Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 10/02/23 at 7:43am


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Atomic Speedway - 5/13 Results (Read 4576 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Atomic Speedway - 5/13 Results
05/15/16 at 12:41am
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Atomic Speedway
May 13, 2016

Bloomquist Takes $50,000 Buckeye Nationals Victory at Atomic Speedway

WAVERLY, OH (May 14) - Scott Bloomquist took the lead on lap 48 from Brandon Sheppard and then held off the field in a three-lap dash to the finish to win in the Buckeye Nationals Saturday Night at Atomic Speedway.  Bloomquist earned $50,000 for his fourth Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season.

Jonathan Davenport came home in second and maintains his series points lead. Josh Richards was third after starting 15th. In his first appearance in ten years at Atomic, Chris Madden was fourth, and 12th-starting Dennis Erb Jr. edged out Steve Francis at the finish line for fifth.

"We're pretty satisfied with this car, to say the least. We've only run this car twice. Those guys [Sheppard and Davenport]; they drive hard and they make you work for it," said the winner, who took his third LOLMDS victory in the last four events.

An exciting first half of the race saw Sheppard lead the initial lap. Madden then took over the point until Bloomquist grabbed the lead on lap seven. Bloomquist then held the point until the crowd came to its feet when Sheppard darted out front on lap 16.

Sheppard and Bloomquist then set a torrid pace, pulling away from third place running Madden, and the rest of the pack. Jimmy Owens got up to fourth and was challenging Madden for third when mechanical issues struck, ending his night.

Sheppard maintained the lead until Bloomquist was able to maneuver around him on lap 48. Bloomquist pulled away from Sheppard and the rest of the field. Sheppard's night ended up in smoke on lap 72 when he brought out the last caution of the race. Bloomquist held on over the last three circuits to score the 66th win of his LOLMDS career.

When asked about the last three laps of green flag racing after the caution, Bloomquist responded. "Well I can't really say what I was thinking because when I saw his [Davenport's] number on the scoreboard in second I knew I had to really get tough and not make any mistakes, and we didn't."

Bloomquist; in his Reece Monument Company/Crop Production Services/Petroff Towing/Sorbera Chiropractic/Horton Coal/Mark Martin Honda/Durham-powered Sweet-Bloomquist entry; kept Davenport at bay in the final three circuits to take his second crown jewel win of the season.

Davenport had won the last two LOLMDS events at Atomic Speedway and just could not muster enough to challenge Bloomquist.

"We went a little softer on tires, and I don't know if it was a gamble. Congrats to Scott on the win. We have two wins and a second here. I am so thankful for Kevin and Lee Roy Rumley, and Brian Liverman. Thanks to Troy Baird of Baird Transport, Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas, Elite Concrete, and thanks to all the fans for coming out in this cold and rainy weather."

Richards has four LOLMDS wins this season and came home in third place. "I just got the team in a hole yesterday in the heat race. I think I just used my stuff up getting to the front. We went a little softer than Jonathan and some others. I thought I might have something at the end for those guys, but we didn't," said the driver of the Mark Richards Racing/Valvoline/Seubert Calf Ranches/Rocket House Car.

Completing the top ten were Steve Francis, Eddie Carrier Jr., Earl Pearson Jr., Tim McCreadie and Darrell Lanigan.

In preliminary action, Brandon Sheppard set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 49 entrants, with a lap of 14.047 seconds. Steve Francis set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 14.493 seconds. Brandon Sheppard, Chris Madden, Scott Bloomquist, Steve Francis, Jimmy Owens and Darrell Lanigan won their respective heat races. Eric Wells and Mason Zeigler won their respective B-Mains. Gregg Satterlee won the Ten-Not-In Non-Qualifiers Race.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday, May 14th, 2016
Buckeye Nationals
Atomic Speedway - Waverly, OH

