA racing procedures.

Details regarding this weekend’s MLRA Spring Nationals may be found at www.mlraracing.com or by visiting www.lucasoilspeedway.com. These races are not ULMA points-earning events.

Heading into this season’s competition, one name frequently comes to the forefront as a favorite to claim the title, and that name is Vance Wilson. Wilson captured 14 feature wins last season and finished third in the final standings. If he goes on to capture the title this year he will become only the second driver to repeat as ULMA champion. Jason Russell rang the bell back-to-back in 2012 and 2013.

A strong field of 30 drivers already appears on the roster, the list includes Ray Isetts, Ashlee Lancaster, Trent Everhart, Danny Lorton, Chase Breid, Kenny Mudd, Jeremy Watts, Mike Montague, Jimmy Jobe, Jon Melloway, Greg Strong, Vance Wilson, Larry Winn, Rick Kimberling, Ryan Petersheim, Justin Russell, Tommy Cordray, Bob Cummings, Todd McCoin, Dwight Niehoff, Payton Looney, Phil Edmondson, Lane Ehlert, Mark Penticuff, Kevin Coyne, Dalton Imhoff, Dave Mosley, R.D. Peterson, Jeremy Kelley, and Jon Binning.

Among these drivers, Isetts, Everhart, Breid, Petersheim, and Imhoff have stated on their membership form they will run for Rookie of the Year (RoY). As the early part of the season unfolds, additional drivers will complete their membership paperwork and throw their names into the Title Hunt and RoY mix as well.

Additional drivers mentioned in pre-season buzz include a strong contingent of central and north-central-based drivers such as Chase Breid, Kenny Mudd, Todd McCoin, Jon Melloway, Greg Strong, Larry Winn, Ryan Petersheim, Justin Russell, and Tommy Cordray. While from the south and south-central regions, the likes of Mike Montague, Dwight Niehoff, Payton Looney, Phil Edmondson, Lane Ehlert, Jon Binning, Kevin Coyne, and Jeremy Kelley seem poised to have strong runs. It will all come down to drivers that choose to accumulate at least 15 starts to the season.

During the off-season ULMA announced changes to the points-accumulating system. A full description of changes may be found on the ULMA website. Each competitor taking the green flag in the main event will earn five (5) Competition Points for every main event in which a driver takes the initial green flag. Competition Bonus Points are only awarded if the feature event is contested, if for any reason the a-main event is not contested, Competition Points will not be awarded. Competition Points are awarded for every main event green flag appearance throughout the year. Drivers earn base points from their 15 best points-earning nights of the season.

ULMA is pleased to announce the return of the always exciting Triple Crown Shootout (TCS) in 2014, this year presented by RacinDirt.com! The TCS takes place around the Independence Day weekend of racing beginning on Thursday, July 3rd at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO; then moves to Callaway Raceway in Fulton, Mo on Friday the 4th, before wrapping up at Randolph County Raceway in Moberly, Mo, Saturday, July 5th.

Specializing in live and on-demand video, sales and marketing, internet broadcasts, live blogs, and race media, RacinDirt.com has quickly become an industry leader in providing in-depth coverage of Late Model and Modified dirt-track racing. Visit them online at www.racindirt.com.  

Drivers are encouraged to complete their membership forms prior to taking their first green flag of the season. Membership forms are conveniently located from the main page at www.ulmaracing.com. Membership for the remainder of the year is $100. Drivers should be expected to complete their membership paperwork upon checking in at each of the affiliated tracks this season.  
Visit ULMA’s title sponsor at www.lucascattlecompany.com. ULMA thanks Hoosier Tire Midwest and Rod End Supply for their continued support. For more information on ULMA, visit www.ulmaracing.com.

Upcoming Points-Earning Events
Friday, April 11 – Callaway Raceway
Friday, April 18 – Callaway Raceway
Saturday, April 19 – Lucas Oil Speedway
Friday, April 25 – Callaway Raceway
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.