Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 12/01/23 at 3:55am


Pages: 1
Spring Nationals at Ponderosa Speedway - 4/29 Results (Read 1507 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Spring Nationals at Ponderosa Speedway - 4/29 Results
04/30/16 at 12:40pm
Ponderosa Speedway
April 30, 2016

Michael Chilton Claims First-Ever Spring Nationals Series Event Victory at Ponderosa

by Chris Tilley
JUNCTION CITY, Ky. (April 29) - Michael Chilton survived rigorous driving conditions to claim his first Old Man's Garage Spring Nationals Series by Schaeffer's Oil event victory at the Ponderosa Speedway on Friday Night.

The Salvisa, Ky. native, who was a tour regular in 2013 and 2014, scored the $4,000 payday and became the 19th different winner in series history while driving the Chilton's Lawn Maintenance, Superior Drywall and Caton's Industrial Painting-sponsored Bullock Racing Engines-powered Rocket Chassis. Chilton also became the fifth different winner in six races this season.

Fast qualifier and polesitter Cody Mahoney and Michael Chilton brought the field to life to start the 40-lapper with Mahoney. Chilton held the point until Mahoney was able to slip past Chilton for the top spot. Chilton would grab the point back away from Mahoney on the 17th lap and never look back in route to the victory.

Five caution flags slowed the main event. On lap five, Chris Combs spun into the infield on the front-chute. On the lap-13 caution, James Rice slowed in turn two. Johnny Wheeler stopped on the front-stretch on the 17th lap to bring out the third yellow flag. On lap-21, Cody Mahoney stopped in turn three to bring out the next yellow and the final caution flag would wave as Tommy Bailey came to a rest at the top of turn two with a right-rear tire blown.

The Spring Nationals Series event at Florence Speedway in Union, Ky. has been rained out and will not be made up. The Series returns to action for the final three points races on May 27-29th. On May 27th the tour will race at Boyd's Speedway in Ringgold, Ga. paying $4,000-to-win, the tour rolls into Dixie (Ga.) Speedway on Saturday May 28th for another $4,000-to-win event and the final Spring Nationals Series points event will be on Sunday May 29th at Rome (Ga.) Speedway.

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results of "4th Annual Spring Showdown" at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Ky. on April 29, 2016:

1. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, Ky.
2. Jason Jameson-Lawrenceburg, Ind.
3. Eddie Carrier Jr.-Salt Rock, W.V.
4. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
5. Dustin Linville-Bryantsville, Ky.
6. Greg Johnson-Bedford, Ind.
7. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
8. Josh Rice-Verona, Ky.
9. James Rice-Verona, Ky.
10. Joe Janowski-Carmel, Ind.
11. Austin Tunney-Greenwood, Ind.
12. Robby Moses-Maryville, Tenn.
13. Adam Bowman-Seymour, Ind.
14. Tommy Bailey-Corbin, Ky.
15. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
16. Joe Godsey-Edinburgh, Ind.
17. Cody Mahoney-Madison, Ind.
18. Johnny Wheeler-Campbellsville, Ky.
19. Justin Rattliff-Campbellsville, Ky.
20. Chris Combs-Isom, Ky.
21. Scott James-Lawrenceburg, Ind.
22. Stacy Boles-Clinton, Tenn.

Time of Race: N/A
Margin of Victory: N/A
Yellow Flags: Five (laps 5, 13, 17, 21, 25)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Chilton (1-2), Mahoney (3-16), Chilton (17-40)
Entries: 29
FK Rod Ends Overall Fast Time: Cody Mahoney-12.733
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Austin Tunney
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
Highest Finishing Steel Head/SPEC Engine ($200): None
Provisional Starters: None

Heat-One Finish: Greg Johnson, Shanon Buckingham, Adam Bowman, David Payne, Robby Moses, Johnny Wheeler, Austin Tunney, Did Not Start: Austyn Mills, Mike Marlar, Skylar Marlar.

Heat-Two Finish: James Rice, Stacy Boles, Josh Rice, Tommy Bailey, Joe Godsey, Did Not Start: Daniel Dial, Joey Moriarty, Brandon Kinzer, Jake O'Neil.

Current Spring Nationals Series Points (after April 29):
1. Donald McIntosh-1,126 (Dawsonville, GA)
2. David Payne-1,080 (Murphy, NC)
3. Shanon Buckingham-874 (Morristown, TN)
4. Stacy Boles-838 (Clinton, TN)
5. Robby Moses-824 (Maryville, TN)
6. Chris Madden-770 (Gray Court, SC)
7. Mike Marlar-665 (Winfield, TN)
8. Dale McDowell-580 (Chickamauga, GA)
9. Adam Bowman-500 (Seymour, IN)
10. Vic Hill-492 (Mosheim, TN)

Old Man's Garage Spring Nationals Series Winners:
Scott Bloomquist-March 12 (Smoky Mountain Speedway)
Jonathan Davenport-March 25 (Senoia Raceway)
Mike Marlar-April 15 (Volunteer Speedway)
Chris Madden-April 16 (Volunteer Speedway)
Chris Madden-April 23 (Senoia Raceway)
Michael Chilton-April 29 (Ponderosa Speedway)

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or visit the official website located at www.SouthernNationalsSeries.com .

Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.