Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 04/20/21 at 7:18am


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Florence Speedway - 5/30 Results (Read 3672 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Florence Speedway - 5/30 Results
05/30/15 at 10:22pm
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Florence Speedway
May 30, 2015

Davenport Dominates Ralph Latham Memorial at Florence Speedway

UNION, KY (May 30, 2015) - Jonathan Davenport dominated the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned Ralph Latham Memorial main event on Saturday Night at Florence Speedway. Davenport led all 50 laps in his K&L Rumley Racing; Longhorn Chassis to win for his first ever victory at the 1/2-mile oval.
With less than five laps to go, Earl Pearson Jr. drove around Scott Bloomquist to claim second. Bloomquist finished third, followed by Jared Landers and Steve Francis rounding out the top five.
"I have never run well here," said Davenport in Lucas Oil Victory Lane. "I haven't been here since 2012, when I ran for Rookie of the Year on the Lucas Oil [Late Model Dirt] Series tour. Obviously, this is first time here in this Longhorn car, and it was just flawless. I ran the top for most of the race, and then on that restart, I decided I was going to go low, and the next thing I knew Scott [Bloomquist] was right beside me, so I quickly went back to the top."
"They have changed the track some since I have been here. After the rain, they had this afternoon, the track was super fast. Beating Scott in that heat race was really big for us to get the outside front row starting spot. "I would like to thank all of my sponsors: TS Crane Service, Sundance Services, Sundance Flowback Well Testing, and Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas; without all of them we couldn't do this, that's for sure!"
"I am still sore today from the barrel roll we did at Tazewell last night," said Earl Pearson Jr. following his runner-up performance. Thanks to Ronnie Stuckey for building such a safe racecar. The cage held up like it was supposed to. To come out here tonight and run as well as we did, I just can't thank this Dunn-Benson Ford team enough.
"Everybody racing up front gave each other plenty of racing room. Scott could have cut me off coming off of four when I went around him, but he raced me clean. I'm so thankful to Lucas Oil Products, Midwest Sheet Metal, Sunoco Race Fuels, Moree's Enterprises, and Ohlins."

Bloomquist had one shot at passing Davenport for the lead after the final restart of the race, but could not clear him. "Our car fired really well on that last restart and he changed the line he had been running. I was able to pull alongside of him, but he shot right back by me. Congratulations to him again; that's two nights in a row he has gotten the job done. I want to thank Reece Monument Company, Mark Martin Automotive, Crop Production Services and everyone who has come on board this year."
Completing the top ten were Brandon Sheppard, Jimmy Owens, Dennis Erb Jr., Devin Moran, and Eric Wells.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group B) amongst the 41 entrants, with a lap of 15.125 seconds. Earl Pearson Jr. set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 15.142 seconds. Earl Pearson Jr., Jimmy Owens, Jonathan Davenport, and Don O'Neal won their respective heat races. Josh Rice and Eddie Carrier Jr. won their respective B-Mains.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday, May 30th, 2015
Ralph Latham Memorial
Florence Speedway - Union, KY
A-Main (50 Laps)
1 2 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC
2 1 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
3 6 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
4 10 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
5 14 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
6 8 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL
7 3 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
8 23 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
9 22 99m Devin Moran Dresden, OH
10 12 18e Eric Wells Hazard, KY
11 17 11 Josh Rice Verona, KY
12 18 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
13 7 157 Mike Marlar Winfield, TN
14 5 1G Devin Gilpin Columbus, IN
15 13 c9 Steve Casebolt  Richmond, IN
16 4 5 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
17 19 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
18 24 97 Michael Chilton Salvisa, KY
19 21 11R James Rice Verona, KY
20 9 D8 Dustin Linville Lancaster, KY
21 16 21b Chris Brown Spring, TX
22 15 83 Scott James  Bright, IN
23 11 20c Duane Chamberlain Richmond, IN
24 25 84 Bill Blair, Jr. Bethel, OH
25 20 15J Greg Johnson Bedford, IN

B-Main #1: Josh Rice, John Blankenship, James Rice, Jason Jameson, Bump Headman, Jesse Lay, Mason Combs, Skylar Marlar, Chad Stapleton, Bill Blair, Jr., Robby Hensley-DNS, Cody Mahoney-DNS

B-Main #2: Eddie Carrier, Jr., Greg Johnson, Devin Moran, Nick Latham, Michael Chilton, Kent Robinson, Dennis Erb, Jr., Matt Westfall, Tommy Bailey, Dustin Nobbe, Tom Webster, Ted Nobbe, RJ Conley-DNS

Heat #1: Earl Pearson, Jr., Devin Gilpin, Dustin Linville, Steve Casebolt, Josh Rice, James Rice, Robby Hensley, Cody Mahoney, Jason Jameson-DNS, Mason Combs-DNS
Heat #2: Jimmy Owens, Mike Marlar, Duane Chamberlain, Scott James, Skylar Marlar, John Blankenship, Chad Stapleton, Bump Headman, Jesse Lay, Bill Blair, Jr.

Heat #3: Jonathan Davenport, Scott Bloomquist, Jared Landers, Steve Francis, Devin Moran, Nick Latham, Michael Chilton, Dennis Erb, Jr., Matt Westfall, Ted Nobbe, Tom Webster

Heat #4: Don O'Neal, Brandon Sheppard, Eric Wells, Chris Brown, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Greg Johnson, Tommy Bailey, Dustin Nobbe, RJ Conley, Kent Robinson

Fast Time: Scott Bloomquist 15.125 seconds

Event Photos courtesy of Jim Denhamer

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com .
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.