Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 04/20/21 at 7:34am


Pages: 1
CLASH at Fayetteville Motor Speedway - 8/1 Results (Read 1161 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
CLASH at Fayetteville Motor Speedway - 8/1 Results
08/02/15 at 1:37pm
Fayetteville Motor Speedway
August 1, 2015

Ben Watkins Puts "Horns Up" with Fayetteville Victory in Jimmy Smith Memorial Race

by Mark Huey
FAYETTEVILLE, NC (August 1) - On June 6, 2015, Ben Watkins, his father and former Lancaster and Chester Speedway veteran Ed Watkins, gathered with Doug and Brian Martaurano of Camden, SC and the rest of the Sandwood Company #16 crew celebrating their first ever Carolina Clash win. It came at Fayetteville. Last night, it happened again.

Ben Watkins set the stage early with Colbert, GA native Kenny Collins pacing the field to green after qualifying on the front row. Watkins, knowing how important protecting the bottom entering turn one on the first lap, established the pace early. After a few unsuccessful original starts, the race went to and stayed green for 19 laps, with Watkins leading Kenny Collins and Scott Autry.

Several cautions slowed progress for one-car stalls on track, but in the second period of the 40-lap feature, Watkins was never threatened en route to his second Clash win.

In his remarks from the make-shift victory lane on the front straightaway, he had to thank the people that have put him where he was at that moment.

"Uncle Larry, Doug, Brian and this whole crew. They put me here. This car was awesome," referring to the new Longhorn Sandwood Company, A Mobile Truck Storage #16 car fielded out of Camden, South Carolina.

"WOW!!! Just unbelievable!" were the words of car owner Doug Martaurano, whose smile was nearly as big as the trophy Watkins hoisted high into the air during the celebration.

Scott Autry used a late race restart to maneuver around Kenny Collins to overtake the second-place position, with Shawn Sewell placing fourth in his early career with Carolina Clash and super late models from Dunn, NC.

The race paid tribute to Marietta, Georgia businessman Jimmy Smith, who for over 40 years worked as a regional representative for the Racing Tires of America (America Racer) tire company. Mooresville, NC Carolina Racing Supply donated two sets of American Racer to be given away to the highest qualifier and finisher racing on all American Racers. Scott Shirey of Swansea, SC was awarded both sets for his 5th place finish.

Heintz Performance of Concord, NC also donated a set of tires to be given away in memory of Jimmy Smith. Those will be given away at the upcoming event at Bulls Gap, TN this coming Saturday night to the highest finishing "non-winner" running on all four American Racers.

The Safety-Kleen Hard Charger of the Race was Roger Lucas from Fayetteville, NC. He finished 6th after starting 13th.

Doug Sanders picked up bonus points for winning the event's only heat race. He led all six laps securing his 11th place starting position.

Jimmy Smith Memorial Race Feature Results:
1 16 Ben Watkins
2 A1 Scott Autry
3 1C Kenny Collins
4 O6 Shawn Sewell
5 10S Scott Shirey
6 79 Roger Lucas
7 421 Anthony Sanders
8 42 Doug Sanders
9 10J Keith Jacobs
10 618 Kevin Wilson
11 3 Shaun Harrell
12 23 Michael Rouse
13 22 Zack Mitchell
14 72 Mike Parker
15 11 Lance Brasington
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.