Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 04/20/21 at 7:48am


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Tri-City Speedway - 5/1 Results (Read 2662 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Tri-City Speedway - 5/1 Results
05/02/15 at 2:01am
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Tri-City Speedway
May 1, 2015

Scott Bloomquist Banks Tri-City Speedway Lucas Oil Late Model Win

GRANITE CITY, IL (May 1) - Scott Bloomquist reached Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory lane for the first time this season on Friday Night. Bloomquist held on to win the "Spring Spectacular" at Tri-City Speedway after taking the lead from Bobby Pierce on lap 37, and fighting off a late-race surge from Earl Pearson Jr.

The win is the 55th of his career in LOLMDS competition. He becomes the ninth different winner this season on the tour. Earl Pearson Jr. made a last lap run on Bloomquist but came up a car length short at the checkered flag. Brandon Sheppard raced his way from eighth to finish third, followed by Clint Bowyer Racing teammates, Don O'Neal and Steve Francis.

"I have to thank my crew and all of my sponsors. We changed cars last night after Macon and we came here. This car ran just spectacular. The car was great tonight. Kevin Gundaker and his crew do an outstanding job prepping this track."

Bloomquist started third and had a front row seat for the first 35 laps of the race while a terrific battle for the lead among the top five was going on. "I was just sitting there enjoying the way the race was unfolding. I am sure the crowd really was enjoying it was well. We got to second couple of times, then we faded back to third or fourth."

With 35 laps complete, the first and only caution of the race came out. Up until that point, Pierce had been in front from the third lap on and looked to have a handle on the field. Just a lap after the restart, Pierce started to fade as his hopes of going to victory lane were rapidly disappearing.

Bloomquist was able to wrestle the lead from Pierce on lap 37. Pearson slowly climbed from his ninth starting spot throughout the race and was now running second. Bloomquist battled through lapped traffic in the last five laps holding off Pearson at the finish line.

"I would like to thank Crop Production Services and Dyna-Gro for coming on board in the last week. I also want to thank Reece Monument Company, Mark Martin Automotive, Penske Shocks, Base Racing Fuel, Lucas Oil Products, Horton Coal, and Sorbera Chiropractic," said the 51-year-old Hall-of-Fame driver who drives a Sweet-Bloomquist Chassis powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine.

Pearson re-gained the points lead over Jonathan Davenport with his runner-up finish. "I'd like to thank Carlton and Kemp Lamm, Dunn-Benson Ford, Lucas Oil Products, and Black Diamond Chassis. It's a team effort and those people make it possible to do this."

Sheppard kept his car glued to the top of the track for most of the 50 laps to secure his third place finish. "Yes it was a real good points night. We just didn't have enough for Scott and Earl there at the end. I have to thank my dad and grandpa for making this possible and a big thanks to Valvoline, Kid's Castle Learning Center, Champion Spark Plus, and Mark Richards at Rocket Chassis."

Completing the top ten were Jimmy Mars Dennis Erb Jr., Ryan Unzicker, Jonathan Davenport, and Billy Laycock.

In preliminary action, Shannon Babb set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 45 entrants, with a lap of 14.794 seconds. Dennis Erb Jr. set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 15.232 seconds. Shannon Babb, Scott Bloomquist, Dennis Erb Jr., and Bobby Pierce won their respective heat races. Jason Feger and Chris Brown won their respective B-Mains.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday, May 1st, 2015
Spring Spectacular
Tri-City Speedway - Granite City, IL

1 3 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
2 9 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
3 8 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL
4 12 5 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
5 7 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
6 6 28m Jimmy Mars Menomonie, WI
7 2 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
8 20 24x Ryan Unzicker El Paso, IL
9 5 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC
10 25 82 Billy Laycock Marine, IL
11 23 99m Devin Moran Dresden, OH
12 13 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
13 18 21b Chris Brown Spring, TX
14 21 54 Matt Westfall Pleasant Hill, OH
15 4 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL
16 10 75 Billy Drake Bloomington, IL
17 19 0K Dewayne Kiefer Bloomsdale MO
18 24 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
19 27 25 Mike Benedum Salem, WV
20 17 25F Jason Feger Bloomington, IL
21 11 33T Tim Manville Highland, IL
22 15 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
23 16 21 Billy Moyer Batesville, AR
24 22 186 Jeremy Payne Springfield, MO
25 1 18 Shannon Babb Mowequa, IL
26 26 15V Kolby Vandenbergh Ashland, IL
27 14 22 Darrel Moser New Haven, MO

Heat #1 (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Shannon Babb, Jonathan Davenport, Earl Pearson, Jr., Jimmy Owens, Jason Feger, Chris Simpson, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Spencer Diercks, Jeremy Sneed, Austin Rettig, Kevin Cole, Chip Morgan

Heat #2: Scott Bloomquist, Steve Francis, Tim Manville, Jared Landers, Dewayne Kiefer, Billy Laycock, Matt Westfall, Devin Moran, Scott Weber, Kolby Vandenbergh, Mike Hammerle

Heat #3: Dennis Erb, Jr., Jimmy Mars, Billy Drake, Darrel Moser, Ryan Unzicker, Jim Shereck, Wendell Wallace, Jason Riggs, Mike Benedum, Chris Fetter, Claude Walker

Heat #4: Bobby Pierce, Brandon Sheppard, Don O'Neal, Billy Moyer, Chris Brown, Michael Kloos, Jeremy Payne, Cody Conner, Jeff Herzog, Ken Rumble, Scott Henseler

B-Main #1 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Jason Feger, Dewayne Kiefer, Matt Westfall, Chris Simpson, Devin Moran, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Spencer Diercks, Billy Laycock, Scott Weber, Kolby Vandenbergh, Mike Hammerle, Jeremy Sneed, Austin Rettig, Kevin Cole, Chip Morgan

B-Main #2: Chris Brown, Ryan Unzicker, Jeremy Payne, Michael Kloos, Jim Shereck, Mike Benedum, Jason Riggs, Cody Conner, Ken Rumble, Claude Walker, Jeff Herzog, Scott Henseler, Chris Fetter, Wendell Wallace

Fast Time Group A: Shannon Babb / 14.794 seconds
Fast Time Group B: Dennis Erb Jr. / 15.232 seconds

Event Photos courtesy of Rick Schwallie


Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.