Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 05/22/24 at 11:14am


Pages: 1
Ponderosa Speedway - 5/2 Results (Read 1504 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Ponderosa Speedway - 5/2 Results
05/03/14 at 12:16am
Ponderosa Speedway
May 2, 2014

Coffman and Robinson Top  4th Annual Weekend Warrior Events at Ponderosa Speedway

by Michael Despain
JUNCTION CITY, KY-May 2, 2014- Ponderosa Speedway returned to action on Friday evening with the track’s 4th Annual Weekend Warrior event and Todd Coffman of Junction City, KY would take the win in the win worth $800 in the Pro Late Model division and Jimmy Robinson of Richmond, KY would score the $600 victory in the Sportsman division.  Other feature event winners for the night included Victor Lee of Danville, KY in Super Late Models, Bryan Barber of Greensburg, KY in Modifieds, and Chris Bowlin of Williamsburg, KY in Pure Streets.

Todd Coffman would take the lead at the drop of the green flag in the 35 lap Pro Late Model main event and would only be challenged briefly on a restart with three laps remaining, but would cruise to the victory, worth $800.  Coffman’s victory would come aboard the Sharon Coffman owned Coffman’s Photography/The Muffler Shop/Premier Self Storage/Auto Connection/Archie’s Tire/Todd’s Body Shop/Wilson’s Equipment sponsored #35 Rocket Chassis, GM604 powered mount.  P.J. Feistritzer would take second place, while Zane Powell, Wesley Brummett, and Bartley Grant would complete the top five.  Nine entries saw Coffman as the top qualifier at 14.012 seconds, while heat race victories were scored by Coffman and Feistritzer.

Glen Hounshell, Jr. would retake the lead on lap 12 of the Sportsman feature after pitting for a flat tire and seemed to have the 25 lap event well in hand, only to have engine issues with his machine as he was about to take the white flag.  This turn of events would put Jimmy Robinson into the race lead and he would survive a final restart to score the $600 victory aboard the Ramey Motorsports owned and sponsored #4 Chevy Monte Carlo entry.  Glen Branham would take runner-up honors, with Sarah Patrick third.  Hounshell, Jr. would finish fourth, while Eddie Stewart completed the top five.  Twelve entries saw Hounshell, Jr. as top qualifier at 16.020 seconds, while the heat race wins fell to Hounshell, Jr. and Russ Gabbert.

Victor Lee would take the lead from the start of the Super Late Model main event and would go unchallenged for the majority of the contest to take the win in his Xtreme Style Signs and Graphics/Eagle Heavy Haulers/Jay Construction/Pingleton Trading/Hoosier Tire sponsored #4 Revelution Race Car mount, powered by a Day’s Racing Engine.  Brad Neat would cruise to runner-up honors, while Mike Marlar would finish third.  Michael Asberry and Jake Henry would round out the top five.  Dustin Linville would be the top qualifier among 11 entries at 13.312 seconds, with heat race checkered flags going to Linville and Lee.

Bryan Barber would lead all 20 laps of a caution-filled Modified main event to take the victory in his first trip of the season to the track behind the wheel of his B&B Motorsports/Bandit Race Cars/Maximum Energy Development/All Star Performance/Bilstein/Frankland Racing Equipment/VP Racing Fuel/Bilstein/Hypercoils sponsored #10 Bandit Race Car powered by a Jay Dickens Race Engine.  Michael England would finish second, while Keith Smith would outduel Billy Meredith for the third position, with Ryan Thomas completing the top five.  Eleven entries saw Barber as top qualifier at 14.591 seconds and also win a heat, while Elliott Despain captured the other heat.

The Pure Street division would see Chris Bowlin drive his four cylinder machine to a feature win in the car’s debut.  Bowlin’s #11 mount would carry sponsorship from Big John’s Fab Shop/B&M Racing/Duck Signs.  Bowlin would take the win over Clay Reece and Jesse Morris.  Bowlin would also win the heat for the 3 entries.

SUMMARY-Ponderosa Speedway-Junction City, Kentucky-May 2, 2014

Super Late Models (11 entries)
Top Qualifier- Dustin Linville 13.312
1st Heat- Dustin Linville, Michael Asberry, Brad Neat, Tommy Bailey, Jake Henry, Timmy Taylor 2nd Heat- Victor Lee, Dennis Barton, Jeff Watson, Mike Marlar, Justin Rattliff
Feature- Victor Lee, Brad Neat, Mike Marlar, Michael Asberry, Jake Henry, Tommy Bailey, Dennis Barton, Timmy Taylor, Dustin Linville (DNS- Jeff Watson, Justin Rattliff)

Pro Late Models (9 entries)
Top Qualifier- Todd Coffman 14.021
1st Heat- Todd Coffman, Glen Hounshell, Jr., Wesley Brummett, Zane Powell, David Hill 2nd Heat- P.J. Feistritzer, Elliott Despain, Bartley Grant, Chris Johnson
Feature- Todd Coffman, P.J. Feistritzer, Zane Powell, Wesley Brummett, Bartley Grant, David Hill, Chris Johnson, Glen Hounshell, Jr., Elliott Despain

Sportsman (12 entries)
Top Qualifier- Glen Hounshell, Jr. 16.020 1st Heat- Glen Hounshell, Jr., Eddie Stewart, Glen Branham, Sarah Patrick, Jeremy Howard (DNS- Derek Bottoms) 2nd Heat- Russ Gabbert, Jimmy Robinson, Anthony Wiseman, Bo Morris (DNS- Steven Walters, Pherman Stewart)
Feature- Jimmy Robinson, Glen Branham, Sarah Patrick, Glen Hounshell, Jr., Eddie Stewart, Derek Bottoms, Anthony Wiseman, Russ Gabbert (DNS- Bo Morris, Jeremy Howard, Steven Walters, Pherman Stewart)

Modifieds (11 entries)
Top Qualifier- Bryan Barber 14.591
1st Heat- Bryan Barber, Billy Meredith, Keith Smith, Cody Smith, Steven Eversole, Greg Coulton 2nd Heat- Elliott Despain, Michael England, Rocky Wilson, Ryan Thomas, Daniel Stephens
Feature- Bryan Barber, Michael England, Keith Smith, Billy Meredith, Ryan Thomas, Steven Eversole, Cody Smith, Daniel Stephens, Rocky Wilson, Elliott Despain (DNS- Greg Coulton)

Pure Street (3 entries)
Heat- Chris Bowlin, Clay Reece, Jesse Morris
Feature- Chris Bowlin, Clay Reece, Jesse Morris
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.