Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 12/01/23 at 3:15am


Pages: 1
CCSDS at Greenville Speedway - 7/5 Results (Read 2096 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
CCSDS at Greenville Speedway - 7/5 Results
07/05/14 at 11:16pm
Comp Cams Super Dirt Series
Greenville Speedway
July 5, 2014

Bub McCool Completes the Sweep of CCSDS Action at Greenville

by Ben Shelton
GREENVILLE, Mississippi (July 5) – Bub McCool snared his second career win with the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) presented by Lucas Oil in as many nights on Saturday evening at Greenville Speedway (Greenville, Mississippi), but the victory came far from easy.

Current track point leader, Duke Palasini, capitalized on the bad luck of the evening’s fast qualifier, Brian Rickman, to win GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1, which earned him the New Vision Graphics Pole Award for the $2,000-to-win feature with Friday night’s winner, Bub McCool, joining him on the front row for the 35 lap finale.  Palasini jumped to the lead and looked to be poised to lead the first lap, but a bobble exiting turn four allowed Bub McCool and Rick Rickman to race past for the top two spots.

By lap 6 the leaders were in lapped traffic, and the first of four cautions flew on lap 8 for a Rick Hearnsberger spin.  Another caution marred lap 9, but on lap 10 Rick Rickman used the low line to shoot past McCool for the lead as the Vicksburg, Mississippi driver bounced off the topside wall in turn four.  

Behind the leaders good battles raged with Palasini, Stacy Taylor, Tommy Surrett, and Kyle Beard all contending for top five spots.

The final caution of the event flew on lap 16, and on the ensuing restart Rickman again motored away from McCool.  However, McCool wasn’t done as he caught the leader by lap 24 as the duo rocketed past the flag stand side-by-side.  The Mississippi drivers continued to go door to door until McCool used a slide job in turn four on lap 28 to snare the lead.

Once out front McCool stretched his advantage as Rickman began to battle a rapidly deflating tire.  As the white flag flew Rickman began to slow with tire issues as Kyle and Tommy Surrett raced into the podium spots.  At the finish line McCool won by a straightaway over Beard, Surrett, Taylor, and Palasini, while Rickman dropped to a disappointing eighth place finish.

"I just couldn't make that bottom work like Rick (Rickman) could," said McCool in victory lane.  "I just had to bounce off that wall on the high side and hope for the best, and luckily it worked."

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil competitors return to action next Friday night, July 11th with a $2,000-to-win/$300-to-start event at North Central Arkansas Speedway (Yellville, Arkansas). For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit www.COMPDirt.com .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – July 5th, 2014
Greenville  Speedway

1 2 57J Bub McCool Vicksburg, MS
2 5 86 Kyle Beard Trumann, AR
3 4 27S Tommy Surrett Little Rock, AR
4 7 27T Stacy Taylor Jacksonville, AR
5 1 V8 Duke Palasini Lealand, MS
6 8 1C Chad Thrash Meridian, MS
7 12 99F Clay Fisher Dewitt, AR
8 3 86R Rick Rickman Columbus, MS
9 14 D8 Doug Showah Columbus, MS
10 11 5 Scott Abraham Edwards, MS
11 16 115 Brandon Smith Floral, AR
12 13 17K Cody Kierre Beebe, AR
13 20 3M Randy Barnard Hazen, AR
14 10 77F Greg Fore Greenville, MS
15 18 7D David Payne Cabot, AR
16 15 XXX Rick Hearnsberger Arkadelphia, AR
17 9 D8X Christopher Showah Jr. Indianola, MS
18 6 33D Scott Dedwylder Vossburg, MS
19 19 5X Kody Mea Southhaven, MS
20 17 37L Joseph Long Bryant, AR
21 21 4S Shannon Scott Henryetta, OK

1 7D David Payne
2 5X Kody Mea
3 37L Joseph Long
4 3M Randy Barnard
5 4S Shannon Scott
6 6B Lynn Beach
7 69 Larry Potter
8 90R Brian Rickman

Heat #1
1 V8 Duke Palasini
2 86 Kyle Beard
3 D8X Christopher Showah Jr.
4 17K Cody Kierre
5 69 Larry Potter
6 90R Brian Rickman

Heat #2
1 57J Bub McCool
2 33D Scott Dedwylder
3 77F Greg Fore
4 D8 Doug Showah
5 7D David Payne
6 37L Joseph Long

Heat #3
1 86R Rick Rickman
2 27T Stacy Taylor
3 5 Scott Abraham
4 XXX Rick Hearnsberger
5 3M Randy Barnard
6 4S Shannon Scott

Heat #4
1 27S Tommy Surrett
2 1C Chad Thrash
3 99F Clay Fisher
4 115 Brandon Smith
5 5X Kody Mea
6 6B Lynn Beach
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.