Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 04/20/21 at 8:06am


Pages: 1
Southern Nationals at Tazewell Speedway - 8/1 Results (Read 2040 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Southern Nationals at Tazewell Speedway - 8/1 Results
08/02/15 at 4:20am
Southern Nationals Series
Tazewell Speedway
August 1, 2015

Vic Hill Charges from Eighth to Win Southern Nationals Series Finale at Tazewell

Southern Nationals PR
TAZEWELL, TN (August 1) - Vic Hill charged from the eighth starting spot to take home the $10,050 victory Saturday Night at Tazewell Speedway in the West Chevrolet-sponsored 50th Anniversary race.

Hill drove the Landair Transport, Orthopedic Institute of Western Kentucky, Pilot Travel Centers, American Race Tires, Preferred Sandblasting & Painting and Fastlane sponsored Longhorn Chassis with a Vic Hill Racing Engine to his fifth career series victory.

Casey Roberts and Austin Smith brought the field down to Bruce Caylor's green flag and the 50 lapper was underway with Roberts out to the lead early. Austin Smith, Donald McIntosh and Mack McCarter would tuck in behind the leaders as the race went green for the first 20 laps before the first caution.

Eighth place starter Vic Hill would work on leader Casey Roberts before lap 20 but the caution that came on lap 20 slowed Hill's progress. Hill would take another shot at the lead on the bottom side of the track after the field went back green and would eventually make the pass for the lead on lap 24 coming off turn two and officially lead on lap 25. McIntosh would make his presence known and take the second spot away from Roberts on lap 28 but he wouldn't hold the position long as McCarter would challenge McIntosh and take the runner-up position on lap 33.

Hill held the top spot in the remaining laps and go on for the win over McCarter, McIntosh, Ogle and Smith.

Three yellow flags slowed the 50-lapper. The first yellow came on lap 20 for debris in turn three. The next yellow would wave for a spinning Bo Eaton on lap 27 yellow would wave on lap 38 as Casey Roberts came to a stop in turn three after contact with a lapped car. Roberts returned to the tail after he went pitside for repairs.

After the victory lane celebrations took place, Casey Roberts was honored as becoming the 2015 Schaeffer's Oil Southern Nationals Series Champion and clinching the championship by just four markers after a seventh place finish in the main event. Roberts became the sixth different series champion in 11 seasons. Billy Ogle Jr. finished second in the points while Donald McIntosh finished third, Austin Smith finished fourth in the points and Vic Hill came home fifth in the final totals. Craig Vosbergen finished sixth, Mark Dotson finished seventh and Stacy Boles finished eighth in the final points rounding out the list of eight drivers who traveled to all nine events. A total of 94 drivers competed in at least one series event during the series that suffered one rainout at Rome Speedway. The series had six different winners in nine races.

1. Vic Hill-Mosheim, Tenn.
2. Mack McCarter-Gatlinburg, Tenn.
3. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
4. Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, Tenn.
5. Austin Smith-Cedartown, Ga.
6. Jeff Wolfenbarger-Clinton, Tenn.
7. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, Ga.
8. Craig Vosbergen-Perth, Western Australia
9. Stacy Boles-Clinton, Tenn.
10. Jeff Neubert-Rockford, Tenn.
11. Chad Ogle-Sevierville, Tenn.
12. Josh Collins-New Tazewell, Tenn.
13. Philip Thompson-Knoxville, Tenn.
14. Mark Dotson-Cameron, Mo.
15. Anthony Arnwine-New Tazewell, Tenn.
16. Bo Eaton-Blue Ridge, Ga.
17. Randy Davis-New Tazewell, Tenn.
18. Mitchell Burke-Tazewell, Tenn.
19. Bobby Mays-Jonesborough, Tenn. (Did Not Start)

Time of Race: 26 minutes, 37 seconds
Yellow Flags: Three (laps 20, 27, 38)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Roberts (1-24), Hill (25-50)
Entries: 19

Overall Fast Qualifier: Donald McIntosh-11.212 seconds

Photos courtesy of Michael Moats

Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.