Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 02/29/24 at 12:39pm


Pages: 1
MSCCS at Greenville Speedway - 10/3 Results (Read 3351 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
MSCCS at Greenville Speedway - 10/3 Results
10/03/15 at 10:54pm
Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series
Greenville Speedway
October 3, 2015

Timothy Culp Conquers Gumbo Nationals for Second-Straight Year

by Ben Shelton
GREENVILLE, Mississippi (October 3) – It definitely didn’t come easy, and it definitely wasn’t pretty, but Timothy Culp emerged victorious in the 9th Annual Harlow’s Casino Gumbo Nationals at Greenville Speedway on Saturday night. The $10,000 victory marked the second-straight year that the Prattsville, Arkansas driver conquered the ¼ mile confines in the Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series (MSCCS) sanctioned event.

Kyle Cummings and Brian Rickman brought the field to the green flag for the 75-lap affair, but the initial start would be nullified by a spin by 9th starting Ray Moore in turn one. Moore was able to rejoin the tail of the field, and on the ensuing attempt to get the event underway Rickman bolted to the lead with the 4th starting Culp advancing to 2nd with Bub McCool, Cummings, and Eric Cooley in tow.

The caution waved on lap 10 as Tyler Erb spun in turn one with a flat tire. Culp capitalized on the double-file restart as he executed a masterful slide job to take the top spot away from Brian Rickman in turn two. The next few laps found Culp extending his advantage with Rickman, McCool, Cummings, and Jack Sullivan in pursuit.

A lap 19 regrouped the field, but as the green flag waved again Culp again extended his advantage. By the 29th circuit lapped traffic was becoming a factor. Culp’s struggles in traffic allowed Brian Rickman and Bub McCool to reel in the leader. However, bad luck struck for McCool on lap 32, when he nearly spun in turn one. The car slowed considerably and looked to be coming to a complete stop before McCool fired the engine once again. Unfortunately the caution flew for the slowing McCool, and he was sent to the rear. He would be far from done though, and the chaos would be just getting started.

A lap 37 caution for Tommy Surrett set up a restart, where Brian Rickman closely pursued Timothy Culp. Entering turn one on the 40th circuit, Rickman attempted an apparent slide job on Culp, which saw the two make hard contact. Culp was pinched into the outside wall and almost flipped as his passenger side wheels rode the top of the concrete wall. Somehow both drivers manage to keep going, but not before the caution flew. Rickman was credited with the caution due to initiating the contact, and was sent to the tail of the field. Culp amazingly sustained minimal damage, and resumed the lead.

The next restart found 2nd place runner, Kyle Cummings being penalized for jumping the restart. With Cummings pushed back to 3rd, Jack Sullivan was promoted to 2nd. Sullivan’s time in the runner-up spot would be short-lived though as contact with Cummings entering turn three on lap 40 found Sullivan slamming into the outside wall as his night came to an early end. He displayed his displeasure with Cummings under the caution period before retreating pitside.

As the field tried to separate itself from lap 40, Kyle Cummings bolted to the lead on the restart with Garrett Alberson briefly taking the 2nd spot down the backstretch. Culp however used an impressive move to retake the lead at the flag stand.

The next three laps found a three-wide battle for the lead between Culp, Alberson, and Cummings. Bad luck would bite Cummings on lap 44 though as contact with Josh Putnam sent him spinning to the infield.

The restart found Culp at the point with Alberson, Putnam, Eric Cooley, and Bub McCool, who went to the tail on lap 32, occupying the top five.

Culp again had his hands full on the restart as Alberson and Putnam briefly pushed him to 3rd before Culp overcame another outstanding battle to lead the field back to the flag stand.

The next several laps found Culp extending his advantage, but the battle behind him featured incredible racing. Putnam ran 2nd with Garrett Alberson, Chad Thrash, Bub McCool, and a rebounding Ray Moore all in pursuit. The battle for positions two through six found constant two and three wide battles with non-stop position swapping.

