Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 12/01/22 at 4:34pm


Pages: 1
Davenport Speedway - 6/30 Results (Read 1601 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Davenport Speedway - 6/30 Results
06/30/16 at 10:52pm
Davenport Speedway
June 30, 2016

Kay doubles up on night one of Governor’s Cup

by Mike McGuire
DAVENPORT, Ia. (June 30, 2016) – Justin Kay wowed the crowd Thurdsay night at the Davenport Speedway by winning both the Late Model and Modified features. The Thurdsay  special was night #1 for the 2016 Iowa Governor’s Cup. The racing action was held on the historic Davenport half-mile track.

In the Modified main, Kay started ninth, but with a couple of caution flags, was in the top five by lap two. Dakota Hayden of Wilton, started on the outside pole and led the first nine lap of the race. Kay took the lead on lap ten, with Hayden coming back to lead lap eleven. Unfortuately, that pass was wiped out by another caution flag.

Kay would lead the rest of the way to the checkers. Hayden held on to finish second, ahead of Darin Duffy, Bob Dominacki, and Matt Werner in that order.

In the Late Models, Justin Kay benefited from a good draw and started the twenty lap feature in the second position. Kay led flag-to-flag, took home the victory, and the $2,000 top prize. Chad Holladay had a strong run. Chad ran in second place for the entire race. Throughout the race, there was a good battle for third. Rob Toland ended up with the spot. Ray Guss Jr.finished fourth and Brunson Behning fifth.

Rob Henry continues to be on fire in the Street Stock class. Henry led all twelve laps of the Street Stock main. For much of the race, Kevin Dickey fended off Jesse Owen around the bottom of the racetrack. While those two were fighting for position, Keith Blum went to the high side and passed both of them. Blum finished in the runner-up spot, followed by Dickey, Owen and Cary Brown.

Tony Olson won both the heat and feature in SportMod competition. After Andrew Burk led lap one, Olson took control on lap two and never looked back. Olson won the race by almost a full straightaway. Burk held on to finish second, with Dan Anderson third. Dustin Schram and Darrell Ward completed the first five.

The racing action moves over to the quarter-mile oval tomorrow, July 1st, for the second night of the Iowa Governor’s Cup. Tomorrow’s late model feature will pay $3,000-to-win and the modified winner takes home $1,500.

The pit gate opens at 3pm, with racing at 6:45pm.

Davenport Speedway      
June 30, 2016

IMCA Late Models
Heat #1: 1. Charlie McKenna; 2. Shawn Mulvany; 3. Justin Kay; 4. Thad Wilson; 5. Mike Zemo Jr.;
Heat #2: 1. Matt Ryan; 2. Rob Toland; 3. Joe Zrostlik; 4. Ray Guss Jr.; 5. Chad Holladay;
Feature: 1. Justin Kay; 2. Chad Holladay; 3. Rob Toland; 4. Ray Guss Jr.; 5. Brunson Behning; 6. Charlie McKenna; 7. Joe Zrostlik; 8. Thad Wilson; 9. Mike Zemo Jr.; 10. Gary Webb; 11. Matt Ryan; 12. Shawn Mulvany; 13. Spencer Diercks; 14. Dave Stichter; (1-DNS);

IMCA Modifieds
Heat #1: 1. Steve Johnson; 2. Bryce Garnhart; 3. Todd Hansen; 4. Brandon Durbin; 5. Craig Crawford;
Heat #2: 1. Justin Kay; 2. Bob Dominacki; 3. Bruce Hanford; 4. Dakota Hayden; 5. Brian Bushong;
Heat #3: 1. Matt Werner; 2. Darin Duffy; 3. Mike Fluegel; 4. Terry Rentfro;
Feature: 1. Justin Kay; 2. Dakota Hayden; 3. Darin Duffy; 4. Bob Dominacki; 5. Matt Werner; 6. Steve Johnson; 7. Terry Rentfro; 8. Eric Barnes; 9. Todd Hansen; 10. Ray Cox Jr.; 11. Brandon Durbin; 12. Rob Dominacki; 13. TJ  Patz; 14. George Spence III; 15. Brian Bushong; 16. Matt Fulton; 17. Bryce Garnhart; 18. Bruce Hanford; (3-DNS);

Street Stocks
Heat #1: 1. Cary Brown; 2. Rob Henry; 3. Kevin Dickey; 4. Perry Gellerstedt; 5. Jimmy Comins;
Feature: 1. Rob Henry; 2. Keith Blum; 3. Kevin Dickey; 4. Jesse Owen; 5. Cary Brown; 6. Perry Gellerstedt; 7. Jimmy Comins; 8. Randy Lamar;

IMCA SportMods
Heat #1: 1. Tony Olson; 2. Dan Anderson; 3. Andrew Burk; 4. Kyle Eller; 5. Dustin Schram;
Feature: 1. Tony Olson; 2. Andrew Burk; 3. Dan Anderson; 4. Dustin Schram; 5. Darrell Ward; (1-DQ)
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.