Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 04/16/21 at 11:09am


Pages: 1
Francis two for two in Australia USA Invasion action at Bunbury (Read 2382 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Francis two for two in Australia USA Invasion action at Bunbury
01/18/15 at 1:33am
January 17, 2015

Francis two for two in USA Invasion Tour action at Bunbury Speedway

DTN Media
BUNBURY, W.A. (January 17) - The man they call the Kentucky Colonel; Steve Francis, has done it again as last night he raced his way to his second feature race in as many nights, this time at QUIT Bunbury Speedway, defeating fellow countrymen Jeep Van Wormer and Devin Moran.

Francis was once again in devastating form, recording a win and a second place in the heats seeing him claim the Lucas Oils pole position. He then went on to race away from his opposition in the thirty lap final to bank another bundle of points that now sees him leading the Rando's Cane Furniture Invasion Tour by seventeen points over second placed Jeep Van Wormer after two of four rounds.

January 16th: Francis draws first blood in USA Invasion Tour opener at Collie Speedway

Jeep Van Wormer led the race as the green flag dropped and held onto it for a few laps as Francis bade his time, sitting behind Van Wormer waiting for the passing opportunity to strike. He moved outside Van Wormer on lap three, the two fighting side by side, before he pulled ahead as the fourth lap was complete and from here he worked to open up the gap.

Despite a handful of restarts, during each of which that Van Wormer would apply the pressure, Francis kept his calm, driving away each time. Behind the leading two, Devin Moran worked his way into third place to make it an American trifecta and this is how they would finish at the completion of thirty laps.

Once again, drama reared its ugly head, as has become expected from the Invasion Tour, this time with Jamie Oldfield, who was sitting in second place in the series coming into the second round. After completing hot laps Jamie was strung by a bee and suffered a severe allergic reaction, seeing him sent to hospital and ending his hopes of competing for the night. Try as he might, he was unable to make it back to the track in time for the feature. All of us at LMRWA are thankful you are ok Jamie and we wish you all the best for the next few rounds: and no, we will not bee making any puns!

Heat racing action was once again fast and furious, with six different winners once again winning the six heats. Steve Francis, Devin Moran and Jeep Van Wormer all won heats (the only three drivers to win a heat on each night so far of the series), while Brad Blake, Kye Blight and Craig Vosbergen also claimed wins.

All the drivers now have the week to repair, rejuvenate and relax, ready for rounds three and four to be held this coming weekend: Saturday night at Albany Speedway and the series finale Sunday night at Manjimup Speedway.

Stay tuned as we will release all the details in the coming days!

Official Results

A Main - 1. Steve Francis, 2. Jeep Van Wormer, 3. Devin Moran, 4. Craig Vosbergen, 5. Brad Blake, 6. Ryan Halliday, 7. Jay Cardy, 8. Jamie Moon, 9. Paul Stubber, 10. Jason Oldfield, 11. Matt Goodlad, 12. Kye Blight, 13.  Clint Noakes, 14. Phil Zuidema, 15. Jeff Rogers, 16. Rob Galloway. DNF: Morgan Melvin, Lee Watt, George Lee, Tyson Bryden, Jai Mazzini.

Heat One - 1. Steve Francis, 2. Lee Watt, 3. Ryan Halliday, 4. Marc Giancola, 5. Matt Goodlad, 6. Jay Cardy, 7. Clint Noakes, 8. Jason Oldfield. DNS: Jayden Meckenstock.
Heat Two - 1. Devin Moran, 2.  Phil Zuidema, 3. Kye Blight, 4. Brad Ludlow, 5. Rob Galloway, 6. Jai Mazzini, 7. Tyson Bryden. DNF: Matt Nylander. DNS: Ryan Ludlow.
Heat Three - 1. Brad Blake, 2. Jeep Van Wormer, 3. Paul Stubber, 4. Craig Vosbergen, 5. George Lee, 6. Jamie Moon, 7. Jeff Rogers. DNF: Dean King, Morgan Melvin. DNS: Jamie Oldfield.
Heat Four - 1. Kye Blight, 2. Ryan Halliday, 3. Clint Noakes, 4. Jason Oldfield, 5. Jai Mazzini. DNS: Matt Nylander, Jayden Meckenstock, Ryan Ludlow. DQ: Marc Giancola.
Heat Five - 1. Craig Vosbergen, 2. Jamie Moon, 3. Devin Moran, 4. Brad Blake, 5. Paul Stubber, 6. Phil Zuidema, 7. Rob Galloway, 8. Tyson Bryden. DNF: Brad Ludlow, George Lee.
Heat Six -1. Jeep Van Wormer, 2. Steve Francis, 3. Matt Goodlad, 4. Jay Cardy, 5. Lee Watt, 6. Jeff Rogers. DNS: Morgan Melvin, Jamie Oldfield, Dean King.

Contingency Awards
Lucas Oils Pole Award - Steve Francis
Octane Hard Charger - Jason Oldfield

Invasion Tour Top Ten Points After Round #2 of #4
1. Steve Francis 238
2. Jeep Van Wormer 221
3. Brad Blake 208
4. Ryan Halliday 196
5. Jason Oldfield 191
6. Paul Stubber 188
7. Matt Goodlad 184
8. Jay Cardy 182
9. Lee Watt 178
10. Devin Moran 177

Invasion Tour Race Wins
America - 9
Australia - 8


January Dirt Late Model Headlines

January 17th: Francis is two for two in Australia USA Invasion Tour at Bunbury Speedway
January 16th: Francis draws first blood in USA Invasion Tour opener at Collie Speedway
January 15th: Babb earns $25K for Summer Nationals title; receives Gary Walters award
January 15th: Sweeney RUSH Late Models continue Canadian expansion; adds Brighton

2015 Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout Results:

2015 Wild West Shootout Point Standings (after 5 of 6 events)
January 17th: Jimmy Owens hangs on for first Wild West Shootout victory at USA Raceway
January 16th: Lanigan captures second Wild West Shootout win on Friday at USA Raceway
January 14th: Sanders Scores Victory in Wednesday night Keyser Mfg. Wild West Shootout
January 11th: Jackson Guns Them Down at Night Two of Keyser Mfg. Wild West Shootout
January 10th: The Bluegrass Bandit Strikes on Opening Night at the Wild West Shootout
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.