In the closing laps Putnam took 2nd for good with McCool, Ray Moore, and Chad Thrash settling into their top five finishing spots. Culp claimed the win by a little less than a second.

An elated Culp was quite honest in victory lane.

“(Brian) Rickman screwed up when he crashed me, because that just pissed me off, and I started racing a lot harder,” said Culp. “My front end was toed-out bad after that, and I couldn’t restart very well at all. I’m sure that made for some exciting racing for the fans, but man it was a handful for me.” The personable racer, concluded by saying, “I know that Bub (McCool) has a lot of fans here at Greenville, but hopefully tonight I made some.”

This concludes the 2015 season for Greenville Speedway. Keep your browser locked to www.GreenvilleSpeedway.net for information on the 2016 season.

Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series
9th Annual Harlow’s Casino Gumbo Nationals
Feature Results (75 Laps)
1) Timothy Culp (Prattsville, AR)
2) Josh Putnam (Florence, AL)
3) Bub McCool (Vicksburg, MS)
4) Ray Moore (Haughton, LA)
5) Chad Thrash (Meridian, MS)
6) Allen Tippen (Minden, LA)
7) Hunter Rasdon (Jonesboro, AR)
8) B.J. Robinson (Shreveport, LA)
9) Kyle Cummings (Sibley, LA)
10) Garrett Alberson (Las Cruces, NM)
11) Brett White (Kosciusko, MS)
12) Tanner Kellick (Merouge, LA)
13) Eric Cooley (Fulton, MS)
14) Brian Rickman (Columbus, MS)
15) Jack Sullivan (Greenbrier, AR)
16) Clay Fisher (Dewitt, AR)
17) Ronnie Adams (Greenwood, LA)
18) Tommy Surrett (North Little Rock, AR)
19) Billy Moyer Jr. (Batesville, AR)
20) Neil Baggett (Shannon, MS)
21) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth (Northport, AL)
22) Tyler Erb (New Waverly, TX)
23) Rick Rickman (Columbus, MS)
24) Robert Baker (Bryant, AR)

Entries: 43
Group A Qualifying Fast Time: Mark Tice (15.852 seconds)
Group B Qualifying Fast Time & Overall Fast Time: Brian Rickman (15.560 seconds)

Heat Race #1 (Top Four Finishers Transfer to Feature): Kyle Cummings, Hunter Rasdon, Ray Moore, Tanner Kellick, BJ Robinson, Mark Dodson, Mark Tice, Brett White, Robert Baker, Tyler Erb, Duke Palasini

Heat Race #2 (Top Four Finishers Transfer to Feature): Brian Rickman, Eric Cooley, Jack Sullivan, Chad Thrash, Doug Showah, Troy Berdan, Bo Gordon, Chris Smith, Paul Jones, Tommy Surrett

Heat Race #3 (Top Four Finishers Transfer to Feature): Bub McCool, Garrett Alberson, Josh Putnam, Neil Baggett, Kyle Beard, Ashley Newman, Cale Finley, Lew Lyles, David Carpenter, Jason Michau

Heat Race #4 (Top Four Finishers Transfer to Feature): Timothy Culp, Billy Moyer Jr., Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, Allen Tippen, Clay Fisher, Ronnie Adams, Jonathan Rowan, Mike Harris, Bubba Harrison

B-Main #1 (Top Three Finishers Transfer to Feature): B.J. Robinson, Tyler Erb, Robert Baker, Kyle Beard, Ashley Newman, Mark Tice, Rick Rickman, Brett White, Cale Finley, Mark Dodson, Jason Michau

B-Main #2 (Top Three Finishers Transfer to Feature): Clay Fisher, Ronnie Adams, Tommy Surrett, Jonathan Rowan, Troy Berdan, Bo Gordon, Doug Showah, Bubba Harrison, Scott Abraham, Mike Harris, Paul Jones
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.