Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 05/22/24 at 11:12am


Pages: 1
ALMS at Attica Raceway Park - 4/18 Results (Read 1718 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
ALMS at Attica Raceway Park - 4/18 Results
04/19/14 at 10:53pm
Attica Raceway Park Speedway
April 18, 2014

Drown dominates Sunoco ALMS feature at Attica Raceway Park

by Brian Liskai
ATTICA, OH (April 18) - In the Sunoco American Late Model Series feature, Wooster, Ohio’s Doug Drown put on a dominating performance. Last week after experiencing issues in his heat, Drown lapped nearly the entire field in the B-main for the Summit Racing Equipment UMP Late Models and was turning track record times before blowing an engine on the final lap. This week, after battling with Brandon Thirlby early, Drown pulled away and survived a couple of late race cautions for his 6th career Attica win leading the last 27 laps.

“She’s pretty bad ass. That’s pretty much all I can say. Last week…it’s pretty funny…some of these guys laughed about us having some bad luck…look who’s laughing now. The crew obviously did a great job this week. We ran down to Charlotte and got an engine and the thing is phenomenal. A little too much power I think,” said Drown beside his Wheeling Auto Body, DJ Directional Service, Wooster Glass backed #20.

“I have to thank Dave and Michelle Runkle, Rocket Chassis, Integra Shocks…everybody who helped. I’m glad we got one early for TC who we lost right before the race season. I know he definitely would have been here tonight and I know he’s here with everyone in their hearts,” added Drown.

In the 30-lap late model feature, Brandon Thirlby and Eric Spangler paced the field with Thirlby gaining the upper hand when the green flew. Drown, who started fourth, blasted into second on lap two and after a two-lap battle with Thirlby took the lead as Thirlby suffered mechanical woes and went pit side.

Drown would pull away as last week’s winner Jeff Babcock, defending track champion Ryan Missler, opening night feature winner Ryan Markham, Spangler, Jon Henry and Dona Marcoullier gave chase. Drown would encounter heavy lapped traffic by the 11th lap but Babcock could not close as he had his hands full with Missler, Markham and Henry. While Drown was blasting through the back of the pack, the battle for second was very entertaining between Babcock, Missler, Henry, Marcoullier, Markham and Matt Miller.

Miller would coast to a stop on lap 15 to bring out the caution. With a clear track Drown would drive away from the field when the green reappeared. Babcock, Missler, Marcoullier, Henry and Markham resumed their tremendous battle for second. The caution would fly again with nine laps to go for debris with the running order Drown, Babcock, Missler, Marcoullier, Henry, Rusty Schlenk and Markham.

Drown would power away for the win with Missler taking second on the last lap while Babcock, Marcoullier and Schlenk rounding out the top five.

Summit Racing Equipment Late Models (33 Cars)

Heat 1 - Nitro Black Performance by Engine Pro (10 Laps - Top 4 finishers transfer to the A-feature)
1. 51-Devin Shiels[1] ; 2. 21-Larry Kingseed[2] ; 3. 15-Jon Henry[9] ; 4. OO-Chris Keller[8] ; 5. 1N-Casey Noonan[6] ; 6. 48-John Bores[3] ; 7. 29-Rocky Owens[5] ; 8. 42S-Bob Mayer[4] ; 9. 12-Kyle Perry[7]

Heat 2 - Summit Racing Equipment (10 Laps - Top 4 finishers transfer to the A-feature)
1. 20-Doug Drown[8] ; 2. 1-Jeff Babcock[5] ; 3. 91-Rusty Schlenk[6] ; 4. 23C-Jeremy Canada[2] ; 5. 92-Cody Scott[1] ; 6. 15A-Phil Ausra[3] ; 7. 5J-Josh Haynes[7] ; 8. 16-Steve Sabo[4]

Heat 3 - Ultra Shield Race Products (10 Laps - Top 4 finishers transfer to the A-feature)
1. M14-Brandon Thirlby[3] ; 2. 50Y-Ryan Missler[8] ; 3. 6M-Dona Marcoullier[2] ; 4. 36-Matt Irey[4] ; 5. 49-Brian Ruhlman[5] ; 6. O1-Justin Chance[1] ; 7. 69R-Doug Baird[7] ; 8. 77-Coby Bartram[6]

Heat 4 - Bell Racing Products (10 Laps - Top 4 finishers transfer to the A-feature)
1. 27S-Eric Spangler[2] ; 2. 5M-Ryan Markham[7] ; 3. 3-Matt Miller[4] ; 4. 15B-Mike Bores[1] ; 5. 75-Dusty Moore[8] ; 6. 50-Scott Phillips[5] ; 7. 34-Ky Harper[3] ; 8. 45-Nate Potts[6]

B-Main #1 - Computer Man Inc. (8 Laps - Top 2 finishers transfer to the A-feature)
1. 49-Brian Ruhlman[2] ; 2. O1-Justin Chance[4] ; 3. 1N-Casey Noonan[1] ; 4. 29-Rocky Owens[5] ; 5. 48-John Bores[3] ; 6. 42S-Bob Mayer[7] ; 7. 12-Kyle Perry[9] ; 8. 69R-Doug Baird[6] ; 9. 77-Coby Bartram[8]

B-Main #2 - Computer Man Inc. (8 Laps - Top 2 finishers transfer to the A-feature)
1. 92-Cody Scott[1] ; 2. 15A-Phil Ausra[3] ; 3. 75-Dusty Moore[2] ; 4. 50-Scott Phillips[4] ; 5. 34-Ky Harper[6] ; 6. 5J-Josh Haynes[5] ; 7. 16-Steve Sabo[7] ; 8. 45-Nate Potts[8]

A-Main - (30 Laps)
1. 20-Doug Drown[4]; 2. 50Y-Ryan Missler[5]; 3. 1-Jeff Babcock[6]; 4. 6M-Dona Marcoullier[9]; 5. 91-Rusty Schlenk[10]; 6. 15-Jon Henry[7]; 7. 5M-Ryan Markham[8]; 8. 51-Devin Shiels[3]; 9. 36-Matt Irey[13]; 10. 27S-Eric Spangler[2]; 11. 49-Brian Ruhlman[15]; 12. O1-Justin Chance[17]; 13. OO-Chris Keller[11]; 14. 92-Cody Scott[18]; 15. 1N-Casey Noonan[19]; 16. 23C-Jeremy Canada[14]; 17. 75-Dusty Moore[21]; 18. 3-Matt Miller[12]; 19. 15B-Mike Bores[16]; 20. M14-Brandon Thirlby[1]; 21. 15A-Phil Ausra[20]; 22. 21-Larry Kingseed[22]

Hard Charger: 6M-Dona Marcoullier[+5]
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.