Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 11/14/19 at 3:06am


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Portsmouth Raceway Park - 7/4 Results (Read 2500 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14878
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Portsmouth Raceway Park - 7/4 Results
07/05/15 at 1:33am
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Portsmouth Raceway Park
July 4, 2015

Sheppard Shines in Independence 50 at Portsmouth Raceway Park

PORTSMOUTH, OH (July 4) - Brandon Sheppard rocketed around the high-side to win the Independence 50 on Saturday Night at Portsmouth Raceway Park. Sheppard is currently leading the Lucas Oil Products Rookie of the Year chase and becomes the first Rookie to win a Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event this season.

Sheppard started seventh and made a late-race charge to the lead following a long 3-wide battle for the top spot between himself, Earl Pearson Jr. and Dennis Erb Jr. Jared Landers came from the tail, following a tire change to finish second. Erb started 13th and finished third, followed by Jimmy Owens and Pearson. Pearson had already led 41 laps of the event when he relinquished the point late in the race.

"We went kind of soft of tires, softer than we did when we won here two years ago. Thanks to the fans for coming out tonight and for their support. I saw on the scoreboard that we had 15 laps to go and I knew I really need to get going. Jimmy [Owens] and I battled hard for several laps, then I finally cleared him to get to fourth."

"I'm so grateful to my sponsors: Kid's Castle Learning Center, Valvoline, Keyser, Integra, Sunoco, Petroff Towing, Pro Power Engines, Champion Spark Plugs, Sheppard Auto Sales, and Rocket Chassis. I also couldn't do this without my dad, grandpa, my crew Joe and Aaron, and Chuck back at the shop."

Jackie Boggs started on the pole and led the first two laps of the race. A red flag flew on lap three for a multi car wreck in turn one. All drivers walked away safely from the wreck. Boggs then slowed and left the race on lap three.
Pearson picked up the lead and battled Landers for several laps until Landers slowed with a flat tire. Pearson then set a steady pace over the field with Scott Bloomquist holding the second spot. Bloomquist ran second until his left rear wheel broke forcing him to spin and go to the pits for a tire change.

Sheppard and Erb then chased down Pearson for the lead, at one point running 3-wide for the top spot coming out of turn number four. Sheppard forged ahead and went on to become the 12th different winner this season on the LOLMDS tour.

Landers rebounded after his flat tire and was satisfied with his run to second. "We are so close to winning one of these races! I can't keep the tires on it for some reason. We had a car good enough to win tonight. I was racing hard with Earl. Man, our luck has to turn around soon. I want to thank Crop Production Services, Mark Martin Automotive, Bad Boy Mowers, and all of my great sponsors."

Erb always seems to run well at PRP and had another strong finish tonight. "We need to start closer to the front here. You can't spot these guys a lot of positions. I thought I had a chance to win tonight. I would like to thank McBride Mack Leasing, M&S Concrete, Jay Dickens Racing Engines, and Black Diamond Chassis."
Completing the top ten were Steve Francis, Don O'Neal, Eddie Carrier Jr., Chris Brown, and Scott Bloomquist.

In preliminary action, Jackie Boggs set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 37 entrants, with a lap of 14.607 seconds. Scott Bloomquist set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 14.982 seconds. Jackie Boggs, Earl Pearson Jr., Steve Francis, and Jared Landers won their respective heat races. Don O'Neal and RJ Conley won their respective B-Mains.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday, July 4th, 2015
Independence 50
Portsmouth Raceway Park - Portsmouth, OH
1 7 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL
2 4 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
3 13 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
4 12 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
5 3 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
6 2 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
7 17 5 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
8 5 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
9 14 21b Chris Brown Spring, TX
10 6 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
11 16 5b Stephen Breeding Isom, KY
12 15 20c Duane Chamberlain Richmond, IN
13 9 99m Devin Moran Dresden, OH
14 18 71c RJ Conley Wheelersburg, OH
15 20 71d Delmas Conley Wheelersburg, OH
16 10 25Z Mason Zeigler Chalk Hill, PA
17 19 P17 Ben Adkins West Portsmouth, OH
18 1 4b Jackie Boggs Grayson, KY
19 11 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC
20 8 1J Davey Johnson Greensburg, PA
21 22 71R Rod Conley Wheelersburg, OH
22 21 c9 Steve Casebolt  Richmond, IN
23 23 17T Shannon Thornsberry Martin, KY
24 24 21h Kenneth Howell Inez, KY

B-Main #1: Don O'Neal, Ben Adkins, Steve Casebolt ,Kenny Christy, Kirk Phillips, Tommy Bailey, Doug Kenworthy, Shannon Thornsberry, Kenneth Howell, JT Conley-DNS
B-Main #2: RJ Conley, Delmas Conley, Rod Conley, Audie Swartz, Daniel Williams, Dave Hornikel, Avery Taylor, Mike Sark, Craig Wolford, Kevin Wagner, Paul Wilmoth, Jr.-DNS

Heat #1: Jackie Boggs, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Devin Moran, Dennis Erb, Jr., Ben Adkins, Steve Casebolt, Kenny Christy, Tommy Bailey, Kirk Phillips
Heat #2: Earl Pearson, Jr., Brandon Sheppard, Jonathan Davenport, Duane Chamberlain, Don O'Neal, Shannon Thornsberry, Doug Kenworthy, Kenneth Howell, JT Conley

Heat #3: Steve Francis, Scott Bloomquist, Mason Zeigler, Chris Brown, RJ Conley, Rod Conley, Audie Swartz, Avery Taylor, Daniel Williams, Paul Wilmoth, Jr.-DNS

Heat #4: Jared Landers, Davey Johnson, Jimmy Owens, Stephen Breeding, Delmas Conley, Kevin Wagner, Dave Hornikel, Craig Wolford, Mike Sark

Fast Time: Jackie Boggs 14.607 seconds

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com .
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.