Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 04/20/21 at 6:47am


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway - 5/15 Results (Read 4389 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway - 5/15 Results
05/15/15 at 9:42pm
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway
May 15, 2015

Pearson Wins Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series' First Visit to Oshkosh

OSHKOSH, WI (May 15) - Earl Pearson Jr. survived a side-by-side battle with Dennis Erb Jr. to win his third Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series race of the season on Friday Night at Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway. Pearson's Dunn-Benson Ford, Lucas Oil Products, Black Diamond Chassis #1 machine took the lead for good on lap 29.

Pearson's win in the first series visit to the state of Wisconsin in nine years allows him to stay on top the series points standings. He captured the victory over Jimmy Mars, Erb, Devin Moran, and Jared Landers.

"This is the first-time we have ever been here; this is a really nice facility and race track. It looked like they had a heck of a crowd here tonight and I want to thank all of the fans for coming out tonight to support the series. I want to thank my crew and the track crew for all of their hard work; the track was just tremendous all night! Erb and I went door-to-door for what seemed liked forever. He ran me clean, and we gave each other plenty of room out there."

Jim Denhamer Photos | Mike Ruefer Photos

"We were catching him [Erb] before the caution came out. Then, after we went green again, it was on. I'd lead a lap, and then Erb would, back and forth! This had to be great for the fans. We were able to finally get away from him and I also see that Mars got by him at the end.   I'd also like to thank my car owners, Carlton and Kemp Lamm, my crew chief, John Pfeffer, Brian "Catfish" Lucas, and everybody else along with Lucas Oil Products, Midwest Sheet Metal, Moree's Enterprises, Sunoco Race Fuels, Ohlins, and Andy Durham Racing Engines."

Erb was looking to make a clean sweep of the night's racing as he set overall fast time and won his heat to earn the outside-front-row for the 50 lap main event. Erb led the first 21 laps of the race until Pearson, who started third took the lead for the first time. The race was slowed by only one caution on lap 19 for debris.

Mars came on strong towards the end of the race. With his home state crowd on its feet, Mars bolted ahead of Erb on the final lap to grab second. "Yeah, that was a pretty exciting finish. We came up really well on the bottom. We were picking off cars every lap, but we just fell one more pass short for the win. I want to thank all these fans for coming out. It's good to showcase these nice facilities we have here in Wisconsin. We don't get too many big races like this around here anymore," said the driver of the Deppe Enterprises, Mid-States Equipment, MB Customs Chevy.

"Our car started getting tight towards the end," said Erb, who wound up third in the final rundown. "We had a really good car all night, and I thought if I got out in front it would be hard for them to catch me. I am really pleased with this McBride Mack, M&S Concrete, Jay Dickens Racing Engines, and Barry Wright Race Car. We get to go to LaSalle tomorrow night; one of the tracks I cut my teeth on!"

Completing the top ten were Don O'Neal, Brandon Sheppard, Chad Simpson, Scott Bloomquist, and Jason Feger.

Chris Brown received 75 hardship points after being unable to attend tonight's event.  
In preliminary action, Dennis Erb Jr. set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group B) amongst the 29 entrants, with a lap of 14.959 seconds. Don O'Neal set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 15.099 seconds. Don O'Neal, Earl Pearson Jr., Dennis Erb Jr., and Chris Simpson won their respective heat races. Tim McCreadie and Steve Francis won their respective B-Mains.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday, May 15th, 2015
Spring Shootout
Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway - Oshkosh, WI

1 3 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
2 7 28m Jimmy Mars Menomonie, WI
3 2 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
4 10 99m Devin Moran Dresden, OH
5 14 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
6 1 5 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
7 5 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL
8 15 25 Chad Simpson Mt. Vernon, IA
9 9 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
10 11 25F Jason Feger Bloomington, IL
11 16 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL
12 4 32c Chris Simpson Oxford, IA
13 17 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY
14 19 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
15 6 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC
16 12 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
17 18 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
18 21 15A Nick Anvelink Bonduel, WI
19 23 74 Russ Scheffler Pewaukee, WI
20 13 3s Brian Shirley Chatham, IL
21 8 58d AJ Diemel Elk Mound, WI
22 22 29x Spencer Diercks Davenport, IA
23 20 10 Paul Parker DePere, WI
24 24 1F David Fieber Chippewa Falls, WI

Race Statistics
Entrants: 29
Lap Leaders: Dennis Erb Jr. (Laps 1 - 21); Earl Pearson Jr. (Laps 22 - 23); Dennis Erb Jr. (Laps 24 - 28); Earl Pearson Jr. (Laps 29 - 50)
Cautions: Debris (Lap 19)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: none
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: none
Fast Time Provisionals: Russ Scheffler; David Fieber
Hard Charger of the Race: Jared Landers

B-Main #1
1 39 Tim McCreadie
2 20 Jimmy Owens
3 15A Nick Anvelink
4 74m Mitch McGrath
5 74 Russ Scheffler
6 1B Doug Blashe
7 54 Mike Fryer

B-Main #2
1 15 Steve Francis
2 29x Spencer Diercks
3 10 Paul Parker
4 1F David Fieber
5 D1 Turk Letizia
6 7b Tim Buhler

Heat #1
1 5 Don O'Neal
2 3s Brian Shirley
3 B5 Brandon Sheppard
4 0 Scott Bloomquist
5 74 Russ Scheffler
6 15A Nick Anvelink
7 20 Jimmy Owens
8 1B Doug Blashe

Heat #2
1 1 Earl Pearson Jr.
2 28m Jimmy Mars
3 25F Jason Feger
4 25 Chad Simpson
5 39 Tim McCreadie
6 54 Mike Fryer
7 74m Mitch McGrath

Heat #3
1 28e Dennis Erb Jr.
2 Jonathan Davenport
3 99m Devin Moran
4 777 Jared Landers
5 15 Steve Francis
6 29x Spencer Diercks
7 D1 Turk Letizia
8 7b Tim Buhler

Heat #4
1 32c Chris Simpson
2 58d AJ Diemel
3 28 Eddie Carrier Jr.
4 32 Bobby Pierce
5 1F David Fieber
6 10 Paul Parker

Group A Qualifying
1 5 Don O'Neal 15.099
2 1 Earl Pearson Jr. 15.139
3 B5 Brandon Sheppard 15.243
4 25 Chad Simpson 15.265
5 74 Russ Scheffler 15.287
6 28m Jimmy Mars 15.323
7 15A Nick Anvelink 15.344
8 39 Tim McCreadie 15.425
9 0 Scott Bloomquist 15.504
10 74m Mitch McGrath 15.537
11 3s Brian Shirley 15.558
12 25F Jason Feger 15.664
13 20 Jimmy Owens 15.751
14 54 Mike Fryer 16.263
15 1B Doug Blashe 16.771

Group B Qualifying
1 28e Dennis Erb Jr. 14.959
2 58d AJ Diemel 14.989
3 99m Devin Moran 15.019
4 32c Chris Simpson 15.191
5 29x Spencer Diercks 15.234
6 10 Paul Parker 15.289
7 777 Jared Landers 15.325
8 28 Eddie Carrier Jr. 15.330
9 15 Steve Francis 15.465
10 1F David Fieber 15.507
11 6 Jonathan Davenport 15.887
12 32 Bobby Pierce 15.906
13 7b Tim Buhler 16.552
14 D1 Turk Letizia 16.868

Event Photos courtesy of Jim Denhamer

Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Re: Lucas Oil Series at Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway - 5/15 Results
Reply #1 - 05/15/15 at 11:04pm
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway
May 15, 2015

Event Photos courtesy of Mike Ruefer

Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.