Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 10/21/20 at 10:12pm


Pages: 1
Virginia Motor Speedway - 5/17 Results (Read 1479 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Virginia Motor Speedway - 5/17 Results
05/19/14 at 12:56pm
Virginia Motor Speedway
May 19, 2014

Chris Ferguson Holds Off Greg Satterlee for 35th TireX USA 100 Victory at Virginia Motor Speedway

by Dave Seay
Jamaica, VA (May 17) – Chris Ferguson of Mt. Holly, NC finally got himself an eagle trophy at Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway, something he has been trying to do since his first race at the ½ mile speed plant in Jamaica, VA back in 2006. Ferguson took control of the lead from Greg Satterlee on lap 11 and held the lead throughout the race.

Ferguson held off a late race challenge from Satterlee to win the Ultimate Super Late Model Series sanctioned 35th Annual TireX USA 100 at Virginia Motor Speedway worth $10,000. Greg Satterlee, Jonathan Davenport, Dennis Franklin, and Brandon Overton rounded out the top five finishers.

Other winners on the night were Matt Quade (Budweiser Modified), Brett Adkins (Truckin Thunder Sportsman) and Brandon Sandridge (Collision One Limited Stock).

Ferguson and Satterlee led the 24 car field to green with Satterlee jumping out to an early lead. With Satterlee using the high line and Ferguson on the bottom, the two raced virtually side by side for the first 11 laps when Ferguson muscled his way under Satterlee in turn 1 to take over the lead.

Several laps later, Jonathan Davenport would get past Satterlee for second and begin to put pressure on Ferguson as the two raced through traffic. Sattterlee fell back to third and battled with Series point leader Dennis Franklin, Brandon Overton and Austin Hubbard for position.

With Ferguson setting a torrid pace up front Satterlee went back to work on the high side riding the cushion to take back second from Davenport with four laps to go. On the next circuit Satterlee closed to within a car length as they raced into turn three. On the exit of Turn 4 Satterlee crossed over and looked to get inside Ferguson at the line. In turn 1 Satterlee went back to the high side as the two worked lapped traffic. On the final lap Satterlee made one last attempt on Ferguson but jumped the cushion in turn three allowing Ferguson to go on to record the $10,000 victory. Rounding out the top five were Greg Satterlee, Jonathan Davenport, Dennis Franklin, and Brandon Overton.

It took three starts to get the Budweiser Modified 25 feature under way but once under green Jimmy Duncan took the lead and pulled away from the field. Eighth starting Matt Quade worked his way to the front and on lap 8 got under Duncan to battle for the lead. The two raced side by side for the next three laps before Quade would finally grab the lead out of turn 2. Once out front Quade pulled away from the field to go on to take the win followed by Ryan Toole, fifteenth starting Matt Marshall, Jimmy Duncan and Brian Maxey.

Brett Adkins finally made to victory lane in the Truckin Thunder Sportsman with a pass on then leader Jeremiah Marshall on lap 13. Marshall paced the field for the first nine laps with no pressure from anyone. On lap 10 Brett Adkins finally got to the bumper of Marshall and began to pressure the rookie driver. On lap 13 Marshall made a small mistake and that was all Adkins needed to take the lead. Once out front Adkins pulled away for the win. Rounding out the top five were Hunter Shelton, Jeremiah Marshall, Davey Pullen and 12 year old Macey Causey.

The Collision One Limited Stock feature came down to the final lap again. Brian Bradley paced the field with a ton of action going on behind him. On lap 12 point leader Brandon Sandridge had moved into the second and was closing on Bradley for the lead. Bradley would hold off Sandridge during several restarts after cautions. On the final lap Sandridge dove under Bradley in turn 2 to take the lead. In turn 3 Bradley tried the crossover move and got to his inside and the two raced back to the finish line with Sandridge taking the win by inches over Bradley. Rounding out the top five were Chad Champion, Matthew Cook and Stephen Childress.

Race fans can go to www.vamotorspeedway.com to view the complete schedule Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2014 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


Ultimate Super Late Models (27 Cars):

Qualifier 1 (25 Laps – Top 11 transfer): 1. Chris Ferguson, 2. Jonathan Davenport, 3. Russell Erwin, 4. Casey Roberts, 5. Walker Arthur, 6. Dan Stone, 7. Ricky Elliott, 8. Glenn Elliott, 9. Mike Gault, 10. Anthony Sanders, 11. Jonathan Edwards, 12. Douglas Davis, 13. Jeff Smith, 14. Scott Autry,

Qualifier 2 (25 Laps – Top 11 transfer): 1. Greg Satterlee, 2. Brandon Overton, 3. Dennis Franklin, 4. Kyle Pierce, 5. Pierce McCarter, 6. Jason Covert, 7. Joey Coulter, 8. Luke Roffers, 9. Brian Ledbetter, 10. Doug Sanders, 11. Austin Hubbard, 12. Dean Bowen, 13. Ross Robinson

A Main: 1. Chris Ferguson, 2. Greg Satterlee, 3. Jonathan Davenport, 4. Dennis Franklin, 5. Brandon Overton, 6. Austin Hubbard, 7. Casey Roberts, 8. Jason Covert, 9. Walker Arthur, 10. Dan Stone, 11. Pierce McCarter, 12. Ricky Elliott, 13. Kyle Pierce, 14. Glenn Elliott, 15. Joey Coulter, 16. Jeff Smith, 17. Anthony Sanders, 18. Brian Ledbetter, 19. Doug Sanders, 20. Russell Erwin, 21. Luke Roffers, 22. Dean Bowen, 23. Jonathan Edwards, 24. Mike Gault

Fast Qualifier: Jonathan Davenport -  17.044 seconds

Truckin Thunder Sportsman 25 Lap Feature (14 Cars):
A Main: 1. Brett Adkins, 2. Hunter Shelton, 3. Jeremiah Marshall, 4. Davey Pullen, 5. Macy Causey, 6. Michael Hayes, 7. Chad Beahr, 8. Matt Ashworth, 9. Hunter Ashworth, 10. Corey Reid, 11. Carl Vaughan, 12. Junior Carter, 13. James Bunn, DNS: James Snead

Fast Qualifier: Hunter Shelton - 20.988 seconds

Budweiser Modifieds 25 Lap Feature (19 Cars):
A Main: 1. Matt Quade, 2. Ryan Toole, 3. Matt Marshall, 4. Jimmy Duncan, 5. Brian Maxey, 6. Joey Polevoy, 7. Brandon Galloway, 8. Travis LaRoque, 9. Aaron Harris, 10. Stephen Bryant, 11. Kelly Samuels, 12. Gary Long, 13. Josh Harris, 14. Lance Grady, 15. Charlie Hubbard, 16. Robbie Babb, 17. Dan Arnold, 18. Mike Reynolds, 19. Francis Jarrelle III

Fast Qualifier: Matt Quade – 18.896 seconds

Collision One Limited Stock Cars 20 Lap Feature (15 Cars):
A Main: 1. Brandon Sandridge, 2. Brian Bradley, 3. Ryan Hutchens , 4. Chad Champion, 5. Matthew Cook, 6. Stephen Childress, 7. Chris Maxey, 8. Daniel Alford, 9. Stephanie Stallings, 10. Andrew Tarbox, 11. Benjamin Lowry, 12. Christopher Sibley, 13. Chris Champion, 14. James Givens, 15. Cole Johnston

Fast Qualifier: Stephen Childress – 22.956 seconds
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.