Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 12/02/22 at 10:50am


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Tri-City Speedway - 4/29 Results (Read 3785 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Tri-City Speedway - 4/29 Results
04/30/16 at 12:33am
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Tri-City Speedway
April 29, 2016

Bloomquist Best in Lucas Oil Budweiser 50 at Tri-City Speedway

GRANITE CITY, IL (April 29) - Scott Bloomquist took the lead on the 42nd lap of the Budweiser 50 on Friday Night at Tri-City Speedway, and then went on to win the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned event. Bloomquist and Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series points leader, Jonathan Davenport, went toe-to-toe for several laps until Bloomquist pulled away at the end.
The 50-lap race went caution free as Bloomquist notched his third LOLMDS victory of the season. Davenport finished second despite losing his brakes and suffering a flat left rear tire. Dennis Erb Jr. came home in third, followed by Don O'Neal and Tim McCreadie.
One week after getting passed on the final lap at Hagerstown Speedway by Gregg Satterlee, Bloomquist made sure he crossed the finish line first tonight. "We had a good run. He [Davenport] got off to a good start and ran the top really well. I tried to make the bottom work, and I might have also gone too soft on tires. I took it kind of easy, because the car was rotating so well. I just tried to stay focused and get by the lapped cars," said the winner. Bloomquist now has 65 career LOLMDS wins, "this track was awesome tonight. They did a great job in prepping it after all the rain this week. There were several lanes to run on."
Davenport bolted from his outside front row starting spot to grab the lead at the start of the race. Bloomquist started right behind Davenport and caught up to the high flying Davenport in heavy lapped traffic. Bloomquist took the lead for the first time in the race on lap 18. Davenport then fought back while banging the outside wall several times in retaking the lead on lap 19. Davenport held the point until eight laps to go, when Bloomquist forged back ahead for the final time.


"I want to thank my sponsors: Crop Production Services, Reece Monument Company, Mark Martin Automotive, and everybody else with our race team. We cut into Davenport's points lead and we will just continue to improve as the season goes along." Bloomquist' Sweet-Bloomquist Race Car is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine.
When Davenport went to the scales after crossing the finish line, his left rear tire was completely flat. "With this tire going flat, I'm just glad we finished when we did. About halfway through I lost brakes, so I had to run the bottom. We are working on some stuff with these cars. I think it's going to be really good."
"I was just trying to take it easy when I lost my brakes. He [Bloomquist] showed me his nose. I split a couple of cars. I was trying to be aggressively patient. We pulled back away from him and it just got worse and worse and then the tire started going down. I couldn't hold him [Bloomquist] off. Good run for Scott and Dennis. It is always great to come here and race in front of such a large crowd!"
Erb was looking for a clean sweep of the night's activities as he set the Miller Welders Fast Time and won his heat race, but fell just short of the sweep. He passed Don O'Neal on the final lap to get third. "The car was good all night, and starting up front sure makes things a lot easier. I sort of lost track of the top two. We worked really hard on this car all week long, and we are making strides," said the driver of the Vomac Truck Sales and J.R. McBride Leasing Black Diamond Chassis.

Completing the top ten were Darrell Lanigan, Shannon Babb, Jimmy Owens, Bobby Pierce, and Jared Landers.
In preliminary action, Dennis Erb Jr. set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 35 entrants, with a lap of 14.350 seconds. Jonathan Davenport set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 14.508 seconds. Dennis Erb Jr., Jeff Herzog, Jonathan Davenport and Scott Bloomquist won their respective heat races. Jim Shereck and Billy Laycock won their respective B-Mains.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday, April 29th, 2016
Budweiser 50
Tri-City Speedway - Granite City, IL
1 4 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
2 2 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC
3 1 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
4 12 5 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
5 10 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY
6 7 15L Darrell Lanigan Union, KY
7 6 18 Shannon Babb Mowequa, IL
8 14 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
9 15 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL
10 23 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
11 5 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL
12 9 6k Michael Kloos Trenton, IL
13 8 33T Tim Manville St. Jacob, IL
14 3 11H Jeff Herzog Herculaneum, MO
15 16 15F Steve Francis Bowling Green, KY
16 13 25F Jason Feger Bloomington, IL
17 11 24x Ryan Unzicker El Paso, IL
18 22 R5x Hunter Rasdon Jonesboro, AR
19 17 17s Jim Shereck St. Charles, MO
20 19 4G Bob Gardner Washington, IL
21 24 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
22 25 75 Colton Flinner Allison Park, PA
23 18 82 Billy Laycock Marine, IL
24 26 11 Gordy Gundaker St. Charles, MO
25 27 10x Rusty Griffaw Festus, MO
26 20 15V Kolby Vandenbergh Ashland, IL
27 21 33c Billy Faust Lebanon, IL

Race Statistics
Entrants: 35
Lap Leaders: Jonathan Davenport (Laps 1 - 17); Scott Bloomquist (Lap 18); Jonathan Davenport (Laps 19 - 42); Scott Bloomquist (Laps 43 - 50)
Cautions: None
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Jared Landers, Earl Pearson Jr.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: Colton Flinner
Tri-City Speedway Track Provisionals: Gordy Gundaker, Rusty Griffaw
Wrisco Feature Winner: Scott Bloomquist

Heat #1: Dennis Erb, Jr., Brandon Sheppard, Michael Kloos, Jason Feger, Jim Shereck, Billy Faust, Darrel Moser, Jr., Dewayne Kiefer, Reid Millard
Heat #2: Jeff Herzog, Darrell Lanigan, Ryan Unzicker, Bobby Pierce, Bob Gardner, Colton Flinner, Mike Hammerle, Chris Simpson

Heat #3: Jonathan Davenport, Shannon Babb, Tim McCreadie, Jimmy Owens, Billy Laycock, Jared Landers, Rusty Griffaw, Hunter Rasdon

Heat #4: Scott Bloomquist, Tim Manville, Don O'Neal, Steve Francis, Earl Pearson, Jr., Gordy Gundaker, Kolby Vandenbergh, Brian Diveley

B-Main #1: Jim Shereck, Bob Gardner, Billy Faust, Colton Flinner, Dewayne Kiefer, Darrel Moser, Jr., Mike Hammerle, Chris Simpson-DNS, Reid Millard-DNS
B-Main #2: Billy Laycock, Kolby Vandenbergh, Hunter Rasdon, Gordy Gundaker, Rusty Griffaw, Brian Diveley, Jared Landers, Earl Pearson, Jr.-DNS

Fast Time: Dennis Erb Jr. 14.350 seconds

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, including the latest series standings, 2016 tour schedule, driver information, and more visit the official website at: www.lucasdirt.com.
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.