1 5 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $50,800
2 7 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC $16,100
3 15 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $8,000
4 3 44 Chris Madden Gaffney, SC $6,000
5 12 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $4,700
6 2 15F Steve Francis Bowling Green, KY $4,600
7 14 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV $3,800
8 8 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $4,500
9 24 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $4,300
10 6 15L Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $4,200
11 13 17m Dale McDowell Chickamauga, GA $3,400
12 23 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR $4,050
13 16 71r Rod Conley Wheelersburg, OH $3,300
14 1 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $4,050
15 25 75 Colton Flinner Allison Park, PA $400
16 19 18E Eric Wells Hazard, KY $3,150
17 4 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $3,900
18 21 C9 Steve Casebolt  Richmond, IN $3,050
19 22 99m Devin Moran Dresden, OH $3,000
20 11 71c RJ Conley Wheelersburg, OH $3,000
21 10 6t Tim Dohm  Charleston, WV $3,000
22 18 1G Devin Gilpin Columbus, IN $3,000
23 20 25Z Mason Zeigler Chalk Hill, PA $3,000
24 9 71d Delmas Conley Wheelersburg, OH $3,000
25 17 5 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN $3,800

Entrants: 49
Lap Leaders: Brandon Sheppard (Lap 1); Chris Madden (Laps 2 - 7); Scott Bloomquist (Laps 8 - 15); Brandon Sheppard (Laps 16 - 47); Scott Bloomquist (Laps 48 - 75)
Cautions: Don O'Neal; Colton Flinner (Lap 21); Debris (Lap 31); Brandon Sheppard (Lap 72)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Jared Landers, Tim McCreadie
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: Colton Flinner
Wrisco Feature Winner: Scott Bloomquist

B-Main #1: Eric Wells, Steve Casebolt , Gregg Satterlee, Greg Johnson, Tim McCreadie, Jake O'Neil, Scott James , Greg Oliver, Jason DuPont, Jared Landers, Nick Latham, Kirk Phillips, Jackie Boggs, Brian Shirley-DNS, Freddie Carpenter-DNS, Kenneth Howell-DNS

B-Main #2: Mason Zeigler, Devin Moran, Kent Robinson, Mike Benedum, Mike Marlar, Duane Chamberlain, Jeremy Hines, Jason Montgomery, Kody Evans, Chris Shannon, Daniel Williams, Billy Gullion, Ben Adkins, Shannon Babb, Colton Flinner

Ten-Not-In: Gregg Satterlee, Kent Robinson, Greg Johnson, Mike Benedum, Gregg Oliver, Scott James, Duane Chamberlain, Jake O'Neil, Jason Montgomery, Chris Shannon

Friday, May 13

Heat #1: Brandon Sheppard, Jonathan Davenport, Dale McDowell, Eric Wells, Gregg Satterlee, Greg Johnson, Nick Latham, Kirk Phillips

Heat #2: Chris Madden, Delmas Conley, Josh Richards, Tim McCreadie, Steve Casebolt, Scott James, Jason DuPont, Kenneth Howell-DNS

Heat #3: Scott Bloomquist, RJ Conley, Don O'Neal, Jake O'Neil, Jackie Boggs, Brian Shirley, Greg Oliver, Freddie Carpenter, Jared Landers

Heat #4: Steve Francis, Earl Pearson, Jr., Eddie Carrier, Jr., Mason Zeigler, Shannon Babb, Mike Benedum, Jason Montgomery, Daniel Williams

Heat #5: Jimmy Owens, Tim Dohm, Rod Conley, Kent Robinson, Mike Marlar, Billy Gullion, Kody Evans, Ben Adkins

Heat #6: Darrell Lanigan, Dennis Erb, Jr., Devin Gilpin, Devin Moran, Duane Chamberlain, Jeremy Hines, Chris Shannon, Colton Flinner

Fast Time: Brandon Sheppard 14.047

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, including the latest series standings, 2016 tour schedule, driver information, and more visit the official website at: www.lucasdirt.com.
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.