Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 12/02/22 at 10:04am


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Tri-City Speedway - 7/15 Results (Read 3048 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Tri-City Speedway - 7/15 Results
07/16/16 at 1:31am
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Tri-City Speedway
July 15, 2016

Bloomquist Charges Late to Win NAPA Know How 50 at Tri-City Speedway

GRANITE CITY, ILLINOIS (July 15) - Scott Bloomquist passed Earl Pearson Jr. with three laps-to-go to win the NAPA Know How 50 on Friday Night at Tri-City Speedway. The current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship Points Leader went on for his ninth series win of the season and he extended his points lead.
Pearson was looking for his first LOLMDS win of the season, and appeared to be heading to victory lane, but a lapped car slowed his momentum and allowed Bloomquist to make the late-race pass. Don O'Neal finished in third, followed by 14th-starting Brandon Sheppard, and Dennis Erb Jr.
Bloomquist and fellow Hall-of-Famer, Billy Moyer staged a terrific race for second during the first half of the race. After the half-way mark, Bloomquist began to close-in on Pearson and with five laps to go was within striking distance of the leader. Pearson got trapped behind a lapped car and could not get around him when Bloomquist snuck under both of them to snag the lead.
In Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the 71st time in his career, the 52-year-old Bloomquist breathed a sigh of relief in taking the win. "Earl was pretty good tonight. He would hit a hole or two in the track like all the rest of us. We just kept digging and moving around a lot. We had to get it going late. The laps were winding down and it was time to go. That lapped car definitely gave us an advantage. We were catching him [Pearson] anyway."
"With all the rain they had this week, they did the best they could with the track. The track crew worked hard tonight on it, but it was definitely choppy in the corners. I never lost the wheel during the race. It was hard on me because I have a torn rotator cuff and both shoulders are actually really bad. The Andy Durham engine ran great. Thank you to all of my sponsors: Crop Production Services, Reece Monument Company, Dyna-Gro Seed, Base Fuels, Lucas Oil, Sweet Mfg., Horton Coal, Hoosier Tires, Sorbera Chiropractic and Petroff Towing."
Pearson was happy with his runner-up finish. It was his best of the year, but he knows that he let one slip away at the end. "I couldn't get off the bottom. He [lapped car] was running right around the bottom as well. It was good finish for the Lucas Oil Racing TV car. I hope everyone back home and here at the track enjoyed the show."
"I just couldn't do anything with that lapped car. I married myself to the bottom and when I tried to move up I lost grip and Scott went by us. It was a tough way to lose one like that. To run second to Scott feels good, especially with the way he has been running lately. We were consistent all night from start to finish, so hopefully it's something to build on for the rest of the season."
O'Neal, like Pearson was seeking his first LOLMDS win of the year, and also came up short in the Clint Bowyer Racing, Peak Antifreeze Motor Oil, Club 29 Race Car. "We had a new race car tonight; it was really fun to drive. I tried to stay up top, away from the holes. I thought maybe a few times there we had a shot at those top-two guys. I almost lost third to Brandon [Sheppard], but got back around him. Thank you to my crew for giving me a good hot-rod tonight."
Completing the top ten were Jonathan Davenport, Tim McCreadie, Jared Landers, Billy Moyer, and Billy Drake. 

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday, July 15th, 2016
NAPA Know How 50
Tri-City Speedway - Granite City, IL

1 4 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $10,900
2 1 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $5,500
3 6 5 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN $4,300
4 14 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $3,450
5 5 28E Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $2,950
6 8 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC $2,800
7 7 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $2,200
8 23 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR $2,000
9 2 21 Billy Moyer Batesville, AR $1,200
10 9 75B Billy Drake Bloomington, IL $1,100
11 21 17s Jim Shereck St. Charles, MO $1,075
12 22 0K Dewayne Kiefer Bloomsdale MO $1,050
13 3 33T Tim Manville St. Jacob, IL $1,025
14 13 J0 Jake O'Neil Tucson, AZ $1,000
15 19 82 Billy Laycock Marine, IL $950
16 12 15L Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $1,625
17 16 15F Steve Francis Bowling Green, KY $1,600
18 11 15V Kolby Vandenbergh Ashland, IL $875
19 10 32X Chris Simpson Oxford, IA $850
20 15 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $1,625
21 17 11H Jeff Herzog Herculaneum, MO $800
22 20 96T RC Whitwell Tucson, AZ $800
23 25 96 Tanner English Benton, KY $800
24 18 6K Michael Kloos Trenton, IL $800
25 24 75 Colton Flinner Allison Park, PA $900
Race Statistics
Entrants: 32
Lap Leaders: Earl Pearson Jr. (Laps 1 - 46); Scott Bloomquist (Laps 47 - 50)
Cautions: Jimmy Owens (Lap 22); Chris Simpson (Lap 22); Steve Francis (Lap 27); Darrell Lanigan (Lap 30)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Jared Landers, Colton Flinner
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a

B-Main #1: Jeff Herzog, Billy Laycock, Jim Shereck, Chris Fetter, Jason Perry, Shannon Babb-DNS, Colton Flinner-DNS, Austin Rettig-DNS
B-Main #2: Michael Kloos, RC Whitwell, Dewayne Kiefer, Tanner English, Scott Geaschel, Credence Mott, Mark Voigt, Jared Landers-DNS

Heat #1: Earl Pearson, Jr., Dennis Erb, Jr., Billy Drake, Jake O'Neil, Jeff Herzog, Jason Perry, Colton Flinner, Austin Rettig
Heat #2: Tim Manville, Tim McCreadie, Kolby Vandenbergh, Jimmy Owens, Billy Laycock, Shannon Babb, Jim Shereck, Chris Fetter

Heat #3: Billy Moyer, Don O'Neal, Chris Simpson, Brandon Sheppard, Michael Kloos, Dewayne Kiefer, Scott Geaschel, Mark Voigt

Heat #4: Scott Bloomquist, Jonathan Davenport, Darrell Lanigan, Steve Francis, RC Whitwell, Tanner English, Credence Mott, Jared Landers
Fast Time: Billy Moyer 14.557 seconds

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, including the latest series standings, 2016 tour schedule, driver information, and more visit the official website at: www.lucasdirt.com.
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.