Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 12/02/22 at 9:58am


Pages: 1
North Florida Speedway - 5/28 Results (Read 1536 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
North Florida Speedway - 5/28 Results
05/29/16 at 2:45pm
North Florida Speedway
May 28, 2016

Dixon dusts NFS Late Model field
Collins, Dowling, Walker, Bryson and Caudill also take checkers
by Rob Lee
LAKE CITY, Fla. (May 28) – The fireworks flew overhead as the checkered flag waved.

It was a perfect symbol how Devin Dixon shot from the third starting position and exploded the rest of the Late Model field Saturday evening at North Florida Speedway.

Dixon wheeled the Big Frog Motorsports/Dave’s Towing/Keyser Manufacturing Koury-powered Rocket mostly up by the cushion to the 20-lap feature win and left the field to try and re-light.

“I couldn’t run up there in the heat race or earlier because it was too crummy,” Dixon said in Victory Lane. “In the feature we could get up there and the track rubbered up so we could run right through that.”

Dixon struggled some in the heat, but pulled away in the feature to nearly a half lap win.

“We tried some things in the heat that didn’t work,” Dixon said. “But crew chief Mike (Rey) worked on some things and had it easy to drive.”

John Kellum, Brandon Cameron, Adam Bedenbaugh and Larry Anderson rounded out the top five.

Chase Collins debuted his new Shaw by Collins chassis in grand style. He moved by Garrett Lloyd on Lap 5 and won the EMod 15-lapper.

The event was marred by cautions, but Collins was able to distance himself on each restart to top Lloyd, Randy Gainey, Ben Hoden and David Markham.

The Thunder Stock field continues to grow in anticipation of the Benny Corbin Memorial’s return to NFS Sept. 24. More and more cars visit the 3/8-mile clay oval to test and tune for the event.

But it was regular Dave Dowling going home with the cash winning a classic battle with Timmy Roach in the 15-lap finale and topped and 20-car field in the process.

Dowling and Roach swapped the lead twice late in the going. Roach, in a brand new car, had to recover from a Lap 1 flat tire and restart at the tail of the huge group of racers.

Gerard Haley, Bryar Zimmerman and Brad Nixon, who all also restarted at the rear at least once, climbed their way back to complete the top five.

Devin Walker made it two straight wins, taking the Hobby Stock 15-lap main. Daron Bailey, Jerry Fortner and Joe Yakaboski followed.

Cody Bryson won a back and forth battle with Kevin McKenzie and Chuck Cessna in the Dirts4Racing 3/4 Modifieds 10-lap feature. All three drivers led at some point in the race. Cessna tapped Bryson sending the latter spinning on Lap 6. Bryson was awarded his spot back and Cessna charged from the rear.

Ryan Brender went for a wild ride in his heat race. The throttle stuck on his mount, the car hit an inside tire and flipped several times in through turns three and four. He walked away OK, but his car was done for the night.

Seth Caudill, Jr. finally got a front row starting spot in the Box Stock feature and paced all 12 laps. He beat Dustin Higdon, Shannon Lang, Wayne Risner and Casey Feaster to the checkers.

The Memorial Day Weekend show celebrated the veterans on hand and was full of surprises and intermission activities.

Action returns June 11 in a big way. The Thunder Stocks will be featured in a warm up to the Sept. 24 Benny Corbin Memorial. The “Prelude to the Benny” pays $1,000 to the winner. The Dirts4Racing Hobby Stock Series will compliment that as well as the EMods, Florida Outlaw Micro Sprint Series and Box Stocks.

Gates open at 5pm with racing at 7pm.

For more information log on to northfloridaspeedway.com, the track’s Facebook page or call 386-754-8800.
Following are feature race results from racing Saturday May 28 at North Florida Speedway, Lake City, Fla.

Late Models
Feature (20 laps) – 1. 58 Devin Dixon 2. 41K John Kellum 3. 14 Brandon Cameron 4. 37 Adam Bedenbaugh 5. 51 Larry Anderson 6. 4H Cory Howard 7. 10x Dave Ponton
1st Heat (6 laps) – 1. Howard 2. Kellum 3. Dixon 4. Anderson

Feature (15 laps) – 1. 2x4 Chase Collins 2. 27 Garrett Lloyd 3. 11 Randy Gainey 4. 52 Ben Hoden 5. 50 David Markham 6. 98 Eric Baker 7. 21 Corey Crews 8. 14 Dale Graham 9. 5 Dylan Crews 10. 29 Marvin Hassell 11. 41 Adam Hitt 12. 58 John Lester, Jr. 13. 00 Allen Tatum 14. 82 Shane Taylor

Hobby Stocks
Feature (15 laps) – 1. NINE Devin Walker 2. 1 Daron Bailey 3. F16 Jerry Fortner 4. Y7 Joe Yakaboski 5. 83 Shawn Taylor

Thunder Stocks
Feature (15 laps) – 1. 66 Dave Dowling 2. 44 Timmy Roach 3. Gerard Haley 4. 00Z Bryar Zimmerman 5. 98C Brad Nixon 6. 58W Justin Wilson 7. 22I Trey Isgette 8. 7p Frank Premorel 9. 26 Cliff Bellomy 10. 15 Trey Spradley 11. 58D Danny Norton 12. 66R Rick Reed 13. 22K Nelda King 14. 30 Kris Salyards 15. 98 Kent Corbin 16. 7M Justin Moore 17. 24 James Schreiber 18. J4 Jacob Moore 19. 31T Tyler Bryden 20. 13 Andy Olson (Did Not Start – 9AR Charlie Staats, 82 Shane Taylor)

Dirts4Racing 3/4 Modifieds
Feature (10 laps) – 1. 0 Cody Bryson 2. 7 Kevin McKenzie 3. X Chuck Cessna 4. 58 Matthew Brender 5. 20 Kolten Mitchell 6. 85 Jeremy Cessna 7. 32 Kory Mitchell ( Did Not Start – 93 Ryan Brender)

Box Stocks
Feature (12 laps) – 1. C2 Seth Caudill, Jr. 2. 33H Dustin Higdon 3. 48 Shannon Lang 4. 4 Wayne Risner 5. 20 Casey Feaster 6. 1 Robert O’Neail 7. 07 Jeffrey Creamer 8. 35 Chris Yeomans 9. 11 Dewayne Yeomans (Did Not Start – 33W Josh Walker)

Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.