Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 04/16/21 at 10:40am


Pages: 1
Spring Nationals at Boyd's Speedway - 5/22 Results (Read 1068 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Spring Nationals at Boyd's Speedway - 5/22 Results
05/23/15 at 1:10pm
May 23, 2015

Donald McIntosh Gets First Career Spring Nationals Series Victory at Boyd's

by Chris Tilley, Series P.R. Coordinator
RINGGOLD, GA (May 22)-Donald McIntosh finally won an Old Man's Garage Spring Nationals Series race.

The Dawsonville, Ga. driver led from start to finish for his first-career Spring Nationals Series victory at Boyd's Speedway in Ringgold, Ga. on Friday Night May 22, 2015. McIntosh drove the Blount Motorsports, Massey Electric, Tennessee RV and Cherokee Millwright sponsored, Vic Hill Racing Engines powered Rocket Chassis to the victory.

McIntosh became the sixteenth different winner on the Spring Nationals Series with his $4,000 payday at Boyd's Speedway.

"My car was awesome, I was a little bit worried there, I didn't know really where I needed to be on the track, but right in the middle the car was working so good, I could maneuver through traffic there pretty well, I can't thank the guys enough, I had an awesome car and this has been such a wonderful year for me and a blessing to be able to be a part of it. I can't thank Larry Garner, B.J. Hillman, David Bryant, Massey Electric, everybody on the car that helps us out, couldn't do it without all of them and it's really cool to be a part of it," stated an excited McIntosh in victory lane.

Polesitter McIntosh and Derek Ellis brought the field to the green flag with McIntosh jumping to the commanding lead on the outside lane. Ivendent Lloyd would settle for second on the opening lap but not for long as Ellis would grab the spot away. Ellis would do battle with fourth-starting Dale McDowell on the next circuit while McIntosh put some ground between the rest of the field.

By lap eleven, McIntosh would enter heavy lapped traffic as Jason Croft would be the first car to go a lap down and Ellis would easily gain some ground on McIntosh for the point.

After a lap 14 caution, McDowell had moved up on the outside to try and take the third spot away from Lloyd but wouldn't be enough and had to tuck back in behind the pack of cars as they worked the next lap.

With 14 laps remaining, the leaders would again face heavy lapped traffic and with just eight circuits to go, McIntosh would again face Ellis, this time in more lapped traffic and have to maneuver through it quickly to put some real estate between him and Ellis.

McIntosh would hold off Ellis for the win. McDowell would settle for third after finally getting around Lloyd with just two laps to go. Rounding out the top-five was eighth starting Billy Ogle Jr.

Only one caution would slow the field. On lap 14, Dane Dacus slowed his mount entering turn one to bring out the only yellow in the main event, which took just over thirteen minutes to complete.

The Spring Nationals Series will be back in action at Dixie Speedway in Woodstock, Ga. tonight (Saturday May 23rd) for another 40-lap $4,000-to-win event.

Feature Results from Boyd's Speedway on May 22, 2015:
1. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
2. Derek Ellis-Chatsworth, Ga.
3. Dale McDowell-Chickamauga, Ga.
4. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.-Ocala, Fla.
5. Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, Tenn.
6. Mike Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
7. Skip Arp-Georgetown, Tenn.
8. Jay Scott-Taft, Tenn.
9. Riley Hickman-Cleveland, Tenn.
10. Chris Wilson-Crossville, Tenn.
11. Stacy Boles-Clinton, Tenn.
12. Jason Welshan-Maryville, Tenn.
13. Dylan Ames-Harvest, Ala.
14. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
15. Ronnie Johnson-Chattanooga, Tenn.
16. Jason Croft-Woodstock, Ga.
17. Ronnie Lee Hollingsworth-Northport, Ala.
18. Brandon Kinzer-Allen, Ky.
19. Neil Baggett-Columbus, Miss.
20. Austin Smith-Cedartown, Ga.
21. Skylar Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
22. Dane Dacus-Lakeland, Tenn.

Time of Race: 13 minutes, 15 seconds.
Yellow Flags: One (lap 14)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: McIntosh (1-40)
Entries: 35
FK Rod Ends Overall Fast Time: Derek Ellis-13.541 seconds
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
Highest Finishing Steel Head/SPEC Engine ($200): Riley Hickman
Provisional Starters: Jason Croft, Jason Welshan

Dash Finish (4 laps): Donald McIntosh, Ivedent Lloyd, Derek Ellis, Dale McDowell

Last Chance Race One Finish (10 Laps/Top-4 advance): Skip Arp, Skylar Marlar, Stacy Boles, Chris Wilson, Rick Rickman, T.J. Reaid, Scott Groves, Jeff Smith, Josh Putnam (DNS).

Last Chance Race Two Finish (10 Laps/Top-4 advance): Brandon Kinzer, Dane Dacus, Jay Scott, Dylan Ames, Jake Knowles, Jason Croft, George Mashburn, Jason Hiett.

Last Chance Race Three Finish (10 Laps/Top-4 advance): Mike Marlar, Riley Hickman, Ronnie Johnson, Ronnie Lee Hollingsworth, Brian Rickman, Jason Welshan, Mark Fields.

Last Chance Race Four Finish (10 Laps/Top-4 advance): Billy Ogle Jr., Neil Baggett, David Payne, Austin Smith, Dusty Carver, Joseph Gorby, Robert Gant.

Current Spring Nationals Series Points (after May 22nd)
1. Billy Ogle Jr.-827
2. Donald McIntosh-819
3. Stacy Boles-777
4. David Payne-773
5. Austin Smith-757
6. Chris Madden-651
7. Jason Croft-589
8. Dale McDowell-582
9. Mike Marlar-568
10. Mark Dotson-542
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.