Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 07/14/24 at 5:27am


Pages: 1
Ponderosa Speedway - 4/12 Results (Read 1208 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Ponderosa Speedway - 4/12 Results
04/13/14 at 12:33am
Ponderosa Speedway
April 12, 2014

Neat, Feistritzer, Thomas, and Hounshell, Jr. Take Checkered Flags at Ponderosa Speedway

by Michael Despain
JUNCTION CITY, KY (April 12) - Ponderosa Speedway would host a full evening of racing competition on Saturday evening and feature event winners for the evening included Dustin Neat of Dunnville, KY in Super Late Models, P.J. Feistritzer of Danville, KY in Pro Late Models, Ryan Thomas of Gosport, IN in Modifieds, and Glen Hounshell, Jr. of Berea, KY in Sportsman.

Stephen Breeding would take the lead at the start of the Super Late Model feature event, with Dustin Neat and Victor Lee giving chase, while Derek Fisher, Justin Rattliff, and Jeff Watson battled for fourth.  Breeding would start the process of lapping slower traffic on lap 7, while Rattliff would win the battle with Watson for fifth on that lap.  As the leaders worked slower traffic, Neat would close in on Breeding and squeeze beneath Breeding for the lead on lap 12.  The caution waved again on lap 13 for a tangle between Dion Benningfield and Mike Petrey in turn one.  Action would resume as Neat would maintain the lead, while Lee pressured Breeding for second and would take the spot on lap 16.  Meanwhile, Fisher, Rattliff, and Watson would resume their battle for the fourth spot on the same circuit.  Neat would keep Lee at bay for the remainder of the contest and take the win in the Gene and Danny Hatcher owned Hatcher’s Auto Sales/Neat Companies/Hatcher Properties/Xtreme Style Signs and Graphics/Tim Logan Racing sponsored #6 Barry Wright Race Car powered by a Vic Hill Race Engine.  “This was a good win for our race team”, stated Neat.  “I would like to dedicate this win to very special person who passed away recently.  I would like to dedicate tonight’s victory to the memory of Ronnie Joe Wesley”, added Neat.  Lee and Breeding would take second and third, while Fisher came fourth, with Watson nipping Rattliff at the finish for fifth.  Rattliff would head up the second five, followed by Dion Benningfield, Ernie Cordier, Ben Petrey, and Timmy Taylor.  Twelve entries would see Rattliff as top qualifier at 14.067 seconds, while heat race wins fell to Neat and Breeding.

Todd Coffman would lead the opening nine circuits of the Pro Late Model main event before tangling with the spinning machine of Chris Fair and breaking the left rear shock on his mount and ending his night.  Coffman’s misfortune would hand the race lead over to P.J. Feistritzer and he would maintain a comfortable for the remainder of the event in taking the win as the former division track champion would pilot his Self Service Storage/Big Daddy’s Cure for Cancer Foundation sponsored #88 C.J. Rayburn Race Car/GM604 powered entry to the victory.  Gary Yeager would take runner-up honors for the second consecutive week, while Chris Johnson would finish third.  Glen Hounshell, Jr. and Jeremy Strunk would complete the top five.  Ten entries would see Coffman as top qualifier at 14.319 seconds, with heat wins going to Coffman and Feistritzer.

The Modified main event would be a caution-plagued affair and would be stopped briefly for a power outage in turns one and two.  Victor Lee would lead the first 8 circuits of the race before briefly pulling off the track as a caution appeared.  After a failed restart, Lee would rejoin the field, but Ryan Thomas would take over the point and after the power was restored to the lights in turn one and two after lap 14, Thomas would off the charges of J.T. Ayers to take the win in the Kerry Trowbridge owned Automotive Specialities/Tri-County Auto and Oil/Gary Johnson Heating and Cooling/Pro Crafters/ Brunner and Son Lawn and Maintenance/Dexter’s Gun and Ammo sponsored #16 Diamond Race Car powered by a Pro Power Race Engine.  Ayers would finish in the second position, while Michael England would come home in third.  Matthew Jordan and Rocky Wilson would have a spirited battle for the final six laps of the race, with Jordan taking fourth position over Wilson.  The remainder of the top ten were Keith Smith, Jason Cox, Brian Foster, Steven Eversole, and Greg Coulton.  Seventeen entries would see Ayers as top qualifier at 14.981 seconds, while heat wins were scored by Thomas and Lee.

Glen Hounshell, Jr. would survive a caution and attrition plagued Sportsman feature contest to bring home his victory of the 2014 season by leading all 15 laps of the event aboard his CKSM/Smoke House Grill/B&B Homes/Jennings Do It Best Center/R&R Builders/AR Bodies/HVH Heads/Boyd Built Brakes sponsored #20 entry.  Glen Branham would drive to a runner-up finish, while James Crowe would finish third.  Thomas Scenters and Bill Robinson would complete the top five.  Nine entries saw Jeremy Howard as top qualifier at 16.103 seconds and also win the heat.

SUMMARY-Ponderosa Speedway-Junction City, KY-April 12, 2014

Super Late Models (12 entries)
Top Qualifier- Justin Rattliff 14.067
1st Heat- Dustin Neat, Derek Fisher, Justin Rattliff, Chris Ruble, Ben Petrey, Timmy Taylor 2nd Heat- Stephen Breeding, Victor Lee, Jeff Watson, Dion Benningfield, Ernie Cordier, Mike Petrey
Feature- Dustin Neat, Victor Lee, Stephen Breeding, Derek Fisher, Jeff Watson, Justin Rattliff, Dion Benningfield, Ernie Cordier, Ben Petrey, Timmy Taylor, Chris Ruble, Mike Petrey

Pro Late Models (10 entries)
Top Qualifier- Todd Coffman 14.319
1st Heat- Todd Coffman, Chris Johnson, Glen Hounshell, Jr., Jeremy Strunk, Zane Powell 2nd Heat- P.J. Feistritzer, Gary Yeager, Elliott Despain, Chris Fair (DNS- David Hill)
Feature- P.J. Feistritzer, Gary Yeager, Chris Johnson, Glen Hounshell, Jr., Jeremy Strunk, Elliott Despain, Todd Coffman, Chris Fair (DNS- Zane Powell, David Hill)

Modifieds (17 entries)
Top Qualifier- J.T. Ayers 14.981
1st Heat- Ryan Thomas, J.T. Ayers, Keith Smith, Elliott Despain, Ervin Vance, Steven Eversole, Brian Foster, Magen Witt (DNS- Kenneth Reams) 2nd Heat- Victor Lee, Michael England, Rocky Wilson, Matthew Jordan, Jason Cox, Stacey Decker, Faron Robinson, Greg Coulton
Feature- Ryan Thomas, J.T. Ayers, Michael England, Matthew Jordan, Rocky Wilson, Keith Smith, Jason Cox, Brian Foster, Steven Eversole, Greg Coulton, Faron Robinson, Victor Lee, Magen Witt, Ervin Vance, Stacey Decker, Elliott Despain (DNS- Kenneth Reams)

Sportsman (9 entries)
Top Qualifier- Jeremy Howard 16.103
Heat- Jeremy Howard, Glen Hounshell, Jr., Terry Cheeks, Glen Branham, Bill Robinson, Clay Reece, Sarah Patrick, Thomas Scenters (DNS- James Crowe)
Feature- Glen Hounshell, Jr. Glen Branham, James Crowe, Thomas Scenters, Bill Robinson, Sarah Patrick, Terry Cheeks, Clay Reece, Jeremy Howard
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.